We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay in Marrakesh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Ranked #39 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Marrakesh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in Les Borjs de la Kasbah for a week and loved it. The staff were lovely, particularly on reception, the rooms, and all other areas, were really well decorated and very well kept. Breakfast was good and, when we chose not to go out in the evening, the standard of evening meals was also very good. There was about a 15 minute walk to the main square in the old town but apart from having to stay aware of the numerous mopeds it was fine. Staying there was very relaxed and friendly and when we left we were even waved off at the door by the owner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    79
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
78
239
69
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I can but only agree with all the other reviews given here. This place is wonderful, and without fault, the staff do their utmost to make you feel welcome and happy - from the welcome mint tea (delicious) and moroccan biscuits on arrival, to the amazing breakfasts each morning (yes, the avocado smoothie really is as good as Rosemary described), and the lovely - well priced - Moroccan dinner, which we had one evening.
Not forgetting the lovely salad lunch in the main courtyard we had on our last day.
The rooms are individually designed, with each and all opening out onto beautiful courtyards.
The pool and Spa/Hamman area is tranquil - pool is heated too!
Special mention to Darek, who actually went out of his way to buy us a Supratours coach ticket, as we mentioned one day that we had to go across to the station in the new town to buy it to go to Essaouira after our time in Marrakech - he just said leave it to me, and we only found out afterwards that he actually went to get it personally - and he asked for no commission either - just the face value.
He also organised a great daytrip for the two of us and another solo traveller in the hotel's minibus up to the Ourika Valley to see the waterfalls at Setti Fatma. The driver was a great tour guide, giving lots of tips and stopping at the places we wanted to go to.
You sensed that this level of service is the norm here.
There is nothing not to love here (unless your idea of a good holiday is to stay in your room on t'internet and you find that the hotel wifi doesn't extend to the rooms - which would not be my idea of a holiday, but I guess it is for some people?) As it happens there is a free to use PC in one of the rooms off the main courtyard, for essential net and email use - more than good enough for us.
One tip, don't take any notice of scroungers outside and on the walk up to the tourist areas (and everywhere else in Marrakech too) - they will try to tell you that the road ahead is "closed". its a ploy to ask you for money when they have you all alone, or to direct you subltly to their mate's spice/slipper/etc shop- even the ones who engage you with that old classic: "I am a university lecturer and i was lucky to meet your lovely Queen when i was at a reception held by our crown prince". the whole idea is to get you somewhere a little quiet before requesting in sinister tones for some money to buy milk for "my newly born twins, who's mother cannot lactate". As anyone who's been to Marrakech before will attest, It's virtually impossible not to fall for someone's story at some time. the best insurance is just not to have a 100dirham note as your smallest change - just make sure you have a few 5 dirham coins in your pocket to quickly hand over and scarper quickly - and put it down to experience, and enjoy laughing about it when you tell the tale later (as i am doing now!)
Would I stay here again? Yes, Yes, Yes

Room Tip: Would not expect a bad room here, fro what we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LockeyNewForest_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a beautiful tranquil haven situated in the heart of the Marrakesh old town, right next to the Royal Palace. The rooms are spacious and cool, with excellent en suite bathrooms. Wonderful selection at breakfast, heated swimming pool, fabulous service. There's nothing not to love about this place. Go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRG186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in late Feb. Hotel and room were immaculate. Staff very helpful kind and friendly. Breakfast was good, a bit disorganised but in a laid back kind of way. Pool and patio areas gave space and peace.... I imagine the pool must come as a welcome cooling off place in the hotter weather.

Marrakech was a bit of culture shock for us. The hotel is in a cobbled street full of workshops and shops for the locals, it is slightly off the beaten track yet still inside the city walls. It took a bit of getting used to, but once you know your way round the kasbah area and up towards Jemma n Fnaa square is great for exploring by foot. But a taxi can stop outside the hotel as well if you feel too tired to walk to one of the sights. So all in all the location is fine.

It is a 5 min walk to the Saadian tombs and the nearby mosque. There is a nice rooftop cafe there..the Kasbah cafe..which we can recommend.. For one evening meal we went to Pepe Nero which was excellent..... and we enjoyed the meal and belly dancing show at Le Salama restaurant (near Jemma n Fnaa..be there by 9pm for a nice 15 min show).

Thanks to all the staff at les Borjs...and for our anniversary surprise... much appreciated.

Room Tip: We stayed in 303... really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gluepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a heavenly place to stay. I went recently feeling very tired and as soon as I stepped through the doors I felt revived. The staff were very kind and the lovely building a delight to be in - the open central courtyard, very calming. Food very good, particularly the breakfasts - avocado smoothie mmmm. Also a hammam and excellent masseuse. The situation in the Kasbah area is perfect. The hotel arranged for a walking tour of the Medina with a guide on my first day and a visit to the Atlas Mountains, which was inspiring. I would love to return. Thank you!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemaryHawksford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

A lovely well run organisation just outside of the centre of Marrakech old city, but within easy walking distance of all the visitor attractions.

I really like the rooms with their comfortable beds and typical local decor which is in keeping with the style of the riad.

Having stayed here on numerous occasions, i have only praise for this hotel, the accommodation and the food. One point to note is that the food has a wide appeal being cooked with a Moroccan influence, but taking styles and flavours from many continents.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerTexier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Les Borjs is a beautiful building whose architecture is that of an old rich man's house in the centre of Marrakech. All thge staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the foot massage I had in the spa was wonderful!

Breakfast was fantastic - especially the choice of local pancakes!! My only criticism would be that one out of the two meals we ate at the hotel was of apoor standard but, when this was pointed out, I was only charged half price for the whole meal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#49 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#38 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.6 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#18 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Property: Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah is a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007) combining all the character of a traditional riad with the modern comforts and professionalism of a luxury hotel. Adjoining two borjs (defensive towers), the hotel stands at the southern edge of the walled city, close to the royal palace, a 15-20 min walk through the kasbah from the Place Jemaa. There are 18 rooms, 3 lounges, a bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. In a separate, secluded part of the complex there is also a 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the kasbah), with poolside bar, and a spa with traditional hammam, treatment rooms and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing