We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely Riad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Elma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Elma
Ranked #280 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the Dar Elma and went half board, the food was very good and the ladies working in the Riad were very friendly.
The only bad point about this riad is that you can hear everything, we spoke in whispers at night as to not disturb the other guests, you can hear everything so if you are wanting a lie in past 8am then this isn't really the place for you.
The positioning of the riad is very central but bring a good map and expect to get lost as Marrakech doesn't have many street names or sign posts.
I would recommend this Riad to people who want a true moroccan experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnalryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    45
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
24
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there a couple of nights during our visit to Marrakesh last year. The service was good, they picked us at the airport ( which youhave to request in advance and pay an extra) which was awesome as we arrived at midnight and they offered us fresh mint tea upon arrival to the hotel.. the room was clean and well decorated but a bit small.. I the morning we had a good breakfast in the terrace.. overall very good and well recommended

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you stay at Dar Elma or its sister property L'heure d'Ete you will certainly meet Hassan. He's the one with the big smile. He speaks good English, is charming and personable, and has a great sense of humor. He divides his time between the two properties and is one of the friendliest and most helpful people I encountered during my 2 weeks in Morocco. He arranged a day tour of the souks for us, but can also arrange tours of any length to anywhere in all of Morocco. He's willing to do anything for you, all you have to do is ask.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FargoBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This riad is beautifully presented, and the hospitality of the staff was very warm and welcoming. It is located in the medina of Marrakech, the old city. By staying here we were simultaneously immersed in the daily lives of Morrocans while having a peaceful oasis to stay in.

The staff, especially Hadija, made our stay exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. She is fluent in French and English.

Our room was beautifully presented - clean, comfortable, and our room was of a generous size. We stayed in the water room, La Chambre d'Eau. The coffee and breakfasts tasted excellent and were a great start to a busy day. We highly recommend a hamam and a massage as well.

I would highly recommend staying here - this place is truly fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a nice little riad with a pretty interior and a lovely roof terrace. The location is good and away from the noisy marketplace. The staff were friendly and offered a very warm welcome. The bed was comfortable and the riad was very quiet which meant we slept well.

However, the cleanliness of the room was a bit lacking and the towels were smelly and damp, we tried to get these changed by leaving them in the shower but they did not replace them. The breakfast was a bit skimpy with very small portions and for some reason we were asked to settle the bill halfway through our stay which was a little weird.

All in all, our stay here was nice and a pleasant way to start our trip through Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

In a nutshell, I'd go back for more!

Me and a friend booked the spa package which I believe you can book direct through their website (we did so through an agent). It involved one hour of treatments for three days and was incredibly reasonably priced.

The Riad prefers a modern style over traditional Morroccan style. The rooms are minimally decorated with fresh white linen/duvets and comfortable pillows. The rooms are decorated according to elements theme (Earth, Water, Fire etc). We stayed in Water which was a twin room with white and blues. The bathroom was sufficient but smelt a little bit odd (but that's the only fault I could name).

We arranged a meal in the Riad. It was not bad at all. Breakfast was a lovely affair on the roof and the meal set you up for the day.

The "pool" is really a dipping "square" in the small central courtyard.

What sets this Riad apart is that its very female friendly! The guard in the evening even accompanied us to the nearest point to pick up a taxi. Would recommend this place for ladies travelling in a group!

Would definitely recommend. You might want to hire the whole place for a party of 5+

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sameera3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

I was so turned off by our poor experience at Dar Elma, that I had to write a review in order to encourage others to stay elsewhere. The rude attitude of the manager here bordered on offensive and turned what should have been a lovely stay, into one that we couldn't wait to end. Although the rest of the staff was warm and accommodating, the manager set the tone for the entire stay. She acted as if it was a terrible inconvenience to have us there.

The rooms here are very small and plain for the rate; however the patio and rooftop terrace are very nice. There are so many beautiful, authentic Riads in Marrakesh that offer far more welcoming and sincere service, as well as much better value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocomoWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#120 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Baba Ali
Riad Baba Ali
#227 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#224 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Elma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Elma

Property: Dar Elma
Address: 81 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Larousse, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Elma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Elma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing