We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A feast for the eyes and a restful, comfortable place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad et Dar Maison Do

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad et Dar Maison Do
Ranked #424 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A feast for the eyes and a restful, comfortable place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

Maison Do was wonderful. Yolande made us comfortable, helped us with details like finding guides, and provided lovely breakfasts as well as dinner if we chose to eat at the riad. It was like an oasis in the very busy Marrakech medina. Our room was artfully designed for comfort with plenty of nooks and crannies to put things away, which is sometimes a rarity. It was cool when we were there, but the little pool on the roof looked inviting anyway. And then there was Ali - he picked us up at the train station, helped with everything we needed, and took us to the airport to pick up our rental car when we left. He insisted that we follow him as he led us out of town so we wouldn't get lost. And we would have without him. We probably won't be back to Marrakech, but if we are, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    45
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
79
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

The Riad is French owned and run but the owners and main house manager Ali all speak english which helped my daughter and I enormously. Ali, the Mr Fixit really made our holiday he was helpful, curteous and had tremendous local knowledge. He is a real asset to the Riad. The plunge pool on the roof was great and the entire riad beautifully decorated. Marrakesh is an extremely busy place and the riad was somewhere to escape to

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed in Maison Do for three nights: one night in the Dar, two in the Riad because the Dar was fully booked then.They are very close to each other in a small quiet street, about 10 minutes walk from the Place Jemaa el-Fna.
We had a great stay! The owners are very welcoming and helpfull, explained us the city map and had suggestions for visiting Marrakech. They can arrange trips or transport if you 'd like to.
Both the Dar and the Riad are nicely decorated and give you very comfortable and clean rooms. De Dar offers a big extra: the pool on the roof is a great cool-off after a day in Marrakech souks!.
You get a great breakfast on the terrace, and you can order a dinner or drinks. The site gives a good idea of the accomodation, you can believe the pictures shown.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floorenniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

This is a wonderful Riad! One of the keys for us was getting to the Dejemma El Fna Square and on our first day Ali walked us straight there (maybe a 7 min walk) and from then on we were good. We never got lost once on our way back to the Raid. Also the walk is part of the experience it was good to see a less touristy part of the medina. We did dinner two nights at the Riad and the food was wonderful, for breakfast we got a different type of Moroccan breakfast food everyday. Ali was WONDERFUL, and the Owners Yolande and Olivier were so knowledgeable and helpful with our stay. They set up an evening at Chez Ali (oh if you go to Marrakech you have to check this off. Very fun and entertaining.) Set us up with a guide for a day trip into the high atlas mountains (stunning). Then there was the Riad itself. Magical and beautiful. That's all I can say, just wonderful. Also it is located down a quite street so night time was easy with the kids. Some closer Riads I can only imagine get quite loud at night. Another must is to have the Riad pick you up from the airport. Such a mind settling thing to to arrive in Marrakech and see your name on a sign and know that is not something you have to worry about. Wonderful wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kissfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

The riad and dar Maison Do are located each in front of each other on the same street. They are owned by two French professionals who live in one of them. I would describe the Riad as a traditional Arab riad decorated with luxury. The Dar, opposite the street, is more subdued, a mix of Arab and European elegance. I stayed in the Dar. The Dar is well located 30 feet off the street. It takes about 8 minutes to go to Jema El Fna. I always felt very safe coming back home at night.

Every thing in the Dar was impeccable and superbly clean. The Dar has a large roof where breakfast are taken. It also has a small pool. Breakfast was a continental breakfast with an assortments of jams and marmelade. On top of bread, it included freshly pressed orange juice, some grapes and each day a variation: waffle, donuts, French bread.

I would not hesitate to return. In fact, quite a few of the clientele I met during my 11 days there were people returning to this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VersantNord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

A little rough around the edges... The walk to the main square was more like 15-20 minutes rather than the advertised 7 minutes. Be warned if your French or Arabic is not good do not stay here. I have limited French and the employees tried to be helpful but we could not communicate at all as no one spoke a word of English.

They were wonderful to the children but showed their distate when we did not leave a tip. The cleanliness was a bit to be desired. The carpets were dirty and were covered in dust and the plates and cups we were served breakfast with were dirty. The butter had a hair in it and breakfast was rationed (orange juice watered down to go further) as I have a feeling they didn't have enough to go around.

Other reviewers mentioned it felt like a habitated ryad. We did not see the proprietor once even though I spoke to her on the phone. There was no where to sit other than in your room on a very uncomfortable couch.

They advertised wifi and after much miscommunication I was allowed to access their office to try and get it working. It seemed no one really knew what was going on. Never got good connection.

I cannot say I could recommend this place. Many things need to be done to improve it. 6 days after our stay here we stayed at another Ryad in Marrakech. and even though they were slightly cheaper you cannot even compare the two. Location was excellent, service was excellent, and clean, clean, clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2plus3explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed there for the 4 nights of our stay in Marrakesh.

We loved this place for essentially 5 reasons:
1) location was perfect: not too much in the middle of the touristy stuff but very close to everything
2) the owners have obviously put a lot of love and effort into their place, and it shows: they're beautifully decorated, every little detail has been thoughtfully arranged. They were very nice and helpful. They were there when we needed them but not overly so. They arranged airport transfer for us, gave us good advice as to where to eat... It's not always the case in Marrakesh that owners actually live there and do care. These people truly do!
3) The POOL on the roof of one of the riads was the best place to find shelter from the heat, noise and harassment of Marrakesh. It was simply delightful
4) breakfast was simple but very good
5) the bed was very comfortable, the room was tastefully decorated and cosy. A special mention to the beautiful, extra-comfortable bathroom

Tip: the place is a little hard to find so do not hesitate to call in advance and the owner will come pick you up in front of the nearby mosque. Otherwise you'll just have to follow some neighborhood kids and give them 10 dirhams...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riviere45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#40 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#159 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#8 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#45 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad d'Airain Marrakech
Riad d'Airain Marrakech
#460 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad et Dar Maison Do? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad et Dar Maison Do

Property: Riad et Dar Maison Do
Address: 1 et 21 derb Hajjama | Ben Salah Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #424 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad et Dar Maison Do 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Maison Do and Dar Maison Do, two traditional dwellings located in opposite in a derb of the médina of Marrakech, within the district Ben Salah, which kept all its authenticity. Easy access, it is an ideal starting point for the walk discovery of the historical heart of the city, the souks, and the place Jemaa El Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad et Dar Maison Do reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing