We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Shama
Nearby Hotels
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$237
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Fenn(Marrakech)
$383
$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$93
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$249
$225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$593
$516
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$280
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$410
$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,058
$1,019
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
148
93
14
6
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
93
14
6
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmint tearoof terracethe main squareyogurtminute walkbusy medinarose petalsold citydriverriadoasistaxitranquilsouksmoroccofireplacemidst
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 274 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We have spent 4 days at this riad with 5 friends. Staff was very nice.
The location is a little bit far from the centre, but we could always count on our 'angel' driver Fetah to bring us to the centre and pick us up late at night! What a great service!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a good room in this beautiful riad not far away from the main ancient medersa of the medina. A special thanks to Youssef for his dedication when he fixed our ac troubles. Good value for the money.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mrplox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

There are some very good things about Riad Shama and some not so good.

1. The Riad itself is charming with a lovely pool in the centre of the hotel (garden / courtyard). This is great for relaxing and some guests seem to just sit here all day, bathing when hot and calling for drinks or food when required. The atmosphere is tranquil.

2. The staff are charming. They never hassle you or give you any of the "special price", "I can show you a good shop," etc kind of chat. They work hard to ensure their guests are comfortable and relaxed.

3. The restaurant has good basic food - mainly Moroccan but also Spag Bol etc. Prices in Euros. No alcohol served.

4. The rooms are pleasant, nicely furnished and spacious but fairly contemporary. Despite air con it was very hot at night.

5. The Riad is located about 20 mins walk from the centre (Djemma El Fna) in a pretty rough area. People here are poor and will hustle you for money. It is hard to find your way through the back streets to the centre or back again. If you ask for directions people will hustle you. It's normal but annoying although not dangerous. You could take a taxi easily.

6. Price is not bad at all but this is because of the area and distance from centre.

I liked it here but prefer some other Riads.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donsafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My daughter and I have just spent four days in this Riad. The staff very friendly and looked after us well, very helpful except when we asked them to book a table at a restaurant outside the Riad! Room was great, clean and spacious. They also have wi-fi which was great for us as we were able to download films to watch in the evening. Its is definitely worth using their own taxi guides, really nice chap took us to look at various gardens for 330drms. The location, although a bit of a walk from the main square, is great once you get the hang of where you are. We walked everywhere and didn't at all uncomfortable. We also used the spa at the sister Riad (10 mins walk from Shama). Compared to the UK its not expensive, I had the full works, a traditional exfoliation and my daughter had a pedicure etc. It was slightly shambolic but for us thats what made it special, the two women who looked after us were lovely if a little distracted at times! My only complaint would be that people are allowed to smoke which is horrible for non-smokers. Otherwise would defiantly go back.

Room Tip: Book a room upstairs, quieter
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sicily28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

It has been long and discouraging to work with Riad Shama in Marrekech. We paid for our 3 nights up front, since that was the only option, and then when I suffered an injury and could not walk, there was no question of making the trip to Morocco. 4 other reservations in different cities canceled and refunded any money we had deposited, but Riad Shama, after many tries to contact them, said, no, the hotel stay was not refundable, but that we could reserve again at any time, and they would honor our prepaid visit. When I attempted to reinstate the reservation, however, after e-mails and several phone calls, when I finally contacted them, no, they had a wedding and could not accommodate us. I changed the dates, went through the whole song and dance again to communicate, but no, this time, they could not accommodate us since too much time had passed since we had paid for our rooms. When I threatened to report to Trip Advisor my bad experience, they said, well, the responsible person for the hotel will contact you and suggest some dates. They never did. So, we are out the money, but also, wasted much time trying to follow up on the offers that they had made us. With all their different stories, I felt that there was much prevarication and a failure to be honest. I hope you do not fall into the same predicament that we did.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Béatrice T, Responsable commercial at Riad Shama, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Hi,
You have booked in December a non refundable stay with a central reservation. This non refundable rate was cheaper than the refundable one. It means that the debit is immediately done by the Riad. We have had the kindness to offer you to report your stay for the next three months. You have selected the month of May, at a time where the riad is privatized. In addition, you have offered your stay to a friend of you since.
Best regards.
Béatrice TIPP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews