We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Maipa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Maipa
Ranked #252 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

Our first time in Marrakech, went with another couple. Wanted to stay in a small Riad near the Square - Riad Maipa was lovely. A real Oasis off a crowded busy street (like most of Marrakech). We can only think the reasonable price must be because of the slightly run down area leading up to it. But don't be put off ! The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us - our evening meal complete with wine, was great and served to us all on our own in the luxury of the fountain court yard (we felt very exclusive & spoiled!) Eric was very helpful about where to go and more important how much to pay! This Riad deserves to be given a higher star value and it really was only 5 minutes walk to the Square. (Our only reason for not giving 'excellent ' was that we didn't get the rooms we reserved via Maroc Emotions but one couple did get upgraded to the roof top suite.) By the way, book direct with the Riad. They also arranged the taxi to & from Airport so no hassle. Thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Liked — The personal service and smallness of it
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TrippersHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    16
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
63
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Stayed 6 days in July 2008. Picked up at the Airport by Riads brand new Nissan 4 x 4. Then our luggage was transfered through the crowded streets of the old town by a man with a large handcart. We were unprepared for the press of humanity. We fringed the main square, up a side street then 20 yards down an even narrower street ,by then feeling anxious.The Riad's door was opened and we entered a beautiful tranquil world, a complete contrast to the street just outside. The riad is simply beautiful, built round a central courtyard and fountain. The staff were attentive but not intrusive. We ate in the Riad for breakfast and twice for dinner - the food was excellent. The owner Eric and his wife appeared periodically and were always very helpful with advice on for example places to eat, visit and on shopping.
As the Riad was relatively quiet we were upgraded (free of charge) to a suite. It was very hot outside but the suite's air conditioning was effective. In the heat of the afternoon, 42 centigrade one day the roof top plunge pool jacuzzi was excellent.
Highly recommended overall

  • Liked — The location, the tranquil beauty of the Riad in contrast to the to the hot crowded world outside
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuggieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

After suffering problems with both Expedia & Lastminute.com, my wife & I (both early 30s) decided to give the package operators a miss and book directly with a hotel. We chose the Riad Maipa after reading reviews on this site, and then contacted Eric directly by phone (his English was rather better than my French).

Everything went very smoothly: the reservation was very easily arranged with a small deposit, and Eric arranged transport from the airport with his driver. Entering Marrakech from the airport and then walking down the narrow streets to the entrance, my heart sank as we saw the scruffy alleyway and the door into the Riad; but appearances can be deceiving, and upon stepping through the doorway, we were greeted with the wonderful, clean tranquility of the Riad itself. The room was fantastic, and Eric and the other staff went out of their way to be helpful.

However, my reason for not awarding this 5 stars is the noise. Although we were more or less the only guests staying in the Riad, it was often quite noisy, with the maids chattering as they breakfasted around 5 or 6am, and the phone ringing from about the same time every day. Fine if you are a very early riser, but otherwise quite annoying. I resorted to ear plugs on more than one occasion. However, my overall impression was good, and I would go back there.

Concerning Marrakech itself, look out for two things: Firstly, the pickpockets. Both my wife & I found foreign fingers in our pockets at least once - surprisingly, each time they were not small children but old women in traditional veils, who appeared the image of propriety. Secondly, beware locals offering you helpful directions: although the souks and old town are confusing, I found getting lost to be less irritating than 'helpful' locals who offered to escort you somewhere and then demanded payment for their services. On one occasion, despite my saying that I was not going to pay for a guide, a young man took it upon himself to accompany me around town, giving a running commentary, and then getting very cross indeed when I would not pay him for this, which left a very sour taste in the mouth. Be firm, and just tell them to sod off.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed here, on the top floor, for a week in mid March 2008. Possibly too long for a small place like Marrakech, but very enjoyable. The Riad was good - nothing exceptional but friendly and helpful. All seemed clean, the food when we ate in seemed authentic, more so than the big restaurants. But food is not Moroccos strong point. The atmosphere in the Square, late at night, was incredible, as was the short walk up to it. This Riad is well placed, comfortable and well run. It was what we wanted.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Duxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

Excellent Riad, rooms very comfortable with large ensuite shower. Owners and all staff very helpful. We had two excellent meals in the Riad and also tried two local restaurants. Breakfasts consisted of fruit juice, yoghurt and over the days we had pancakes, croissants and bread.
Good location as you are in walking distance of the main square and the souks. Plus walking distance to the open top bus and horse draw carriage rides. Difficult to fit in both tours on the open top bus unless you start off very early in the day. We were met by the hotel from the airport but it is possible to get a bus a number L19 all go to the Jemaa el Fna and this is 20 dirhams single.
Staying in this area of Marrakech you get a very different feel to staying in Gueliz. Do wander off the tourist trail, we did and you get a much better feel for how the people really live.
We did the trip,booked via the hotel to the Urilka valley, it may have been more expensive than a local taxi but we were happy with the service.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank North_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

Just got back yesterday from a 5 night stay in this riad. really quite hard to find, so we employed a couple of young lads to find it for us - so long as your luggage has wheels it's not a problem at all walking there as it is very close to all the action. We don't speak much french but Eric and corine were very helpful. Would probably not go with their trips as you can get to the atlas mountains for less in a grand taxi if you haggle yourself and you can get a great hammam and couples massage at the isis riad a minute's walk away - however, if you aren't confident sorting these things out yourself, then it's probably worth the extra money you pay for them to organise it yourself. After days in "dry" Fes, we were v pleased to find wine in the riad - great on the terrace. Unfortunately, the jacuzzi wasn't working whilst there, but not a big problem. We found the room too warm, and the a/c gave us sniffles. The riad DO accept credit cards, but they charge an extra 5% on top. Not a lot really. We got breakfast on the day of departure, no problem at all, so perhaps Februrary traveller just very unlucky. Again, breakfast ok, not exceptional, but we also really liked the yoghurt!
A real tranquil place and they're happy to make meal reservations for you. great service.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

We stayed here having booked a last minute trip. It was with some trepidation that we were taken down a series of ever narrowing roads in the heart of the medina. Arriving at the Riad we were delighted to find a tranquil and beautiful retreat. The owners Eric and Corrine could not have been more helpful and charming. They took the time to explain the best way to enjoy Marrakech and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. My only regret is that we only had three days there. The rooms were sumptuous and comfortable and each individually decorated with the most fantastic attention to detail.

I would thoroughly recommend this as a delightful place to stay and would definitely return to this Riad.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank Lulu1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#98 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#101 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#270 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
6.8 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
0.7 mi away
Riad Yasmine
Riad Yasmine
#107 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Maipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maipa

Property: Riad Maipa
Address: 5, derb Jdid- Derb Dabbachi | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#122 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Maipa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Maipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Maipa Marrakech
Riad Maipa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing