We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull decor, good location, but little hot water.”
Review of Riad Maipa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Maipa
Ranked #274 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a very nice experince. We stayed several nights and found it a beautifull decorated Riad, well established and a very friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent with good choise of food. Rooms very nice, but the shower was close to not working, very litte water and not enough hot water. 5 rooms and French owned. Location very central,

Will in spite of this recommend it for future stay. If you book it, call the owner directly and get a good price. We were picked up by a taxi at the train station and guided to the hotel, all organised by Mr. Eric, the owner. Will definit come back when in town. A positive experience.

Room Tip: Book direct with the owner who gives a good service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 118 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed with 4 other friends at this place for two nights in March, 2012. You'd never know a place like this exists in the middle of the chaotic area of the Marrakech marketplace. Even more surprisingly there was no outside noise, it was very quiet. The receptionist greeted us with a smile. He even cooked us a 'tagine' meal since there were only 6 rooms I recall and we had booked 4 of them. He also gave us directions and advised where to go and what to see in the city. I must say it's more of a romantic place to stay with a companion, not a place if you're looking for some partying. Getting back to it late at night after a night of dancing at a club is not the easiest because taxi's can't enter the market place and you'd get lost in between the pathways of Marrakech. Nonetheless it is a quiet, relaxing little oasis.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bashar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

There's a saying to the effect that while the souk is pergatory, the riad is paradise.

We stayed four days at Raid Maipa this past July. It's a short walk from the main square, down a cobble-stone street lined with small shops. The street vibrates with locals, tourists, bicyclists, moped riders and the occasional cart - all in constant motion. After making a right onto a narrower and quieter street you enter a hallway and come to the riad.

The rooms surround a central courtyard, open to the heavens, anchored by a fountain and banana and orange trees. The five bedrooms can accomodate a total of 15 people, I believe. They are immaculate, comfortable and quiet. We opted to have breakfast and dinner there (and two lunches) and were never disappointed. The third floor has one bedroom, lounge chairs and a jaccuzzi with blissfully cool water. A stair leads to a small fourth floor that affords views over the city. Inside the riad you find peace.

The owner and the staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful. The owner, Eric, will help orient you to Marrakech and can suggest various day trips. One day we visited a city on the Atlantic coast, Essaouria, and on the other we went into the Atlas Mountains.

Raid Maipa was terrific. It was hard to leave paradise.

Room Tip: All the rooms have air conditioning. Still, in summer, when Marrakech is hot, the rooms on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed in Riad Maipa 2 nights in March.
It is a great Riad located 5 min walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa square.
Within only 5 minutes you can dissapear from the crowd and find your peace in Riad Maipa.
Everything was top class.
The atmosfear in this Riad is wonderful.
Eric the host gave us a good map of the city and also some usefull tips.
A must in Riad Maipa :
1) Have a bath in the evening in a jacuzzi located at the roof !
2) Have your breakfast at the roof tarrace
3) They made great Lamb tangine. It is delicious !

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meczek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at this wonderfully decorated riad. The Riad was very conveniently located - 4-5 min walk from the square but is very quiet once inside. Lovely mint tea was served before we were ushered to the room. Stayed in the Khahui room on the 2nd floor - Loved the room and the shower booth. Breakfast is simple (maybe much simpler than other riads that we had stayed) but we too savored the homemade yogurt. As Eric was down with a terrible flu, his daughter came in to give us a map and helpful tips on the 2nd day. We arranged a car of the Riad to go to Essaouira for a day on the 3rd day. Was scheduled to depart at 8 from the riad so we went down at 740 in the hope to eat breakfast -- A night manager was still asleep and insisted that the breakfast would not be served only after 8 am. We decided just to kill time in the lovely cortyard and somehow he managed to give us breakfast. We were previously informed that he would bring us to the Square but he also said that we was not informed. We went to the Square and immediately found our driver. The car was comfortable, but has strong smell of cigarette smoke (just as much as the reception area of the Riad as Eric and the duty manager also smokes heavily). My poor husband who is rather sensitive to that odor had to endure 3 hour long drive with blocked nose and teary eyes. This may have contributed, however, to our greater appreciation of fresh air in Essaouria. We did our check-in on our last night (when a day manager brought us a paper to fill) and received no receipt for our payment. Have to say that it was rather amusing to see Eric scribbling down breakdowns of our payment with a pencil and used calculator in front of the desktop computer. Our glasses in the room were never cleaned and the bath-towels felt really rough. Shower gel was never refilled and I had to go down to ask. (When a manager opened the cupboard where they keep toiletries and bath towels, I had an urge to ask why in the world they have been giving us old towels that have some stains from iron wroth made hangers. The towels in the cupboard looked rather new and fluffy.) Indeed I started, but gave up in the middle as he does not speak much of English.) On the day of our departure at 7 am, a night duty manager was yet again asleep. Of course there was no breakfast, but it was okay as I read on previous reviews. Together with another couple we headed out to the Square (after I made sure a night duty manager called up a driver just to confirm), but the driver was nowhere to be found. He showed up nearly 15 min late when we were almost ready to take a cab. All in all, I loved the décor and location of this Riad, but operational improvement is much to be desired.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bohemian2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great location, really quiet and great food!!! I recommend having dinner in the riad it is delicious!!

Eric is a very welcoming host and do ask him for ideas as he really does know his city!!!

Ps get the transfer to the riad from the airport as you will never find it on your own

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnabyjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Riad Maipa for 3 nights in Feb 2011, and were delighted by what we found. The location is great - very close to the main square, and it was a real escape from the outside world. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the tips from the owner, Eric, on things to see, correct prices etc were very useful. The riad itself is very pretty, especially at night when the candles and laterns are all lit! We throughly enjoyed our trip to Marrakech and our stay at Riad Maipa, and will be returning again one day!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#130 of 502 in Marrakech
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 502 in Marrakech
890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#65 of 502 in Marrakech
550 reviews
1.9 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#144 of 502 in Marrakech
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#176 of 502 in Marrakech
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Maipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maipa

Address: 5, derb Jdid-Derb Dabbachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $82 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Maipa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Maipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Maipa Marrakech
Riad Maipa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing