We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely Riad - I definitely recommend it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Maipa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Maipa to your Saves list
Riad Maipa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5, derb Jdid- Derb Dabbachi | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Cumbria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad - I definitely recommend it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Riad Maipa. We were collected from the airport by taxi and welcomed by Eric with a delicious mint tea. Eric showed us around the riad and gave us lots of info regarding Marrakech. I would recommend this riad because it's clean and spacious and is in an excellent location. Eric and all the staff looked after us very well. I would recommend arranging to be picked up from the airport as the Marrakech is a maze of little streets and it's very easy to get lost.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuJuCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    16
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
62
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

A short distance from the tumultuous hassle of the place Jemaa El Fna, the riad Maïpa is like an oasis of calm and beauty. Thank you Corinne and Eric for your warm welcome and please convey my gratitude to your employees for their attention and help. I had a wonderful time and hope to be back soon.
Nelly Furman
New York

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

Our first time in Marrakech, went with another couple. Wanted to stay in a small Riad near the Square - Riad Maipa was lovely. A real Oasis off a crowded busy street (like most of Marrakech). We can only think the reasonable price must be because of the slightly run down area leading up to it. But don't be put off ! The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us - our evening meal complete with wine, was great and served to us all on our own in the luxury of the fountain court yard (we felt very exclusive & spoiled!) Eric was very helpful about where to go and more important how much to pay! This Riad deserves to be given a higher star value and it really was only 5 minutes walk to the Square. (Our only reason for not giving 'excellent ' was that we didn't get the rooms we reserved via Maroc Emotions but one couple did get upgraded to the roof top suite.) By the way, book direct with the Riad. They also arranged the taxi to & from Airport so no hassle. Thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Liked — The personal service and smallness of it
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TrippersHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Stayed 6 days in July 2008. Picked up at the Airport by Riads brand new Nissan 4 x 4. Then our luggage was transfered through the crowded streets of the old town by a man with a large handcart. We were unprepared for the press of humanity. We fringed the main square, up a side street then 20 yards down an even narrower street ,by then feeling anxious.The Riad's door was opened and we entered a beautiful tranquil world, a complete contrast to the street just outside. The riad is simply beautiful, built round a central courtyard and fountain. The staff were attentive but not intrusive. We ate in the Riad for breakfast and twice for dinner - the food was excellent. The owner Eric and his wife appeared periodically and were always very helpful with advice on for example places to eat, visit and on shopping.
As the Riad was relatively quiet we were upgraded (free of charge) to a suite. It was very hot outside but the suite's air conditioning was effective. In the heat of the afternoon, 42 centigrade one day the roof top plunge pool jacuzzi was excellent.
Highly recommended overall

  • Liked — The location, the tranquil beauty of the Riad in contrast to the to the hot crowded world outside
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuggieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

After suffering problems with both Expedia & Lastminute.com, my wife & I (both early 30s) decided to give the package operators a miss and book directly with a hotel. We chose the Riad Maipa after reading reviews on this site, and then contacted Eric directly by phone (his English was rather better than my French).

Everything went very smoothly: the reservation was very easily arranged with a small deposit, and Eric arranged transport from the airport with his driver. Entering Marrakech from the airport and then walking down the narrow streets to the entrance, my heart sank as we saw the scruffy alleyway and the door into the Riad; but appearances can be deceiving, and upon stepping through the doorway, we were greeted with the wonderful, clean tranquility of the Riad itself. The room was fantastic, and Eric and the other staff went out of their way to be helpful.

However, my reason for not awarding this 5 stars is the noise. Although we were more or less the only guests staying in the Riad, it was often quite noisy, with the maids chattering as they breakfasted around 5 or 6am, and the phone ringing from about the same time every day. Fine if you are a very early riser, but otherwise quite annoying. I resorted to ear plugs on more than one occasion. However, my overall impression was good, and I would go back there.

Concerning Marrakech itself, look out for two things: Firstly, the pickpockets. Both my wife & I found foreign fingers in our pockets at least once - surprisingly, each time they were not small children but old women in traditional veils, who appeared the image of propriety. Secondly, beware locals offering you helpful directions: although the souks and old town are confusing, I found getting lost to be less irritating than 'helpful' locals who offered to escort you somewhere and then demanded payment for their services. On one occasion, despite my saying that I was not going to pay for a guide, a young man took it upon himself to accompany me around town, giving a running commentary, and then getting very cross indeed when I would not pay him for this, which left a very sour taste in the mouth. Be firm, and just tell them to sod off.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed here, on the top floor, for a week in mid March 2008. Possibly too long for a small place like Marrakech, but very enjoyable. The Riad was good - nothing exceptional but friendly and helpful. All seemed clean, the food when we ate in seemed authentic, more so than the big restaurants. But food is not Moroccos strong point. The atmosphere in the Square, late at night, was incredible, as was the short walk up to it. This Riad is well placed, comfortable and well run. It was what we wanted.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Duxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

Excellent Riad, rooms very comfortable with large ensuite shower. Owners and all staff very helpful. We had two excellent meals in the Riad and also tried two local restaurants. Breakfasts consisted of fruit juice, yoghurt and over the days we had pancakes, croissants and bread.
Good location as you are in walking distance of the main square and the souks. Plus walking distance to the open top bus and horse draw carriage rides. Difficult to fit in both tours on the open top bus unless you start off very early in the day. We were met by the hotel from the airport but it is possible to get a bus a number L19 all go to the Jemaa el Fna and this is 20 dirhams single.
Staying in this area of Marrakech you get a very different feel to staying in Gueliz. Do wander off the tourist trail, we did and you get a much better feel for how the people really live.
We did the trip,booked via the hotel to the Urilka valley, it may have been more expensive than a local taxi but we were happy with the service.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank North_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Zagouda
Riad Zagouda
#330 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#28 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Hidden
Riad Hidden
#315 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Medina Loft
Medina Loft
#385 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Oasissime
Riad Oasissime
#218 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Carllian
Riad Carllian
#221 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Maipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maipa

Property: Riad Maipa
Address: 5, derb Jdid- Derb Dabbachi | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#122 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Maipa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Maipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Maipa Marrakech
Riad Maipa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing