We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in the heart of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 5 Sens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad 5 Sens
Ranked #305 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Rugby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquility in the heart of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A beautiful & tranquil haven. Wonderfully located for the square and main souk. Our room was beautiful. The staff were barely visible until you needed them, and then were helpful & polite. We didn't eat dinner there, but breakfast was delicious. Only being there one night we didn't get much chance to enjoy the facilities, but there are plenty of places to sit and chill. And chill you can't help but do if you stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flossiecrossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    37
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
72
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at riad 5 sens for one night and wish it had of been longer. A really lovely riad.

We were coming from another riad in Marrakech and were met by a member of staff at a landmark and taken to the riad 5 sens. We had booked a specific room but were given the choice of two whenever we arrived which was great. Throughout our stay we were always asked if there was anything else we needed. At any time of the night it was possible to come back and there would be someone there to let you in.

This was the only riad we stayed at with genuine air conditioning - others claimed this but had fans.

Is very well situated and appears to be in a safe enough part of the Medina. Would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lisajohn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

I stayed in the room on the very top floor of this beautiful riad. It was dreamlike- surrounded by blue skies and flowers. I was worried it would be too warm under the blazing sun, but not at all. The staff are so helpful, understanding and caring here. We were greeted with mint tea and as we sipped the long journey of trains and flights and cars to get there drifted off into the hot Moroccan night. It was quite an adventure experiencing the Moroccan culture but knowing I could come home to the riad at the end of the day was comforting. The hot/cold water in the shower was temperamental, but nothing is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MillMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

This place is beautiful and the staff were extremly friendly & helpful. DO NOT book through Prestigia though, make your booking directly with the riad. Prestigia took £156 from me as a deposit and for transport to/from the airport. When we arrived, no transport had been arranged and the money I had paid had not been passed on to the Riad, so at the end of our stay we paid the full account and I am still waiting (in Feb 2011) for Prestigia to reimburse what they owe me. We had a really lovely time at Riad 5 Sens but they haven't helped in any way to get my money back from Prestigia - I can't even get a receipt/invoice from them.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

5 Sens is a beautiful, individual place to stay. The manager Abjilla (sp?) was always helpful, friendly and good humoured and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are quirky and individual - on the ground floor around the pool and "reception" is the Sahara (large twin room with glorious bathroom), the Silver and the Cristal, however if you get the choice I would recommend the rooms on the 1st floor balcony, i.e. the Alchemie, Arabesque, Etnic, Zen or Mille et une nuits.

The Arabesque (and I believe the Etnic) are laid out with a sitting room (with what are effectively 2 single beds) at ground level with a lower level bathroom and the main bed on a "mezzanine" level - which can be a bit of a problem if you are tall as the ceiling above the bed is very low and access is via a step ladder rather than stairs which would not suit anyone with mobility difficulties. However, the room is lovely and quirky and even though my husband is 6'2'' we managed perfectly well with the room. A bonus is the mezzanine level window which enabled us to have fresh air rather than the AC on at night and still retain our privacy.

5 sens is in walking distance of the souks, museum Ben Youssef and Jemaa el Fna. However, it is far enough away to offer a calm, relaxing atmosphere after the hassle and noise of Marrakech city.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ladymayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

Our cab couldn't get onto the riad's door so some random guy just lugged our bags onto his cart and asked a payment of 20 dh, although we never really asked him to do so. The riad was super beautiful, and we were served mint tea upon arrival. We stayed there for 3 nights and the manager gave us 3 different rooms. They're all beautiful except for Crystal due to water flooding out of the bathroom. Breakfast was great and service was top-notch. Location was about 15 minutes from the square, 30-60 if u get lost, which we did. The manager was v helpful and arranged us an early cab ride back to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnsrnsrns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Stayed for three nights at this beautiful Riad and had a great time. We were in 1001 nuits on the first floor which was lovely. My only criticism (minor) was it takes quite a long time for the hot water to come through the taps.

These buildings were built to cope with high temperatures so we soon learned that in January you need to put the heating on to warm up the room before we went out for the evening.

Adelilah the manager was invariably cheerful and helpful and was always ready to advise on directions etc. Food at the Riad was excellent and the Tagine we had one evening was first class.

The Riad may be "10 minutes walk from the big place (Djemma el Fnaa)" but because there are very few road signs and even less straight roads it does take a while to find anywhere. After a while we found that no matter where you are if you look lost someone will come up to you and offer to lead you to wherever you want to go for a tip of 20 dirham or so.

I had never had a hammam before but I can certainly confirm that it was an experience I won't forget!!!

All in all Marrakech is a fabulous place to visit and the 5 Sens is a very good place to stay.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sussexsagalout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech
#247 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
#288 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Alamir
Riad Alamir
#188 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#136 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#116 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#93 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad 5 Sens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 5 Sens

Property: Riad 5 Sens
Address: 10 & 11, derb El Baroud | Hart Es Soura - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#158 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#200 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad 5 Sens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless place , looked for travelers in search of authenticity and escape , Riad 5 senses is dedicated to well -being. Rejuvenate in the magical atmosphere of this unique place where the tradition of " Arabian Nights " combines with 21st century comfort . Enjoy the benefits of the hammam , massages and health center. Rediscover the flavors of a fresh fruit cocktail by the pool, and spices and tender vegetables the time of a dinner on the terrace overlooking candles illuminated the rooftops of the Medina . At your disposal, a comfort of modern times with our air-conditioned rooms and our computerized library ( WiFi ), with free Internet access . Listening to your expectations, our team offers a personalized stay , and advise you in the discovery and enjoyment of the local culture. An excellent price / quality ratio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad 5 Sens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 5 Sens Marrakech
Riad 5 Sens Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing