We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Altair

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Altair
Ranked #38 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were made as welcome by Abdel and Badr as if we had been friends. They were always ready to help. The room was excellent, breakfast delicious and very enjoyable dinner. We would recommend this Riad wholeheartedly. The bed was very comfortable - pity about the Muezzin (audible from all rooms) at 4.00 in the morning!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy and Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    66
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
53
280
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a lovely stay at Riad Altair for a week. Within the hectic Medina, but situated down a quiet street, our accommodation gave us respite and a place to relax and unwind after daily adventures. The walk to Jemaa El Fna is only 10-15 minutes, with no problems walking in the area in the evening as there is a lot of foot traffic on the roads leading to the Riad.

The staff at Riad Altair were the high point with Abdel and Bader going out of their way to make sure that we were enjoying our stay, and offering opinions on things to see, do and eat in and around Marrakech.

The Riad itself is a very comfortable place to relax in rooms, on the terrace overlooking the mountains, or in the common areas with log fire during the chilly winter evenings. Rooms were a good size, and well maintained each day.

Breakfast is advertised as continental, but was way more substantial with varied extras each day on top of the coffee, orange juice, yoghurt and fresh bread/croissants. We only tried the set menu evening meal once as there were so many places to eat locally, but that was tasty and traditional local food that I would recommend but expensive compared to local eateries. Alcohol is not available at the Riad, but can be brought in to drink with meals.

There is a mosque very close to the Riad, so a pair of earplugs is useful if you don't want to be woken up a couple of times before 7am.

Thanks to the staff for making our stay in Marrakeck so enjoyable and easy.

Room Tip: The first floor (4 of the 6 rooms) seems the quietest. With the ground floor room being near where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicky682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Good location in the Medina, super service, very intim. Special. Maby because this was a riad and not a common hotel. One of the best location I ever have been, the staff is very attentive! I would warmly recomand this riad!

Room Tip: All rooms are different from ach other but all are very nice, individual styled
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jaqesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for a 3 nights deal with BA.com and the place looks exactly as in the picture nice& cosy. The staff were the best of all, who were very helpful and gave us tips on how to cope in town! 10 minute walk to the Medina the old town which is good as you can go to the market have a look or buy but you'll have to be ready to haggle...I will definitely. Breakfast was amazingly fresh and so were teh cookies we ate every night :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LabellaChicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at Riad Altair for 4 nights last November. We arrived during the evening rush hour in Marrakesh which was very hectic to say the least!! We expected this as had read lots of reviews and as the other reviewers say, when you arrive at the riad it is an oasis of calm. We were greeted by Badar who made us feel right at home, offered us refreshments, and gave us the low down of do's and dont's and where to go etc etc. We ate that evening in the riad, which was lovely and we took our own wine which they served with the meal (they don't sell alcohol though, so take your own if you wish).

We stayed in the room on the ground floor which was a bit noisy in the morning, but there are only 6 rooms in the riad so its not exactly Picadilly Circus! The bathroom looks great, with a very Moroccan feel, but the sunken bath is so huge the hot water runs out when it is only a inch full!

Breakfast each morning consisted of croissants, fruit, scrambled egg etc and was always very tasty and filling.

The roof terrace has sun loungers and chairs and is a great place to have a drink and read a book before or after you brave the crowds of the square!

If ever we needed anything Badar was on hand to help us out, he is very helpful and efficient without being overbearing. We only saw Abdel a couple of times but he was very helpful and friendly too.

The only thing I wasn't keen on was the call to prayer in the morning. I was aware of the mosque next door and didn't think it would be a problem, but they do it at about 4.30am and 5.30am and it goes on for about 3 mins each time! A bit annoying when you are in a nice deep sleep, but I like experiencing new countries and cultures and that's all part of it I guess!

The great thing about this riad is that is away down an alley way away from the crowds, but only about a minute's walk so no chance of getting lost. It's about 10 mins walk from Jemaa El Fna square and the route is easy.

I can thoroughly recommend this riad!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewels-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We found this location to be an excellent Riad in Marrakech. We arrived early evening, and were given mint tea & homemade biscuits whilst the Manager explained all about the Riad (small hotel). The room was spacious, & comfortable, and had a lovely bathroom. We had breakfast in the central area which was light and airy. The breakfasts were all excellent and were too much for us to eat. The staff were excellent, friendly, attentive, helpful and knowledgeable of the town. It is with their help that we visited certain places. We arranged to have a late lunch on our last day at the Riad which was delicious, well presented and reasonable. Our room was on the ground floor and our only criticism was on one occasion when people were smoking in the central area which comes into the room. It would be better to allow smoking just on the terraces. We would definitely recommend this venue to anyone wanting a break from the hectic city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Riad Altair is like a peaceful paradise in the middle of Marrakesh Medina, in walking distance to everything you want to see in in the city. Super clean, comfortable and secure, the hole staff is extremely nice and helpful. Abdel and Badar will organise anything you need 24 h a day.

The traditional Moroccan style rooms are very romantic, breakfast is delicious and very well presented and slightly different every day.

I will definitely recommend it to all my friends!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M Isabel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#28 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Aladdin
Riad Aladdin
#225 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Ambre et Epices
Riad Ambre et Epices
#50 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Nour
Riad Al Nour
#66 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#15 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#34 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Altair

Property: Riad Altair
Address: 21, derb Zaouia | Mosquée de Bab Doukkal, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Altair 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for rest and relaxation … named after the main star in the Eagle constellation, Riad Altair and its devoted staff provide pleasure and tranquillity. From high on the roof terrace, You have a 360° view of the Red City, while the patio and pond are a cool oasis in the heat of the day. 6 air-conditioned rooms each with a private with safe Wifi throughout the riad. We organise private functions of all kinds (birthdays, events etc). Discreet, attentive staff to meet all needs. Elegant, restrained decor. Just by the tree-filled patio and the Plunge Pool there is a winter sitting room with an open fireplace, various summer sitting rooms, 6 air-conditioned bedrooms, and terraced sunbathing areas. We are always happy to help you explore the Red City and its surroundings.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Altair Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing