We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fair price for Marrakesh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Rahba Marrakech
Ranked #475 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We had 2 double rooms for 1 week. Each 30 MAD for two persons a day. Nicely furnished. Friendly service - dont forget tips.
Often noise in the night - depending on other guests. We had an ear protetion with us.
The bill was correct. The whole price of your stay has to be payed at the first day. Be aware that you have to pay for each luggage piece that your are leaving in the hotel at your day of departure. We remined two days before our arrival (in French) our booking details.
Minor problems were: little space, bathroom locking not working, no cleaning of the rooms between our stay (tip?), light above the mirror not working, no dust bin, window only to the inner yard (what means on the other hand no street noise), smal continental breakfeast, had to ask for new towels and toilet paper.
We would come again, as it is a fair price, for which no further comfort can be expected in a budget hotel in the center of Marrakesh.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank 68BudgetTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Riad Rahba Marrakech
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 90 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2007

I have travelled a lot in Morocco and I love people there and their warm welcoming. I must say this is not the case in this riad. The receptionist is not nice and welcoming and although we booked our room two months ago, no twin room were available because he did not had anymore for a saturday night. So, what's the point of booking then? We arrived in our room and I am not fussy with the room but I mean they could have cleaned it and there were some empty bottles of coke and water on the floor and the bathroom's bin was still full of garbage.
So this was not a pleasing experience and it was even worst to see the hotel manager on the next morning not greeting us or even say goodbye because we booked for only one night (thank god for that) and that we were staying elsewhere for two other nights (originally booked two months ago as well). So that's not really nice from him to react like that as this guy does not offer a very pleasing experience and even if you don't expect a lot for this price, there are many places much nicer in Marrakech. I will definitely never come back to this riad again in my life.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wazwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

I booked my holidays in Marrakech two months before arriving, by their web site. They took my booking fee and didn't include it in the price (that is definitely not fair and not at all normal). A double room with private bathroom costed 45€ per night, for which I thought I would have something much better than the room I actually found.
The first room they gave us was near the stairs and on a first floor to the street (awful noise), and THE BATHROOM DIDN'T HAVE ANY WALL NOR DOOR! You could lie down on the bed and contemplate the smelly wc ( because the room was awfully smelly).
Then we complained and they put us into another one which was a bit better. Non of the two rooms had hot water (not the entire riad, although it was cold and rainy), but just because the management didn't want to switch it on. We asked for hot water 4 times and we were totally ignored.
you had to ask for the toilet paper too, and they didn't have anything for having a shower (shampoo, etc.), so take everything with you!

I was very dissapointed, it was so expensive for the bad quality it was!
Staff was not friendly at all, although I speak arabic and tried to be nice to them. they tried to charge us 50 Dirhams more! Good that I noticed it and they apologized...

The only good thing is the location and the breakfast, which was really good.
Dont' even think of going there.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mineskrutable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

Pre booked for 3 of us for 6 days 2 months before, but when turned up there was no 3 bed room available for us and tried to make us sleep in the tea room. Also tried to convince us they spoke little or no English and after making a HUGE fuss in the reception we managed to get a 4 bed room that was available, although have no idea who we bumped out for that. Asked about tours and was given a mobile number for a Paul (dont know last name). Asked Paul for advice on tour companies that had english guides and he took us to a tour company that we booked 2 tours and paid upfront. For both tours we had French speaking drivers who had no idea how to speak English and were drivers not guides. For the whole trip we had one day of hot water in the shower and even after asking many times it was never resolved. When speaking to guests in the main room (tea and breakfast room) we found the only showers they had to use were the same guest rooms and were let in peoples rooms whilst they were not there to shower. The only thing going for the Riad Rahba is its location.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wallsoftroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2007

I always stay in cheap youth hostels, no matter where I travel. So I have seen the good, the bad and the ugly.

The location of this riad is great, right bang in the centre of everything.

But I booked through the website and, as a previous person said in their review, I too lost my deposit. We had paid a booking fee, which should be taken of your bill but to have your deposit not taken off your bill is unacceptable. Especially when you have to pay this to book on their website.

Also the transfer was twice as expensive as a normal taxi! So don't make that mistake.

Also the specials deals they offer on meals out in the main square, a load of nonsence! They do not exist.

So if location is the only thing that matters, stay there. But aftter you have paid full price and the amount of the deposit extra you could afford somewhere amazing as hotels are not that dear in morocco.

really, don't.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sophielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadRahba, Marketing at Riad Rahba Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2007

To Sophielu from Scotland:

Thanks for staying at the Riad Rahba.

My name is Paul and i handle the marketing for this property. I understand you had a few concerns whilst staying and i would like to set the record straight:

You are mistaken between the booking fee and the deposit.
The deposit is always deducted from a guests final bill.
The Booking fee, however cannot be deducted as it pays for the credit card processing fees.

The airport transfers are generally more expensive than taking a taxi. We introduced transfers after listening to our guests who told us that they had terrible problems with taxi drivers at the airport and could do without that type of stress upon arrival.
Naturally, convienience has a price. However, we believe that our transfer service does offer good value for money.

The Special deals for the meals in the square do exist, i set them up myself and many guests regularly enjoy a slap up 3 course meal in the square for 6 euro...reduced from 10 euro.

I hope that this has addressed your concerns.

Best regards,

Paul
Riad Rahba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

Was booked through the Riad Rahba website itself. We booked a private room with 2beds and WC and paid 10% deposit and a booking fee. When we arrived they took us to a deserted building two streets away, with dorm beds, no security whatsoever and communal bathrooms. When we refused they told us they only had one single room for one night only, and they could put a mattress on the floor for the second person.
We ended up managing to keep this room for all four nights, but when we came to pay our bill, they told us the deposit we paid went to an agent, not to them, and we had to pay in full.

We had also booked an airport transfer with them, again 10%deposit and booking fee. It didn't turn up.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank get_connected8424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadRahba, Marketing at Riad Rahba Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2007

The Management of the Riad Rahba are always available to assist when guests find themselves in a spot of bother.

That's exactly what we did for the guest who wrote this review.

This guest had booked via our internet service and, when she arrived, realised that she was running low on funds and decided to try to save a few pennies.

The room we initially showed the guest (the one which she had originally booked) was refused.

We then showed the guest our brand new backpackers hostel (the unmarked building) which the guest also refused.

In a last attempt to keep the guest happy, we showed her a single ensuite room at the Riad Rahba.
The guest looked at the room and asked if we could accomodate 2 people in this room for the same price. Reluctantly, we agreed and told her it would be just a mattress on the floor of the room.

The guest remarked to her friend "Great! this will save us money!"

So, we agreed and everyone was happy - until it came to paying the bill.

The Rahba management do all they can to accomodate all guests, but some, you just can't keep happy!

Still we try :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

I stayed at the Riad Rahba for four nights . The first night in a hotel room the next three on the sofas of the riad lobby .
The rooms are clean , they are very small so unless you are contempt with that you'll be alright. The rates for a single were
about 20 euro per night. The lobby beds are 8 euro per night.
If you sleep in the lobby they call it the "dorm" there is a 1am
curfew in which they do lock up. When there is an empty room if you are sleeping in the lobby dorm, they will let you clean up in a room . There is a rooftop terrace on the riad yet really just to get a good overhead photo of Marrakesh or a breath of fresh air is about it. They do serve complementary breakfast the tea they serve during the day is 20 dirhams (2 euro)The place can be difficult to find
when arriving by cab tell them to drop you off at the 'Maison Glaces" restaurant -Cafe Montreal at Djemaa Square. Then walk about 30 metres straight ahead then walk to the first right about 25 metres then take the next left walk about 75 metres the riad is straight at the very end before you make another turn to the right. That is the simplest directions I can give you otherwise confusing to get there. At thye airport if the cabbie wont drop you off by the restaurants I mentioned on the square when selecting at the airport then go with a cab driver that will. Fares should be around 70 dirham at night 50 by day. Very interesting place as you walk out of the riad you're in the souks already.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#306 of 502 in Marrakech
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#342 of 502 in Marrakech
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#329 of 502 in Marrakech
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dar Loula
Dar Loula
#332 of 502 in Marrakech
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Yara
Riad Yara
#402 of 502 in Marrakech
2 reviews
20.8 mi away
Le Coq  Hardi
Le Coq Hardi
#447 of 502 in Marrakech
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Rahba Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Rahba Marrakech

Address: 53 Rue Rahba Lakdema | Biyaddine, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #475 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $22 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Rahba Marrakech 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Rahba is located at the entrance to the Souks, adjacent to the Djeema El Fna in the Medina. The Rahba has an air of traditional Morrocan hospitality offered by the host family, who's staff are at your service to ensure that your needs are met. Rahba offers comfortable, well presented and clean single, double, twin and triple rooms, all of which have ensuite bathrooms and air conditioning. We also have a lounge dorm. ALL of our rooms are ensuite. The Riad Rahba has recently completely renovated the hot water boiler systems, resulting in continuous hot water being available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Rahba Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Rahba Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Riad Rahba Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing