We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful stay”
Review of Riad Altair

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Altair
Ranked #35 of 1,193 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Riad Altair was lovely. The staff were wonderful, attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfasts were amazing - some of the best we've ever had. Our room was extremely comfortable, bright and airy and wonderfully clean. Excellent place, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lifelovetravelfood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 586 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Booked at the last second for a four night stay, with British Airways.
Almost perfect, a mini-bar, if only to keep your own water cool, would have made it perfect. Just a 10-15 min. walk from main square, Staff were all excellent, with out exception. Food good value and tasty.
Beware of help with your bags when you are dropped off. You do not need help, it is only 300m from the mosque and it's flat. I arranged a transfer with BA, and your swept along, so fast, you are not given the chance to say no to help. We were taken to the wrong Riad and paid the young lad 30 MAD. He did seem to run off a bit quick! Little sod!!
Other than that, I've no other complaints. Thanks to all the staff.
Mark & Heidi

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

we went to riad altair for a rest after a very busy last year and that is exactly what we got. the rooms were big and airy, the food was excellent, and the staff were excellent. we really couldn't fault this hotel at all. i have already commented on this hotel so please read my earlier comments.

Room Tip: there are only 6 rooms here and they are all of equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Riad was excellent from beginning to end. Most importantly the staff were superb, nothing was too much, the breakfasts were just great, very relaxing….. probably too much time was spent consuming the pastries, bread, excellent coffee etc. We decided to dine at the Riad for two nights as we couldn’t believe that they could produce a second night as good as the first but this was easily achieved. The banter was also very good, which we felt played an important part. The rooms were traditionally furnished and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank THofKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We would definitely stay at riad Altair again. The staff were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. You were able to freely do whatever you wanted without feeling uncomfortable at the same time knowing you could find someone in moments if you needed anything. We had planned to visit other hotels in the daytime s to use a pool but never wanted to leave our lovely riad. We ate at the riad 2 nights and enjoyed the breakfast every morning. We would definitely come back !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful. Rhiad was atmospheric, clean and well located. Breakfast tasty. Option to eat there in evenings but remember to take your own alcohol as they do not supply . Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JingleTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

On arrival I knew I had picked the right place to stay. When I entered the Riad, all of the noise and hustle from the streets disappeared and all of a sudden I was in an oasis of calm. Staff were more like friends who had invited us over to their house for the weekend. Mint tea and macaroons.

Room was large, cool and very clean. My friends and I ate breakfast every morning at the Riad and every time it was a different combination of healthy and tasty treats - certainly enough fuel for the busy day ahead of walking in the heat. We also had dinner at the Riad .... they turned a section of the Riad into our very own personal space.

The Riad and all of its staff did not have an issue with homosexuals

Riad also had Wi-Fi

Would I stay here again .... YES!! Without a shadow of a doubt.

Room Tip: All rooms will not disappoint ... the Riad is quiet, calm and very safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#29 of 1,193 in Marrakech
1,076 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Adriana
Riad Adriana
#32 of 1,193 in Marrakech
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad O
Riad O
#40 of 1,193 in Marrakech
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#28 of 1,193 in Marrakech
1,877 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#9 of 1,193 in Marrakech
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Ambre et Epices
Riad Ambre et Epices
#46 of 1,193 in Marrakech
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Altair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Altair

Address: 21, derb Zaouia | Mosquée de Bab Doukkal, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,193 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $100 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Altair 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for rest and relaxation … named after the main star in the Eagle constellation, Riad Altair and its devoted staff provide pleasure and tranquillity. From high on the roof terrace, You have a 360° view of the Red City, while the patio and pond are a cool oasis in the heat of the day. 6 air-conditioned rooms each with a private with safe Wifi throughout the riad. We organise private functions of all kinds (birthdays, events etc). Discreet, attentive staff to meet all needs. Elegant, restrained decor. Just by the tree-filled patio and the Plunge Pool there is a winter sitting room with an open fireplace, various summer sitting rooms, 6 air-conditioned bedrooms, and terraced sunbathing areas. We are always happy to help you explore the Red City and its surroundings.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Altair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Altair Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing