We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immerse Yourself in True Marrakech Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad et Dar Maison Do

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad et Dar Maison Do
Ranked #391 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Immerse Yourself in True Marrakech Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Marrakech is an assault on your every sense. The sound, the smells, the heat, the movement, the colour. It is a fascinating place, but one from which you need a haven. The Riad Maison Do, provides this - in the heart of the Medina. Once you step through the elaborately decorated door, you are in peaceful courtyard, so beautifully Moorish in style, yet a world away from the hectic souks.

The rooms on the ground floor are situated around a central courtyard, whilst on the upper stories they exit onto the balconies that look down through the natural atrium to the courtyard below. Brightly coloured tiles and intricate stone work decorate the columns floors and walls. The bedrooms, individually decorated with local textiles and cushions, make you feel like you are lost in another time and place. Yet you have all the modern comforts you need - including wifi and beautiful bathrooms.

Breakfast is served in the courtyard at the communal table. It gives you time to think about your day whilst meeting other visitors, all with their own tales to tell of Morocco and Marrakech. Breakfast is fresh fruit, locally baked breads and flat cakes, coffee and juices. Simple fresh food.

The staff are exceptional - nothing is too much trouble. The French proprietor Yollande is superb. Incredibly hospitable and full of knowledge of the city and of further afield. She shared with us the Riad's books and maps for our trek over the Atlas mountains and beyond. She also helped arranged local car hire at a much better rate than through the multi-nationals. Her recommendations made our unplanned trip so memorable.

Don't forget to end your day on the rooftop of the Riad. The views extend 360 degrees across the Medina and up to the Mountains. Seeing the crescent moon at dusk alongside the tower of the Il Koutoubia mosque is something I will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keripthomas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    44
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
77
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We spent three happy nights at Riad Maison Do in October and were delighted with the choice. It is an elegant retreat from the noise, dirt and chaos of the medina. It is also within easy walking distance to most of the sights and museums. Beautifully restored, the riad features exquisite mosaics, plaster work, elegant arches and a restful central courtyard. Our rooms were spacious, colorful, comfortable and well-appointed. The en suite bathroom had an excellent shower and everything was clean, attractive and well-maintained. The Dar, located across the street, had a wonderful pool on its roof deck, that was a welcome refuge after a hot day of touring.

Breakfasts on the roof featured fresh fruit, Moroccan breads, lovely jams and freshly squeezed orange juice. Yolande, the owner, was extremely knowledgeable about all things Marrakech, and outlined excellent touring plans for us in the mornings. She was also extremely accommodating, and graciously welcomed our daughter, who joined us at the last minute. The house manager, Ali, was also terrific. He was unobtrusive but ever-available--and no request was too trifling or unreasonable.

We had two very tasty dinners at the riad, cooked by the staff and served by Ali. We would happily return for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfromboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had a great stay at the Maison Do back in September, Marrakesh gets quite hot so it was nice to come back to the riad and relax in the rooftop pool. Our room was a great size and had all the amenities we needed to have an enjoyable stay, breakfasts were served at a time that you choose so you could start the day as early or late as you wanted.

The location of the riad is away from the main square but there are some lovely places to see in the vicinity such as the photography gallery, this wasn't listed on the other tourist maps. Highly recommend this Riad to anyone heading to Marrakesh, its a fantastic place to relax after a long day sightseeing!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nocharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We met the owners of Riad Maison Do through some mutual friends and stayed there towards the end of our trip. The Riad was stunning, big spacious rooms, comfortable beds and a 10 minute walk from the Jamal Al-Finah. After a hard day of walking through the souks, there is nothing better than coming back to Maison Do's swimming pool on the roof. With exceptionally friendly staff and hosts, I cannot suggest staying here highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daffy157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Maison Do was wonderful. Yolande made us comfortable, helped us with details like finding guides, and provided lovely breakfasts as well as dinner if we chose to eat at the riad. It was like an oasis in the very busy Marrakech medina. Our room was artfully designed for comfort with plenty of nooks and crannies to put things away, which is sometimes a rarity. It was cool when we were there, but the little pool on the roof looked inviting anyway. And then there was Ali - he picked us up at the train station, helped with everything we needed, and took us to the airport to pick up our rental car when we left. He insisted that we follow him as he led us out of town so we wouldn't get lost. And we would have without him. We probably won't be back to Marrakech, but if we are, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The Riad is French owned and run but the owners and main house manager Ali all speak english which helped my daughter and I enormously. Ali, the Mr Fixit really made our holiday he was helpful, curteous and had tremendous local knowledge. He is a real asset to the Riad. The plunge pool on the roof was great and the entire riad beautifully decorated. Marrakesh is an extremely busy place and the riad was somewhere to escape to

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed in Maison Do for three nights: one night in the Dar, two in the Riad because the Dar was fully booked then.They are very close to each other in a small quiet street, about 10 minutes walk from the Place Jemaa el-Fna.
We had a great stay! The owners are very welcoming and helpfull, explained us the city map and had suggestions for visiting Marrakech. They can arrange trips or transport if you 'd like to.
Both the Dar and the Riad are nicely decorated and give you very comfortable and clean rooms. De Dar offers a big extra: the pool on the roof is a great cool-off after a day in Marrakech souks!.
You get a great breakfast on the terrace, and you can order a dinner or drinks. The site gives a good idea of the accomodation, you can believe the pictures shown.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floorenniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#13 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#4 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Catalina
Dar Catalina
#165 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad et Dar Maison Do? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad et Dar Maison Do

Property: Riad et Dar Maison Do
Address: 1 et 21 derb Hajjama | Ben Salah Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad et Dar Maison Do 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Maison Do and Dar Maison Do, two traditional dwellings located in opposite in a derb of the médina of Marrakech, within the district Ben Salah, which kept all its authenticity. Easy access, it is an ideal starting point for the walk discovery of the historical heart of the city, the souks, and the place Jemaa El Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad et Dar Maison Do reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing