We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Safa
Nearby Hotels
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$368
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$344
$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$209
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$590
$514
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$82
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$418
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$453
$367
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$232
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveler rating
660
44
11
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
660
44
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscall to prayerroof terraceevery morningthe hustle and bustleairport transferpeaceful oasislate at nighttucked awaynarrow streetshostssouksriadculturetaxisearplugsabdultranquility
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 717 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Marrakesh is the kind of city that can overwhelm the senses and choosing the right place to stay is a vital element to enjoying the exprience. Riad Safa has thought about this and they carefully ensure that their guests arrival, stay and departure is as smooth and hasle free as possible. They are just the right distance from the main square to offer tranquility but close enough to enjoy the hussle and bussle of the souks. The riad is located in the Nothern medina which has a vibrant and cultural mix of museums and galleries. The staff create a homely, welcoming atmosphere and owners offer excellent value and advice on the local area. "The home is your home" was a mantra repeated by the Manager, Saed, and he was certainly right! We stayed for 3 nights and would recommend it as an alternative to a hotel if you want a real taste of Marrakesh. I suggest reading the Rough Guide to Marrakesh before arrival where you will find a listing for Riad Safa.

Thank you to: Jean-Michel, Frederic and Saed who are the perfect hosts!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAshPhipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Many thanks to Frederic and Jean Michel, the most kind and friendly owners of the Riad Safa for warm welcome, excellent service and attention provided to me! I had a great one week stay there and I recommend everyone to have this wonderful experience if you are thinking about going to Marrakech. Riad Safa is a peaceful and charming small palace in the center of the stressful medina where you awake up with the sound of the birds, followed by a complete and varied breakfast and you go asleep on the couch close to the cute cat called Kermit. I also had the chance to enjoy the nice home made genuine maroccan dinners I ever had. At Riad Safa all the kind staff make you feel really at home. I would like to thank once again to Said, who works at the evening. Said is a very well educated, polyglot and professional young man, who helps much in the excellence of this Riad. I highly recomment to everyone Riad Safa! Regards Fernando

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is one of the friendliest and loveliest places i have ever stayed at. The whole Riad had personality and the staff went out of their way to make sure that you had a good time. Jean-Michel and Frederic, the owners, are two of the nicest frenchmen i have met, they have charm and a wonderful wit about them and they have genuine interest in making sure that your stay is all it can be. Someone has described Saeed, the man who usally works at the evening as an asset for the hotell and i completely agree. He is well educated and mannered, completely commited to giving the best service he can and if youre interested in having a chat he genuinely asks questions about your day, your views on marroccan life and proves to be great company if you decide to eat in the riad (wich you abseloutely should, the food was the best i had during the week i was there.) The layout of the riad is great, your private room is clean and spaceous, charmingly designed with air conditioning and wifi and there are about five or six other furnished rooms in the riad wich is shared filled with books, decorations and of course the terrace wich is just in itself worth more than the small amount you pay for this place. If youre thinking about going to marrakech but havent decided where to stay yet, this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Can't thank the staff at Riad Safa enough for such a great stay... everyone was just so great and special mentions go to Saed, Jean-Michel & Frederic. Even though I was quite unwell from something I'd eaten whilst away from the Riad (we did a 4 day tour with another company to the sahara and mountains) we still had a great stay and Saed even went to the chemist and bought some 'Smecta' for me which really saved the day!

Nothing is too much trouble for these guys and they go that extra mile (and then some!) to make sure you have a wonderful stay. My wife and I felt completely at home in the Riad (which is stunning!) and often stopped and had great chats with Saed, Jean-Michel or Frederic... very enjoyable talking to them and you can tell they all have a great passion for what they do, and ensuring people have a fantastic stay.

Special thanks to Saed though who really is an asset to the Riad!

There's also Peggy the dog who is sometimes there and very cute and friendly, and Kermit the cat who erm well lets just say likes to try and bite! 90% of the time he is very friendly but he'll let you know if he's not in the mood for being stroked lol!

We got the airport transfer and it's a bit odd as the guy doesn't speak any english and when you get to near the Riad he stops, gets out of the car, signals for you to stay inside and then pulls out his phone and rings someone... all a bit weird and we didn't know what was going on... it was fine though as he was juts ringing the Riad to get someone to come and meet us. The streets leading to the Riad are too narrow for cars so the taxi has to stop a few minutes away and this was what was going on. Be prepared for stepping out of the taxi though as nothing hits you like the noise, smells and atmosphere of Marrakech!

Inside the Riad is like an Oasis of calm and it's truly wonderful place to relax and chill out. We had the Tobago room which was lovely and very comfortable.

Thanks to everyone at Riad Safa and I would recommend this place to EVERYONE!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyhudson1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Riad Safa. The rooms were very comfortable and our daughter was accommodated in her own room at no extra cost. A warm welcome and excellent service was provided by the owners Jean-Michel and Frederic and their night manager Said. We enjoyed the lovely breakfast served on the roof top terrace and took advantage of the splash pool. We had an evening meal there that was excellent and very generous.
The only negative comment was the distance from the square that in spite of maps provided we had difficulties navigating. Unfortunately the young local males near the Riad were quite aggressive especially toward our 22 year old daughter. This was not a reflection on the Riad but the surrounding locality.
All transport and accomodation requirements were dealt with in a friendly and professional manner and we recommend the Riad as good value for the cost

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Aussiebrands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews