We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good with no grumbles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Maipa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Maipa
Ranked #264 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good with no grumbles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed here, on the top floor, for a week in mid March 2008. Possibly too long for a small place like Marrakech, but very enjoyable. The Riad was good - nothing exceptional but friendly and helpful. All seemed clean, the food when we ate in seemed authentic, more so than the big restaurants. But food is not Moroccos strong point. The atmosphere in the Square, late at night, was incredible, as was the short walk up to it. This Riad is well placed, comfortable and well run. It was what we wanted.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Duxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    16
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
64
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mudford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

Excellent Riad, rooms very comfortable with large ensuite shower. Owners and all staff very helpful. We had two excellent meals in the Riad and also tried two local restaurants. Breakfasts consisted of fruit juice, yoghurt and over the days we had pancakes, croissants and bread.
Good location as you are in walking distance of the main square and the souks. Plus walking distance to the open top bus and horse draw carriage rides. Difficult to fit in both tours on the open top bus unless you start off very early in the day. We were met by the hotel from the airport but it is possible to get a bus a number L19 all go to the Jemaa el Fna and this is 20 dirhams single.
Staying in this area of Marrakech you get a very different feel to staying in Gueliz. Do wander off the tourist trail, we did and you get a much better feel for how the people really live.
We did the trip,booked via the hotel to the Urilka valley, it may have been more expensive than a local taxi but we were happy with the service.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank North_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

Just got back yesterday from a 5 night stay in this riad. really quite hard to find, so we employed a couple of young lads to find it for us - so long as your luggage has wheels it's not a problem at all walking there as it is very close to all the action. We don't speak much french but Eric and corine were very helpful. Would probably not go with their trips as you can get to the atlas mountains for less in a grand taxi if you haggle yourself and you can get a great hammam and couples massage at the isis riad a minute's walk away - however, if you aren't confident sorting these things out yourself, then it's probably worth the extra money you pay for them to organise it yourself. After days in "dry" Fes, we were v pleased to find wine in the riad - great on the terrace. Unfortunately, the jacuzzi wasn't working whilst there, but not a big problem. We found the room too warm, and the a/c gave us sniffles. The riad DO accept credit cards, but they charge an extra 5% on top. Not a lot really. We got breakfast on the day of departure, no problem at all, so perhaps Februrary traveller just very unlucky. Again, breakfast ok, not exceptional, but we also really liked the yoghurt!
A real tranquil place and they're happy to make meal reservations for you. great service.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyloo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

We stayed here having booked a last minute trip. It was with some trepidation that we were taken down a series of ever narrowing roads in the heart of the medina. Arriving at the Riad we were delighted to find a tranquil and beautiful retreat. The owners Eric and Corrine could not have been more helpful and charming. They took the time to explain the best way to enjoy Marrakech and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. My only regret is that we only had three days there. The rooms were sumptuous and comfortable and each individually decorated with the most fantastic attention to detail.

I would thoroughly recommend this as a delightful place to stay and would definitely return to this Riad.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank Lulu1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

good location, rooms ok, clean riad,but having stayed in other riads in morroco i found it only average.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wirraltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabar, Nigeria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2008

Booked through Maroc Emotions, big mistake. Got ripped off by both the Riad and Maroc Emotions and left out of pocket. This is a beautiful Riad in a very good location. Easy to find and lots of lovely shops around. The room was beautiful and cleaned daily, and the food was delicious and fresh. Sadly on the last night, found the kitchen dirty with ants and lots of left over food - only night staff around. Had to leave for the airport at 8.30 and breakfast was not ready. Got charged twice for the airport transfer and had to carry my bags to the square to find the car - no escort or help with the bags. Take cash with you as I discovered the night before that the Riad does not accept card payments, very strange, so had to use the cash machine. Had planned to visit the Riad again but sadly, the experience has been marred by these problems.

You can avoid this if you
1. Book direct with the Riad
2. Organise your own airport transfer - lots of taxis @ airport.
3. Take enough cash to pay for your stay
4. Do not expect breakfast on your day of depature
5. Have one light piece of luggage.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

This is a great Riad, with very friendly owners that will make all efforts possible to make you feel comfortable. Follow their advice! I stayed in a suite in the first floor, with a walk in double shower that was very good. The suite was spacious as was the bathroom. The bathroom is only separated by a curtain, so if you need intimacy beware that while in the bathroom everything can be heard from the room.
The breakfast was OK (not incredible, but OK... loved the home made yoghurt).
It is literally 2 minute walk from the main square.
We booked the car service which was 30 euros (although a bit expensive, i reccommend it, especially when arriving)

  • Liked — it's silence and peace sensation. the location
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Dar Silsila
Dar Silsila
#237 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#224 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#157 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#89 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#160 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#43 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Maipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Maipa

Property: Riad Maipa
Address: 5, derb Jdid- Derb Dabbachi | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#122 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Maipa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Maipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Maipa Marrakech
Riad Maipa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing