We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveler rating
616
93
10
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
93
10
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal palacean oasisrose petals on the bedthe main squarehotel directorfluffy towelskasbah areapool areaspa treatmentsmoroccan pancakesthe hustle and bustlemint teahotel restaurantsaadian tombshectic citylarge bathroomlovely courtyard
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 727 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Eight of us just spent 3 nights at the Borjs to celebrate a 50th Birthday. The staff could not have been more helpful from booking through to the time of our stay. They put on a party for us for the 50th along with singers, a belly dancer and a fantastic cake. All the staff were courteous, funny and helpful.

We had a premium room which had everything we needed even british TV channels if required. The bathroom was fine with an adequate shower and toiletries along with lovely towels.

We all ate in the large part of the dining room which had 3 patio heaters in. We were never cold in that part of the dining nor the breakfast room. Cant see how previous reviewer sat around breakfast buffet as this was laid in the corner of the smaller dining room. We were not cold in the bar area which had heaters on the wall.

We enjoyed the food although there is not a lot of choice. 2 choices for each course. The tagines were excellent. The food for the party was not as good as the other nights. We felt there was adequate choice for breakfast with fresh juice, fruit, cereals, yoghurts, bread, croissants etc and you could have pancakes as well as cooked eggs. Make sure you ask for the egg choices as they dont ask you. We were asked on the first morning but not again.

The transfer was very quick at 15 minutes from the airport although we were unaware that you are charged 400 (£28 ish) dirhams to back to the airport. Only the pick up is included in the room rate. It is cheaper to get a taxi which is around 80/100 I believe. It was a 15 minute easy walk to the Souks and main square. We would not hesitate to recommend the Borjs. It was nice to be in a small hotel where all the staff knew you rather than in one of the large impersonal hotels located on the outskirts of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Extraordinary service. Attentive yet relaxed staff. Good location at the right distance from the wonderful madness of the Marrakech medina. Can't-beat off-season rates. This place is worthy of all the praise...

1  Thank Scenic78940
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have to question how some hotels receive their reviews. This Riad is well placed for most of the souks, main square and main sights. However the walking is done amongst cars, vans, motor bikes, cycles and even horse drawn carriages using the same narrow confined space. It is an area totally unsuitable for anyone with any mobility difficulties at all in view of the uneven street without pavements with many obstructions. Just to make it worse there is the intense traffic pollution and none stop harassment to contend with.
The Riad itself is quite beautiful if a little basic. The staff are very friendly and helpful but some are a little inexperienced. The breakfast is not particularly good and the dinner is only average and not particularly cheap. Eating out is a much better option for those able to venture out.
Be warned... we stayed in early December and our first three days were very cold, no more than 13C by day dropping to 2C at night. This meant that there was nowhere in the Riad where it was warm enough to sit except our room which did have a large fan heater.
We were very surprised that we were not told that the pool and the area around it was to be closed for repair. I found out by accident and did request a discount or upgrade which was given. However this was not adequate compensation for having nowhere at all on the premises to sit in the sun which was the only way to get warm.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank geoffruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyeman, Owner at Les Borjs de la Kasbah, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

It is strange that this reviewer should question “how some hotels get their reviews”. In so doing, while raising various negative issues himself, he appears to be aware that he is taking a contrary view to that of the vast majority of reviewers of Les Borjs on this site. Being in a minority, of course, does not necessarily invalidate contrary views. However, at the risk of sounding complacent (for which there is no more room at Les Borjs than there should be anywhere else) it must be significant that, of 284 reviews on Trip Advisor, 95% have rated the hotel ‘excellent’ or ‘very good’, a figure very similar to the hotel’s own questionnaire ratings over the years and those of Expedia clients. That said, it would seem that this reviewer had particular issues with Marrakech itself and, if so, this might to some extent explain his attitude, especially if he or his wife had mobility problems. Marrakech is indeed noisy, dusty, congested and the traffic chaotic and one needs to take this into consideration when booking such a destination. I hoped our website had made this clear, but perhaps not. The Marrakech medina, like all others in the Arab world, is comprised of a maze-like network of narrow dusty passages and lanes all of which require one, at times, to be somewhat lively on one’s feet to dodge horse-drawn caleches, donkeys, mobylettes and street sellers. But this, for many, is part of the very appeal of the place. The Marrakech medina apart, however, I suggest that this review (from a ‘Senior Contributor’) is guilty of the same failing that can be seen in many others, that is, by implying shortcomings but without the essential explanatory detail. Thus, the riad is: “quite beautiful, if a little basic”. How so? “The breakfast is not particularly good”. Again, in what way did breakfast fall short of expectations? The staff are described as being: “friendly and helpful but some are a little inexperienced”. How was this evident? Sadly, therefore, we just don’t know what the reviewer is getting at. By the way, most of our staff are in fact very experienced, especially those in charge of reception, bar and restaurant, all of whom have been with the hotel for several years. As to the pool, we made a decision in August to close it for two weeks in December for essential repairs (in fact, now operational again, it has been completely retiled and the heating system overhauled). We announced this on our website in September on the Home page, and elsewhere, and in an announcement on Trip Advisor. Those booking direct with us were offered a reduction of 50% in consideration. It is true that mornings and evenings from late November to mid February can be cool; our website points this out. It also says that typical daily temperatures in December range from 6 to 18 degrees. I doubt the figures claimed by this reviewer of ‘2 to 13 degrees’. Because of the open plan nature of their design riads are not typically cosy places, in the northern European sense, during the short, cool Moroccan winter. However, it is inaccurate to suggest that: “there was nowhere warm to sit” because Les Borjs has a heated bar as well as a small comfortable lounge with an efficient electric heater; this also applies, needless to say, to the rooms themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I recently stayed at this wonderful Riad with my grown up daughter, and this Riad was the best part of our stay in Marrakech.

Its a lovely traditional classic Moroccan Riad, beautifully designed, situated centrally in the Kasbah, close to the Royal Palace, and within easy access of all the Souks etc.

I had an offer of four nights for the price of three, which was half board, so we had all our evening meals at the Riad. The food was reasonable in price and excellent I have to say. There is nothing not to like about this Riad, with the exception of it would have been nice to have had tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. I asked for room 303 when making the booking and they were really kind in giving me this room. There was a lovely courtyard with a water fountain in the middle, plus a swimming pool at the rear f the property.

The only slight thing that happened, which was more annoying than anything, was on the last night, when washing my hair in the shower, the water stopped. I went down to the reception to be told it would be back on again shortly. It only happened the once, but by the time that the water came on again, I had managed to get chilled (the weather was quite chilly in the evenings) and needless to say I came back home to the UK with a stinking cold.

The staff were extremely helpful and polite at all times. They used to put flower petals on your bed and sink every day.

Unfortunately the weather was really mixed during our stay. I had a couple of days where I sat by the pool for a short while when the sun did actually decide to come out. Generally the weather was quite chilly at times, it was grey and cloudy then pouring with rain on our last day.

During our stay, we used to walk up to the Souks most days, and also went round the Royal Palace. You would see the snake charmers, and the monkeys in the square. We used the taxi service through the Riad to be collected from the airport and then again going back to the airport.

If I ever decide to go back to Marrakech I would most certainly stay at this lovely Riad again.

Room Tip: Room 303 was lovely, spacious, with a large wooden four poster bed, plus a separate bed if needed. There was a bath plus a separate shower cubicle in the bathroom.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaegerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

In a beautiful city this really is an amazing hotel. It is located within the walled city and is within walking distance of the souks, and the main sights. The staff is exceptionally helpful and the excursions organised by the hotel are well worth it as the guides are knowledgeable and friendly. There are no great restaurants nearby, but this is not a problem as the dinners in the hotel restaurant are great - there is a nice selection of Moroccan dishes and wines, and the set menu changes every day. Also, do not miss the hammam - a truly rejuvenating experience. All in all, a fantastic riad, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews