We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful, Peaceful Riad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad et Dar Maison Do
Ranked #458 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We stayed here for three nights in April 2007. The Maison Do is an excellent Riad in terms of cleanliness, price, decor, comfort and friendly staff.

The reception and dining areas are inviting. Our room was beautifully decorated with a very comfy bed, good quality linen, furnishings and an attractive bathroom with a huge shower. The Riad is very tranquil and the staff will do all they can to make you feel at home.

From the rooftop terrace - where you can take breakfast - you can listen to the sounds of the medina and in the evening hear the drums and music from djema al fna. Breakfast is superb - freshly cooked eggs and breads as well as orange juice, coffee/tea and a wide selection of jams and preserves. We ate one evening meal in the Riad (book and select your choices the day before) and it was one of the best meals we had in Morocco - we wish we had eaten on other evenings too.

The Riad is located in the medina - about 10 -15 minutes walk from djema al fna. It is not difficult to find with the help of a taxi driver - there is a small residential square nearby where a driver will navigate to and local children will walk you to the door of the Maison Do for a few dirham - be careful not to tip the equivalent of a month's wages though! We had no problems navigating our way to and from riad after the first night and again people are happy to help.

On our second night the electricity in the medina went out for a couple of hours and the staff immediately lit the Riad with candles and lanterns and checked all guests were ok. We would not hesitate to recommend the Maison Do as a good value, beautiful Riad in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guardian_dame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 195 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2008

My Aunt booked a three night stay in Maison Do for myself, my brother and our father for his 60th Birthday celebrations.

Luckily our taxi driver went as close to the Riad as possible, and our cases were carried to the front door - for a small tip - by a group of young boys playing in the street!

Even the front door to the Riad is gorgeous- and stepping inside you are instantly transported to a cool, quiet sanctuary. The staff speak limited English but this was never a problem - the chefs serve a lovely mint tea on arrival, and we were shown to our rooms and around the Riad.

We booked the Jardin Do (twin), and two other rooms (one of which was the only room on the top floor and I can highly recommend this for a romantic occasion). The rooms were each indivdually decorated - and of a ver high standard, very clean too. The bathrooms are fantastic!

Breaksfast is simple but superb, a different pastry or pancake everyday, fresh jams, and served whenever or wherever you like. More than anything I would reccommend you eat dinner at least once in the Riad. It is a very homely experience and made very special by the staff. We ate tagine of beef with apricots and walnuts - which was fantastic!

It is difficult to find alcohol inside the medina so I'd suggest a trip to the supermarket in the new city. You can bring a bottle of wine back to the riad and the staff will be happy for you to drink it with your meal.

Hats off to Ali, Mohmmed and everyoe else at Maison Do - you made my fathers 60th an unforgettable one!

PS - Highy recommend booking a trip to waterfalls through Mohammed - you go by private car with a personal guide which is much better than the mass coach tours.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank LexLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

At first it is very difficult to find - we arrived at night and the taxi driver didn't help us very much. After a couple of turns we arrive at the door of the Riad.

It is a beautiful, well mantained Riad. The people who work there were friendly and helpful with comments regarding the city.

The breakfast at the roof terrace is gorgeous and very good also.

The room was spacious, very elegant and had and excellent decoration. It was great that each room has air conditioned since it was terribly hot. The bathroom was gorgeous, it had a bathtube and was perfectly clean.

The only thing that I recommend if you stay in the Medina is that you should have some help the first time you arrived. After that you can manage and in the worst case, get lost in the strangely beautiful Marrakech Medina.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cramond07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

This is a great place to stay. Although it seems difficult to find at first it is actually in a fantastic location and close to the souks and the Djeema Del Fna. The rooms are lovely, clean with fantastic bathrooms. Breakfast is pretty standard for Morocco food, very bread based. Overall would recommend this as somewhere to stay , close to the all the action but is somewhere to chill out as well

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank roscoe2007Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

My fiancee and I ended up here accidentally, and wound up staying 6 lovely nights. We loved it and felt very much at home. This Riad is truly a refuge from the utter chaos of the Marrakech Medina.

After booking another Riad at short notice on [--], I called the Riad to confirm the booking and arrange for airport transfer since we would arrive late at night. Despite the information on the web, the Riad I had booked was already full. Maison Do was available through the same booking agent however. They quoted me a price of E75 which was a few Euros more than the Riad I had online, but by the time we arrived it was down to E57 since they had a "special" on...a very pleasant surprise.

Airport transfer seemed a bit much at E18, but trying to find any place in the Medina near midnight would have been difficult to impossible, especially with bags. So for us it was well worth having someone waiting for us with our name on a sign. The driver was very friendly and helpful, and got us within 10m of the Riad. Be warned if arriving during the day, it's not possible to get within 200m by car, so there will be some walking.

The Riad is lovely, with six single/double rooms and one suite which takes up the whole second floor. There is also a gorgeous roof deck where we spent a lot time reading, watching the sun set over the Medina, and listening to the Muezzin calls. A basic but good continental breakfast (bread, pancakes, jam, coffee/tea, and juice) is included, and will be served with a smile wherever and whenever you like...a very nice touch. The rooms are of a good size and have great character. Bed is comfy. Shower is strong and hot.

On the downside, it's a hectic 10-15 minute walk through the Medina to Djamaa el Fna. Not difficult, but a lot of moped/horse cart/bicylce dodging. It can be very busy and you ARE a big target for thieves (we had a bag slashed in a crowd one night, but fortunately the contents stayed inside). The water pressure and temperature vary a little in the shower, the drain was a bit slow, and sounds do carry well throughout the tiled room/building. Fortunately though, we were the only ones there a lot of the time so there was no sound to carry.

All of this however is overcome by the wonderful staff. Nora at the booking agent was fantastic and happy to take calls and offer help throughout our stay. Jawad, who runs the Riad, is a gem. His English is much better than he thinks (and better than our French) and he made us feel so very much at home. The rest of the day staff were equally lovely, and ran through a load of laundry for us for a pittance. I can't say enough about them.

If you're thinking about a Riad in the Marrakech Medina, consider La Maison Do highly. They even have a well-designed, multi-language web site with lots of info.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank knievel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: chacune a son style et son charme
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alain33311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 499 in Marrakech
2,109 reviews
2.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Club Palmeraie Marrakech
0.9 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#268 of 499 in Marrakech
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad et Dar Maison Do? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad et Dar Maison Do

Address: 1 et 21 derb Hajjama | Ben Salah Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $78 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad et Dar Maison Do 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Maison Do and Dar Maison Do, two traditional dwellings located in opposite in a derb of the médina of Marrakech, within the district Ben Salah, which kept all its authenticity. Easy access, it is an ideal starting point for the walk discovery of the historical heart of the city, the souks, and the place Jemaa El Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad et Dar Maison Do reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing