We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Shama
Nearby Hotels
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$209
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$453
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$445
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$514
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$368
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$413
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$232
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveler rating
148
92
14
6
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
92
14
6
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmint tearoof terracethe main squareyogurtminute walkbusy medinarose petalsold citydriverriadoasistaxitranquilsouksmoroccofireplacemidst
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 273 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed in this Riad and was totally disgusted by the state our room was in. We thought we had the best room in the place, a large room facing the pool, that is until we went into the room. The room was very badly lit even with all the lights switched on. The shower was disgustingly dirty and the tap at the basin was wobbling so badly it felt like it could fall off anytime. Staff lied to us about how a taxi booked through them at 100DH would be cheaper than the ones we would get off the street at 150DH. We got one off the street at 40DH! Staff was friendly but could barely cope with dinner order for 9 people. When asked for receipt after paying for dinner, we were told receipts weren't given. Upon checkout, there were arguments about bills not being paid.
Far from the main square and when we got back late, there were some dubious figures lurking outside the Riad.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DiTravelTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadShama, Responsable commercial at Riad Shama, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hello,
we are so sad of your comment, as we did the best to enjoy your stay. Indeed, the bathroom couldn't be completly cleaned as you left your clothes evey where in the bathroom, and in the bedroom too, and the cleaning staff is not allowed to move them. The taxi at 100dh (9€) was a private car, and not a street taxi, so for 100dh, you forget to say it was the way to go and to be dropped back, with he ease to stop everywhere you want, and was taking you on time, at the doors of the riad, for only 1.8€ more than a street taxi. So we don't think you have been abused. We are really sorry you think all these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Riad Shama, with a very warm welcome from the minute we arrived. All the staff were very courteous, and the main receptionist spoke very good english. The breakfasts were amazing up on the terrace, and excellent quality, mixture of moroccan food and western.
The place smelt lovely, with a calm clean atmosphere,and was always a pleasure to come back to. Every time we returned from a busy day, we were offered lovely mint tea. The beds were very comforable. it was outside the central medina and down an alleyway, though we never felt particularly threatened. in fact it was nice walking bak seeing normal life, not just the touristy bits. It was possible to get taxis just outside the old gate. very convenient and excellent choice. we were really happy and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arunrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Sharma for 4 nights in January. the Riad is an oasis of calm. It is beautiful, amazing. The staff could not do enough for us. Everyone was extrememly helpful and went out of their way to accommodate.

The Riad itself is a bit of a walk from the main square but once shown the route, the walk there became easier.

We would not hesitate to recommend a stay at the Riad to our friends. Thank you to all at Riad Sharma.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tarlochan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights, with friends in January. The Riad Shama is an oasis of loveliness within the Medina, which, as mentioned by others, does exhibit some poverty, but whose inhabitants are, in the very significant majority, welcoming. The staff at the Shama are incredible. They are always helpful, well beyond their basic roles, and perform their duties with courtesy, and enthusiasm, with nothing seeming to phase them. Food (we had breakfast, an evening meal, and numerous nibbles) is good, freshly prepared for you, and I have to say, their mint tea was by far the nicest I came across during my stay..... and I drank a lot of tea! The Raid is an excellent base for exploring the Medina and its Souks, but is also good for exploring further afield. Staff in Reception speak fluent English, as do their colleagues who form the public face of the enterprise. The rooftop affords a view of the Medina and beyond, with the Atlas Mountains forming a lovely backdrop, especially when snow capped, and at dawn or sun set. Rooms are large, being beautifully and tastefully furnished with lots of Moroccan ware. The bathrooms are exquisite with an apparently limitless supply of hot water, even in the morning in January. The room, and, indeed, the whole of the Riad, was kept scrupulously clean. In fact, the Medina as a whole was rubbish free when compared to other similar areas in North Africa and the Middle east.
As a place to visit and stay in, I can truthfully recommend the Riad Shama.

Room Tip: We saw several rooms during our stay, but, I have to say that all were equally delightful.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Riad Shama for a week at the end of December 2012 and had the most amazing time! The staff are so helpful and nothing we asked for was ever a problem.

We were welcomed with a fresh pot of mint tea before getting settled into our massive suite with an amazing bathroom. They really treat you like kings and queens here!

The whole property is incredibile..you can easily spend a whole day relaxing in the riad. I would definitely recommend asking for breakfast on the sunny rooftop terrace (which is obviously no problem at all :) ). The pool was a bit cold (December), but we jumped in once just to test it. Must be great in summer! Theres lots of space and little hidden corners to relax, read and drink lots of (free) mint tea.

Even though Riad Shama isn't situated right amongst the souks, you're still within 10 minutes of the action and a taxi from Place de Bab Taghzout to Djeema el Fna only costs around Dh 60 - 100! The riad is a one minute walk from Bab Tagzout and very easy to find after being shown where it is once (we booked the €20 airport transfer and were greeted by a really nice man from the riad and shown to the hotel, he tried to carry as many of our bags as he could down the street!). There's also plenty of things to explore in this neigbourhood as well: make sure to try the Dh 15 brochettes with bread and tomatoes from one of the Bab Taghzout grill stalls!.

The riad also provided us with their own car and driver for numerous short trips around town with very reasonable prices.

The food in the riad was very good and breakfast kept on getting better and better every day! Lots of local specialities.

The main thing I loved about this place was that they really made you feel at home and because of the location you really got to feel how the people in Marrakech really live.

Go see for yourself, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We booked the amazing "Suite Shama" and loved it! Our friends booked the other two-story suite and it was just as incredible. Definitely go for the suites, they're not expensive and are well worth it!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews