We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis of peace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Ranked #33 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“an oasis of peace”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel, created from a riad and several old houses which blend to make a luxury hotel with the rooms looking on to courtyards full of flowers, orange trees and fountains. All the rooms are different - our party of 8 ladies took the 4 twin bedded rooms, two being standard rooms and two deluxe. There really wasn't much difference in them- the deluxe rooms being a little bigger, but they were all furnished well, with easy chairs, comfortable beds, large wardrobes, with rugs, cushions and walls in soft earth colours.The bathrooms were very large, and had a large bath with shower, separate shower cubicle, and some had double sinks too. They were all spotlessly clean
The hotel staf fwas one of the best things about the hotel. All spoke perfect English, and nothing was too much trouble for them. They were obviously proud of their hotel, and genuinely seemed to enjoy their work, always smiling, and very helpful.
The hotel is within the walled Kasbah, but a 20 min walk from the main square. We never felt threatened when walking, and taxis were easy to find if you didn't fancy the trek. We also walked to the Saadian tombs, Badia and Bahia palaces, and the souk. The city is exciting , colourful and frenetic- it was a delight to return to the peace quiet and comfort of the Borjs. It also has a swimming pool, great to cool down in.
The breakfasts were excellent- great choice of fruits, cheese breads, and freshly squeezed orange juice which was wonderful and eggs cooked to order. We ate in twice in the evening, as there are no restaurants close- the only negative feature of the hotel.The food was good, not exceptional, but about the same price as the central restaurants
If I return to Marrakech I will definitely return to the Borjs- it is lovely!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    85
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
92
281
77
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

From the warm welcome with mint tea & pastries to the lovely room, fabulous food, great pool & spa, traditional decor with modern comfort & really lovely staff - everything was perfect. About 15 minute stroll to main square but worth it for the peace & quiet. BK is like an oasis in the madness of Marrakech. The only sounds are the tinkling of the fountain in the main courtyard & birdsong. Absolutely loved it. Ate in the restaurant nearly every night as food was so good & reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebird52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

A friend and I stayed at Les Borjs de la Kasbah for five nights at the end of January for a girls' break away. We paid 1,400dh per night for a premium twin room (although we did get one night free as they had an offer on at the time so paid 5,600dh in total). This also included free airport pick-up (although we had to pay an extra charge for transportation back to the airport at the end of our stay).

When we arrived, we were greeted with mint tea and Moroccan sweet pastries (little baklava-style things). This set the tone for the rest of our visit - the staff in the hotel were very polite, friendly and helpful. Our room was a reasonable size and very comfortable, with a large bathroom (including a tub as well as shower). It had every modern convenience but also traditional charm, complete with flower petals on the pillows every evening.

The hotel itself is a lovely a complex of six small town houses and a riad. It's pretty well integrated though, so you can't really tell that it wasn't originally built as one building. The rooms are focused round a series of courtyards, one of which includes a small swimming pool, with lots of little tucked-away sitting areas.

Other facilities (as well as the pool) included a computer with internet access for guest use; a few books and games (chess etc); a bar; and a restaurant. There's also the hammam of course, where we spent a relaxing afternoon one day. (We opted for a package which included hammam time with an exfoliation treatment with Beldi soap and a body poultice of volcanic clay - this cost 250dh each, but we got a 20% discount on this as guests of the hotel.)

Breakfast was served in the hotel's restaurant, which is half inside and half a courtyard with a glass roof, which was very charming. The only problem with this was that there were several little birds (similar to sparrows) that flew into the courtyard every day and would brazenly tuck into the breakfast which was laid out there - not a very appetizing (or hygienic) sight! It could easily have been overcome I'm sure by keeping the food in the inside area rather than the courtyard area; or using a hard plastic cover instead of just cling film which the birds could peck through.

Breakfast itself was pretty good though (although most people seemed to avoid the dishes that the birds went for, which wasn't everything) -- it included pastries, cakes/breads, cereal, fruit etc, as well as freshly-cooked eggs (scrambled/omelettes etc) and Moroccan-style pancakes (a little like very thin English crumpets in that they have air bubbles in the same way, very tasty).

We also ate in the restaurant a couple of other times as well, once for lunch and once for dinner. It was convenient to have a restaurant on-site, and the food seemed to be quite good quality. But it was more expensive than equivalent places we ate in the town I think.

As well as the on-site hammam/spa treatments, the hotel organises various other activities. We had a cooking lesson one morning, which was one of the highlights of our trip. We paid 400dh each for this, which included all the ingredients, the chef (who gave the lesson) and someone from reception (who acted as a translator). We spent a couple of hours cooking, and then enjoyed the fruits of our labour as lunch. It was a nice way to find out a bit more about Moroccan cooking and talk to local people in a relaxed way.

The hotel also organises various tours and excursions. These were very convenient as they left from the hotel but they did seem a little expensive. If you're considering booking one, it seems to be the norm to do so once you've arrived so you don't need to worry too much about deciding in advance.

We decided the book two trips through the hotel in the end for the convenience as much as anything else. Our first was a day trip to the Ourika Valley -- you drive through the valley and stop in a few places for photos, and end in a village where you can walk up to a waterfall (which wasn't as spectacular as I was anticipating I have to admit). It cost 350dh each and basically just included transportation there with the hotel's resident driver - you had to pay extra for a guide up to the waterfall and lunch etc.

Our driver was friendly enough but a little disingenuous I felt. A couple of examples - although we were advised by reception before we left that a guide to the waterfall shouldn't cost more than 100-150dh, and not to pay more, the driver presented us with a guide that he said would cost 200dh and that there was no alternative, which we found a little strange; also, we had understood from the information in the hotel that the driver wouldn't stop at any shops etc en route unless specifically asked to but we did end up stopping at a perfumery (which we'd actually been told was just a garden before we stopped), a pottery and a Berber house, which again we found a little strange as we didn't want to make any purchases and had said so. It was all a bit uncomfortable and we did not enjoy feeling pressurised by an expectation that we were going to buy something (when we'd said to the driver at the start that we didn't want to). We did enjoy the trip, and it was interesting to see the surrounding countryside, but it didn't quite meet the standards that we were used to in the hotel itself.

Our second excursion was an evening trip booked to the Fantasia at Chez Ali. We paid 500dh each, which included our transport there and back, a meal, and the entertainment (Berber tribes singing and dancing, plus a horsemanship display). We mostly went as my friend is interested in riding, but I found it quite an enjoyable evening too and there were mostly lots of Moroccan people there (ie not just foreign tourists).

Over all, I'd give Les Borjs de la Kasbah a thumbs up. We enjoyed our stay here but I think it probably is a little over priced and, as described above, there were a few 'spoilers'. Plus I'm not convinced the excursions offered the best value either.

Marrakech itself an interesting place to visit, it a little overwhelming to someone who hasn't travelled much outside Western Europe and North America. As two girls travelling alone, we didn't feel intimated though, which we had worried about beforehand. The poverty, especially the kids begging, took some getting used to though. I did actually suggest to the hotel that it would be nice if they had a place in the lobby (alongside their staff tips box) to donate to a reputable local charity but didn't really get a response to this!

One tip if you don't want to take a pricey guided tour, is that the open-top bus tour (the bus touristique) offers a good introduction to the town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. From the warm welcome we received, through the smooth transfers, through the beautiful breakfasts and dinners we ate there, to the pool facilities and the luxurious suite we had it was WONDERFUL! Nothings was too much trouble. A must stay place!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingtwosome78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York CIty
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We only ate in the restaurant, but the food was delicious and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We could not find fault with his hotel. A cosy retreat from the busy streets of the Kasbah & Medina. Staff were extremely pleasant and tended to our every need. Great breakfasts. Restaurant (French & Moroccan menu) and snack bar served freshly prepared delicious meals. Rooms tasteful, well appointed and very peaceful. Swimming pool refreshing & Hammam well worth a try - came home with skin as soft as a new baby. About a 10 - 15 min stroll from the main square. Would not hesitate to recommend this charming hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliSend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trieste, italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

All of the wonderful reviews about this place were so true, it is a splendid retreat amid the frenetic streets of Marrakech. The staff is excellent, incredibly attentive and hospitable. The restaurant was wonderful, we had dinner there a few nights. Breakfast in the morning had everything imaginable. The hamam and spa was well worth it and a delightful end to a day of wandering around Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oatstrawtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 499 in Marrakech
551 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#68 of 499 in Marrakech
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#37 of 499 in Marrakech
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.4 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 499 in Marrakech
483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#23 of 499 in Marrakech
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Borjs de la Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Property: Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Address: Rue du Mechouar | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Borjs de la Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Borjs de la Kasbah, a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007), combines all the character of a traditional riad with modern comforts and the professionalism of a dedicated staff, close to the Royal Palace, 15-20 min walk from the famous Jemaa el Fna square. 18 non-smoking rooms, 3 lounges, bar, restaurant and meeting room, all with free internet access. There is also a secluded 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the Kasbah), and a SPA with traditional Hammam and treatment rooms. Direct access to front door by car and minibus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Les Borjs de la Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Borjs De La Kasbah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing