We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cheap, nice riad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Elma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Elma
Ranked #294 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cheap, nice riad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a nice little riad with a pretty interior and a lovely roof terrace. The location is good and away from the noisy marketplace. The staff were friendly and offered a very warm welcome. The bed was comfortable and the riad was very quiet which meant we slept well.

However, the cleanliness of the room was a bit lacking and the towels were smelly and damp, we tried to get these changed by leaving them in the shower but they did not replace them. The breakfast was a bit skimpy with very small portions and for some reason we were asked to settle the bill halfway through our stay which was a little weird.

All in all, our stay here was nice and a pleasant way to start our trip through Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    41
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
21
67
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

In a nutshell, I'd go back for more!

Me and a friend booked the spa package which I believe you can book direct through their website (we did so through an agent). It involved one hour of treatments for three days and was incredibly reasonably priced.

The Riad prefers a modern style over traditional Morroccan style. The rooms are minimally decorated with fresh white linen/duvets and comfortable pillows. The rooms are decorated according to elements theme (Earth, Water, Fire etc). We stayed in Water which was a twin room with white and blues. The bathroom was sufficient but smelt a little bit odd (but that's the only fault I could name).

We arranged a meal in the Riad. It was not bad at all. Breakfast was a lovely affair on the roof and the meal set you up for the day.

The "pool" is really a dipping "square" in the small central courtyard.

What sets this Riad apart is that its very female friendly! The guard in the evening even accompanied us to the nearest point to pick up a taxi. Would recommend this place for ladies travelling in a group!

Would definitely recommend. You might want to hire the whole place for a party of 5+

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sameera3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

I was so turned off by our poor experience at Dar Elma, that I had to write a review in order to encourage others to stay elsewhere. The rude attitude of the manager here bordered on offensive and turned what should have been a lovely stay, into one that we couldn't wait to end. Although the rest of the staff was warm and accommodating, the manager set the tone for the entire stay. She acted as if it was a terrible inconvenience to have us there.

The rooms here are very small and plain for the rate; however the patio and rooftop terrace are very nice. There are so many beautiful, authentic Riads in Marrakesh that offer far more welcoming and sincere service, as well as much better value for your money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocomoWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshre UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

Arrived tired after a long drive and were welcomed warmly. The tranquility of this Riad is wonderful and yet it's only a few minutes walk from the hubbub of the markets.

Our rooms were comfortable, clean and well-equipped and we found the staff extraordinarily helpful and hospitable - courteous, friendly and amiable all at once.

We particularly liked the cool quietness of the pool area inside Dar Elma and after a hard day walking round the souks and avoiding the motorbikes that whizz in and out of all the alleyways, to sit down at a table and have a drink was blissfully soothing.

Breakfast was something else - climbing up the elegant stairs to the roof terrace to bask in the early morning sun and enjoy a coffee made an excellent start to the day.

What didn't we like? Well, it was quite hard to find really and some clearer instructions - perhaps even a sketch map - would help. But I'm not sure whether Dar Elma or our travel agent should have supplied that. As it was, a number of small lads led us all the way to the door and expected an enormous "fee" for doing so. However, we'd been in Morocco for a week by then and knew what the going rate was: always a lot less than you get asked for!

Go to Dar Elma and you'll feel fresh and alert after a good night's sleep, ready to tackle the traders and enjoy Jama' El Fna.

  • Liked — Tranquillity
  • Disliked — Access, but then all Marrakech is confusing.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank batson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

We stayed in this Riad over a long weekend and it was definitely a very good choice! The rooms are lovely and the other areas of the riad (dining area, tv room and rooftop) are just as nice! It is lovely and peaceful and the staff are very hospitable and helpful! There is a hammam in this riad, unfortunately we didnt get the chance to try it!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank nealgerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

Flying in from London was arduous and so our first morning was spent on in the calm of Dar Elma's roof-top terasse. Entering the Dar Elma was such a relief after a long day starting at 4am. After a day of serenely sitting in the sun and drinking tea on the terasse, we chose to make use of the hammam and a massage. This was a key selling point of the riad and we were very glad to experience it in such luxurious conditions. In terms of value-for money, Dar Elma is really hands down! The internal courtyard it is beautifully redone, the rooms are spacious and the hosts are both kind and considerate. If you book a dinner there, it is both high quality and has a real home-made feel. It is centrally placed, down a warren of picturesque alleys in a family neighoubrhood. All of the local residents are very friendly and welcoming. All of the key sites are within a 15-20 minute walk. Although in reality, hanging out and relaxing on the terasse is a must after more than 15 minutes in the hustle-and-bustle of Marrakech. So if you're interested in staying at a great riad with a caring and attentive staff, good food and a in a superly done location try Dar Elma!

  • Liked — Hammam, massage and great staff
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AandCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

This was the last accomodation of what turned out to be a rather stressful 14 night holiday. We received a lovely warm welcome. The room was beautifully decorated with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in although the noise prevented us from getting a good nights sleep. It was impossible to nap during the day as there is a lot of building work going on next door and in the vicinity. It wasn't to difficult to find compared to some of the other Riads. Breakfast was very dissapointing with a large breadcake, something greasy from the frying pan and a plain yoghurt every day. We left breakfast feeling very dehydrated as we didn't like the sugary mint tea and asked for coffeee. We were served carefully measured two espresso sized cups of coffee in a large tea pot, the orange juice was only the size of a small sherry glass. Everything we asked for we were told 'no problem' but we felt as though it was really. We felt as though we were intruding in somebody's private house as the owners had all their meals there. everything they did for us (eg. phoning for a taxi to the airport, 7 euros) had a price and was put on the bill. We weren't allowed in the kitchen to make tea and had to wait until they were ready to make it. We weren't given clean towels in four nights and although we noticed robes in the cupboard, we weren't provided with them.

  • Liked — The decor and the very comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — The hidden etra costs and stinginess of the breakfast.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lind54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Baba Ali
Riad Baba Ali
#216 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Akka
Riad Akka
#152 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#54 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cala Medina
Cala Medina
#268 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#24 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#30 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Elma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Elma

Property: Dar Elma
Address: 81 Derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Larousse, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Elma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Elma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing