We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Charming and convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Villa El Arsa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Villa El Arsa
Certificate of Excellence
Milan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming and convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2007

After much research and some price constraint my friend and I decided to book El-Arsa after reading the great tripadvisor ranking. I was in Marrakech 9 years ago and I have to say, prices have changed quite a bit. El-Arsa charges 80 euros a night. Although it is comfortable, I am not sure this is the best deal for your money. Breakfast was purely continental, coffee, juice, sliced baguette, bread and butter and another type of carbohydrate crepe slices, or a pain au chocolat. The interior was nice but not spectacular. What the riad did have going for it was a great location, minutes from Jemma el Fnaa, and some very hospitable staff. I didn't get the chance to look at other Riads, but maybe this is what 80 euros gets you now a days. All of the rooms are off of a central courtyard which echoes. If you want to sleep in, bring ear plugs. During the night it is very quiet. The highlight was probably sitting on the roof when the sun finally came out on our third day there.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visionlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Gérant at Riad Villa El Arsa, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Google Translation
Merci pour votre avis... juste quelques mots pour vous informer du changement de propriétaires de Riad Villa El Arsa depuis janvier 2012... nous avons changé beaucoup de choses pour le confort et l'accueil de nos hotes... et nous vous remercions de prendre en considération les commentaires depuis cette date plutôt que de forts anciens...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
133
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2007

Booked through Haystack, we found this Riad to be just lovely with a beautiful aesthetic and the staff very helpful and speaking good english. We started off with 3 nights booked and ended up staying 5 nights with a trip to the desert in between which they admirably organized for us and allowed us to leave our suitcases in storage. They were also very flexible about serving breakfast at an earlier time when we had to leave on a couple of trips before 9am. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The only thing we objected to was when we came to pay the bill, we had to pay a 6% surcharge on top of the bill if we wanted to pay with a credit card.- the only time we encountered this the 2.5 months we were travelling.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank RozAirlieBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast, US
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2007

The hotel is beautifully decorated and maintained. The staff were extremely friendly and spoke English. They were able to give great directions and suggestions about Marrakech. Although the hotel is initially difficult to find, it is a very short and convenient walk to djemma el fna and the souqs.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_to_eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2007

We spent 5 nights in Room 1 in May and found it to be perfectly fine.

The Riad is well located and relatively easy to find from the main square (which makes a useful point of reference).

The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable.

The Riad has a lovely roof terrace although we, like some of the other reviewers, found the courtyard to be very cluttered.

The breakfast was croissants and bread with jam but curiously only served at 9 am (which seems particularly inflexible given that it takes barely any preparation).

We had a great time in Marrakech but if we were to return would probably stay somewhere else. There wasn't anything particularly bad about the Riad or the staff - just a number of little niggles (like having to ask for more toilet roll because they didn't replace it at all during our stay!).

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Pingu-rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad V, Gérant at Riad Villa El Arsa, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Google Translation
Merci pour votre avis... juste quelques mots pour vous informer du changement de propriétaires de Riad Villa El Arsa depuis janvier 2012... nous avons changé beaucoup de choses pour le confort et l'accueil de nos hotes... et nous vous remercions de prendre en considération les commentaires depuis cette date plutôt que de forts anciens...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

Great place to stay in the heart of the Medina, wonderful staff and great food.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2007

I lived in Morocco for 10 months from Sept 2005-June 2006 and I traveled extensively as I had 4 separate sets of friends visit me and I toured them around Morocco. I found El Arsa from the Lonely Planet and I fell in love with the intimate setting, the super staff and the easy access to Djema el Fna. Once you learn your way through the labryrinth, you appreciate the off the beaten track nature of this riad. I stayed in hotels and other riads all over Morocco during the 10 months and I found El Arsa to excel far and above others because of the kind and helpful staff. And, Simo can cook (he has culinary training)! I read one less complimentary review and must say that was a fluke. This is a jewel of a find.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank BeniMellal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2007

We went to Marrakech and wanted to stay in a riad. Following the "Lonely Planet Guide" we choose the "Villa el Arsa".
It is a pretty, clean riad in the Medina: when Simo opened the door we found a nice patio, with plants, flowers and an old pool, 4 rooms with bath, simple, but in very elegant moroccan style, a sunny confortable terrace for breakfast and relax; everywhere a peaceful and enjoyable atmosphere.
Simo, Ibrahim and the staff followed us friendly and kindly. They also cooked for us two unforgettable dinners: delicious food, with music, fresh flowers,candlelight and the stars in the deep blue sky over our heads.
We will go back again and we hope other people could enjoy our pleasant experience.

Antonietta e Carlo Vitale
Margherita e Mario Marchetto

  • Liked — a beautiful atmosphere, clean rooms, very kind owners
  • Disliked — nothing in particular
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CarloVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#1 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#8 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
5.7 mi away
Manzil la Tortue
Manzil la Tortue
#1 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Villa El Arsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa El Arsa

Property: Riad Villa El Arsa
Address: 18 Derb El Arsa | Kennaria, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Medina of Marrakech, with easy access, 5 minutes' walk to Jemaa el Fna and other mythical places of Marrakech.Villa El Arsa is an oasis in the midst of excitement and wares of magical red town.Fabrice et Noel welcome you in this bed and breakfast with five rooms,accommodating up to 11 people (4 double bedrooms, one with fireplace and 1 triple room, bathrooms tadelakt). Official Guest House n°239/2004 - Travel in security! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Villa El Arsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing