We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Don't look furthermore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Maipa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Maipa
Ranked #264 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't look furthermore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2009

If you are planning to go to Marrakech, to stay in the medina and it is within your budget this is the riad to stay at!
I had a bad time choosing the perfect riad before going to Marrakech as there are so many options.
Our needs: (being the first 3 points 80% of the deal)
Easy to find- check
Stylish and traditional- check
near to Jemma El Fna square (if you can call the place a square) - check
nice hotel reviews- check
good value for money within our budget- check
nice F&B hotel reviews- check
managed by Europeans- check

We booked directly with the riad and the owner Eric cleared out all the points since the beginning of the e-mail correspondence.

The transfer was organized by Eric and we were welcomed by a nice driver in the airport on a Toyota Land Cruiser, which was a must compared with many other transfer vehicles I saw at the airport.

As soon as we arrived in Jemaa El Fna square the driver carried our bags to another guy with a small handcar, which is the perfect and best way to move around with luggage, not because of the walking distance, but mainly because all roads inside the medina are very irregular.

The location was superb!!! Very easy to find and at the same time very localish and a little bit away (200 mts?) from all the bustle of Jemaa El Fna!! We think that was the coolest street we were while in the medina! Directly in to Jemaa el Fna, not so many tourist shops as in the souks but instead many shops and street markets where the locals shop and eat daily. so further more authentic from what you get in other parts of the medina and around Jemma el Fna. Marrakech despite being a very safe place, outside tourists pop out clearly from the crowd. Somehow on the riad main street I felt like a local even in the first day.

We were welcomed by Corinne and Eric with a wonderfull tasty mint tea. While Corinne was the host and showed us the riad and functionings, Eric gave us a very usefull tutorial of what to expect and to do while in Marrakech. He answered pretty wisely all of our questions.

The riad was very well decorated being a mixture of arabic and bebere elements with a small touch of the European owners. The management was also very well and things were pretty tidy and very clean.

We took the Chibi suite and it was fantastic and as good as we imagined it before being there. I also checked/sneaked in 2 or 3 of the other rooms and they were very nice too.

The Riad's jacuzzi is also a must, specially because it is complimentary and that's the best and cheapest treatment you can have after wondering around in the city!

We had dinner there one night and it was a fabulous experience. Besides being the dinner itself delicious, the wine had a very good value (we had rosé),Be sure you don't miss at least a dinner there!

Breakfast was also delicious, made of bio products. You can have yours the time you want/wake up! Fresh orange juice and coffee made when you seat in for breakfast!

The staff was also very well trainned, kind, helpfull and very professional according to western standards. The staff understands all your wishes both in French and English language.

On the last day we had to wake up 06h30 and breakfast was prepared at the time we asked them the night before. Same with the transfer.

If we decide to go back we will have 99% less work as we already know where to stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortugalTraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    16
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
64
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Riad Maipa. We were collected from the airport by taxi and welcomed by Eric with a delicious mint tea. Eric showed us around the riad and gave us lots of info regarding Marrakech. I would recommend this riad because it's clean and spacious and is in an excellent location. Eric and all the staff looked after us very well. I would recommend arranging to be picked up from the airport as the Marrakech is a maze of little streets and it's very easy to get lost.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuJuCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2009

A short distance from the tumultuous hassle of the place Jemaa El Fna, the riad Maïpa is like an oasis of calm and beauty. Thank you Corinne and Eric for your warm welcome and please convey my gratitude to your employees for their attention and help. I had a wonderful time and hope to be back soon.
Nelly Furman
New York

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

Our first time in Marrakech, went with another couple. Wanted to stay in a small Riad near the Square - Riad Maipa was lovely. A real Oasis off a crowded busy street (like most of Marrakech). We can only think the reasonable price must be because of the slightly run down area leading up to it. But don't be put off ! The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us - our evening meal complete with wine, was great and served to us all on our own in the luxury of the fountain court yard (we felt very exclusive & spoiled!) Eric was very helpful about where to go and more important how much to pay! This Riad deserves to be given a higher star value and it really was only 5 minutes walk to the Square. (Our only reason for not giving 'excellent ' was that we didn't get the rooms we reserved via Maroc Emotions but one couple did get upgraded to the roof top suite.) By the way, book direct with the Riad. They also arranged the taxi to & from Airport so no hassle. Thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Liked — The personal service and smallness of it
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TrippersHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

Stayed 6 days in July 2008. Picked up at the Airport by Riads brand new Nissan 4 x 4. Then our luggage was transfered through the crowded streets of the old town by a man with a large handcart. We were unprepared for the press of humanity. We fringed the main square, up a side street then 20 yards down an even narrower street ,by then feeling anxious.The Riad's door was opened and we entered a beautiful tranquil world, a complete contrast to the street just outside. The riad is simply beautiful, built round a central courtyard and fountain. The staff were attentive but not intrusive. We ate in the Riad for breakfast and twice for dinner - the food was excellent. The owner Eric and his wife appeared periodically and were always very helpful with advice on for example places to eat, visit and on shopping.
As the Riad was relatively quiet we were upgraded (free of charge) to a suite. It was very hot outside but the suite's air conditioning was effective. In the heat of the afternoon, 42 centigrade one day the roof top plunge pool jacuzzi was excellent.
Highly recommended overall

  • Liked — The location, the tranquil beauty of the Riad in contrast to the to the hot crowded world outside
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuggieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2008

After suffering problems with both Expedia & Lastminute.com, my wife & I (both early 30s) decided to give the package operators a miss and book directly with a hotel. We chose the Riad Maipa after reading reviews on this site, and then contacted Eric directly by phone (his English was rather better than my French).

Everything went very smoothly: the reservation was very easily arranged with a small deposit, and Eric arranged transport from the airport with his driver. Entering Marrakech from the airport and then walking down the narrow streets to the entrance, my heart sank as we saw the scruffy alleyway and the door into the Riad; but appearances can be deceiving, and upon stepping through the doorway, we were greeted with the wonderful, clean tranquility of the Riad itself. The room was fantastic, and Eric and the other staff went out of their way to be helpful.

However, my reason for not awarding this 5 stars is the noise. Although we were more or less the only guests staying in the Riad, it was often quite noisy, with the maids chattering as they breakfasted around 5 or 6am, and the phone ringing from about the same time every day. Fine if you are a very early riser, but otherwise quite annoying. I resorted to ear plugs on more than one occasion. However, my overall impression was good, and I would go back there.

Concerning Marrakech itself, look out for two things: Firstly, the pickpockets. Both my wife & I found foreign fingers in our pockets at least once - surprisingly, each time they were not small children but old women in traditional veils, who appeared the image of propriety. Secondly, beware locals offering you helpful directions: although the souks and old town are confusing, I found getting lost to be less irritating than 'helpful' locals who offered to escort you somewhere and then demanded payment for their services. On one occasion, despite my saying that I was not going to pay for a guide, a young man took it upon himself to accompany me around town, giving a running commentary, and then getting very cross indeed when I would not pay him for this, which left a very sour taste in the mouth. Be firm, and just tell them to sod off.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed here, on the top floor, for a week in mid March 2008. Possibly too long for a small place like Marrakech, but very enjoyable. The Riad was good - nothing exceptional but friendly and helpful. All seemed clean, the food when we ate in seemed authentic, more so than the big restaurants. But food is not Moroccos strong point. The atmosphere in the Square, late at night, was incredible, as was the short walk up to it. This Riad is well placed, comfortable and well run. It was what we wanted.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Duxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Dar Silsila
Dar Silsila
#237 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#224 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#157 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#89 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#160 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#43 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Maipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maipa

Property: Riad Maipa
Address: 5, derb Jdid- Derb Dabbachi | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#122 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Maipa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Maipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Maipa Marrakech
Riad Maipa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing