We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Feeling like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Altair

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Altair
Ranked #36 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlingford, Ireland
1 review
“Feeling like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Riad Altair is like a peaceful paradise in the middle of Marrakesh Medina, in walking distance to everything you want to see in in the city. Super clean, comfortable and secure, the hole staff is extremely nice and helpful. Abdel and Badar will organise anything you need 24 h a day.

The traditional Moroccan style rooms are very romantic, breakfast is delicious and very well presented and slightly different every day.

I will definitely recommend it to all my friends!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M Isabel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    66
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
286
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Super place, great staff, lovely room and fantastic views of the snowy tipped Atlas Mountains from the roof terrace. The breakfasts are varied, well made and presented and very filling. The one evening meal we had was also of high quality. The Riad was kept fastidiously clean, security was spot on and the place exudes tranquillity and peacefulness, in fact the whole experience was brilliant; except.... When we arrived, after trailing down the alley in the pouring rain we were informed there was not a room available. The management had arranged accommodation and a free dinner for my wife and I on the other side of Marrakech for two nights and then back to Riad Altair. So a wait for a taxi, then back into the rain and across town to the Riad Aladdin. We were not made over welcome, hurried through a cold dinner because service had closed, and so to our room. And what a lovely room it was, all you would expect from a Marrakech Riad. But we were above the kitchen, and as soon as the five o'clock prayers had finished the loudest cook in the world started up. Add to this the very noisy plumbing and we were not at all amused. We mentioned these points to the staff and were greeted with a polite smile but no action.
Two days later we were back in Altair where we could make a fair comparison. Altair wins hands down. Abdel advised us to book direct with them if we return, and next year we will..
I should mention we booked this holiday through British Airways and the whole experience, flights, transfers and Altair were spot on, they are investigating our problem with the lack of a room as I write.

Room Tip: First floor rooms appear quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here with boyfriend for 7 nights. Right from the word go we were made to feel very welcome and at home. The Riad is small with only 6 rooms so its very relaxed and service feels personal. The rooms were really well decorated & great ensuite. Felt very at ease about security of the room.

As for the January climate - we were lucky to have 5/7 days of sun, but it was cold and wet on the other two. The Riad has plenty of heaters though and a cover over the courtyard during winter so it can still be fully enjoyed. The split level roof terrace was a great place for sunbathing and reading, whilst downstairs there are areas to sit in and around the courtyard and a lounge area with an open fire in the evenings.

We had dinner in the Riad twice when we stayed - the food was fantastic - the best we experienced, and tables are set up in the central courtyard - candles and rose petals, great service, and although they don't serve alcohol at the Riad, you can buy wine, etc from the new town area nearby for meals or drinks on the roof terrace.

The breakfasts are fantastic - fresh fruit, juice, coffee, eggs and pastries, etc - either in the courtyard or in the sun on the roof terrace.

The location is great - 10-15 min walk to the main square, and a good place to walk to & experience the new town too. Easy to find as well (once you've been shown the first time!). Would recommend booking the transfer with the hotel. The guys loitering in the nearby alley should not be an intimidation either (as i read previously) - all they're interested in is getting free wifi!

I would thoroughly recommend the Riad Altair for your visit - it is both a special treat to stay here, as well as feeling as comfortable & relaxed as home - a refuge from the madness of the city & its souks!

Room Tip: 6 rooms in total - best to choose one of the 4 on the first floor. There is then one located on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent four nights here and agree with others on the lovely reception from all of the staff. Abdel speaks English and is always on hand and ready to help. One room is situated on the ground floor and opens onto the communal area, one is on the roof and the others are around the first floor balcony. Our room, on the roof, was clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water to the shower whenever needed. The call to prayer could be heard in the room but was never a problem for us. Enjoy the experience of Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here for four nights and can only say what a lovely place with a warm and friendly staff - fantastic stay altogether! Would love to be back there soon for a much longer period. Thanks Abdel and Badr!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, Ross-shire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

What a lovely experience staying at the Altair. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with a real personal touch by the warm' friendly staff. We had the Deneb room on the gallery (they are all named after stars), which was simply but elegantly furnished. Bathroom was spacious, with a good hot shower. My only complaint was the pillows were a little firm for my liking.

Breakfast was a triumph. Freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, homemade crepes and fresh bread, with variations each day, such as eggs, served in the beautiful, sunlit courtyard.

We visited in winter, and the lounge had a nice log fire, which was welcome on the chilly evenings.

We ordered an evening meal on one night (this needs to be done in the morning). It was a three course set menu at 20 Euros. More expensive than could be found in local restaurants, but excellently prepared, and with the same smiling service.

The Riad is located right in the heart of the Medina, within a couple of minutes' walk of the souks. You have to walk a 100 metres or so from the nearest road, but the staff help with your luggage. It is right next to a mosque. The downside of this is the call to prayer at 4.00 and 6.00 am, but we didn't mind as it's part of the atmosphere of Marrakech.

This Riad is excellent in many ways, but the stand-out feature is the staff. They clearly share the owner's vision for the type of experience they wish to create, and do so with style and flair.

I have a feeling we'll be back!

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid the downstairs bedroom if you like a lie-in. It opens directly onto the brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We rested at this hotel with my husband in September for 7 days. Hotel very much. We always choose a hotel on the principle of location, service, price. This hotel was all wonderful. The breakfasts are good, every morning orange juice, fresh yogurt, fruit and pastries. The hotel staff we organized excursions to the Atlas Mountains and Essaouira. I thank them very much.
Dinner must be ordered the day before, it was not very convenient.
I hope next time to stay in this hotel again. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I-Zhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Ambre et Epices
Riad Ambre et Epices
#46 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Gallery 49
Riad Gallery 49
#53 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#31 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Chergui
Riad Chergui
#28 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Zayane
Riad Zayane
#109 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palacio de las Especias
Palacio de las Especias
#22 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Altair

Property: Riad Altair
Address: 21, derb Zaouia | Mosquée de Bab Doukkal, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Altair 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for rest and relaxation … named after the main star in the Eagle constellation, Riad Altair and its devoted staff provide pleasure and tranquillity. From high on the roof terrace, You have a 360° view of the Red City, while the patio and pond are a cool oasis in the heat of the day. 6 air-conditioned rooms each with a private with safe Wifi throughout the riad. We organise private functions of all kinds (birthdays, events etc). Discreet, attentive staff to meet all needs. Elegant, restrained decor. Just by the tree-filled patio and the Plunge Pool there is a winter sitting room with an open fireplace, various summer sitting rooms, 6 air-conditioned bedrooms, and terraced sunbathing areas. We are always happy to help you explore the Red City and its surroundings.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Altair Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing