We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Ranked #85 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

I should have written this a long time ago, because this was one of the best places I have stayed. From the start when I contacted Michael and Michel by email, they were so helpful and accommodating. It made booking the holiday a pleasure. We arrived late and they gave us precise instructions where to go by taxi, but we opted for them to arrange transport for us and there was someone there to greet us when we arrived to take us the last few hundred metres to the Riad. These are two of the most helpful and friendly guys you'll ever meet.

The Riad was just beautiful and a calm oasis and just the perfect place to sit back and relax after wondering around Marrakech. As soon as we came back after a day out, we used to request tea out on the balcony and it was there within 5 minutes. Both Michael and Michel were so helpful in guiding us around the town and where to go, organising trips etc. We booked dinner at Le Foundouk, well actually Michel did for us on the terrace and he organised a guide to take us there through the winding streets - it was fantastic. These guys are a wealth of knowledge and if you book, rely on their knowledge.

The Riad itself was beautifully decorated and better than some top hotels I've been to. They had a Turkish style bath where you could get massages etc, which was perfect. Breakfast up on the roof was beautiful every morning, a perfect start to the day. The Riad itself is very secure and staff are always around, so your belongings are always safe and there is a night watchman in case you need anything.

All I can say, is that you will not be disappointed if you stay and I highly recommend that you stay in the old part of town as everything is easily accessible and you can appreciate the authenticity of Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
249
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

Great hotel, perfect service and friendly staff. The breakfast is plentyfull. We loved the pancakes! The pool is a nice touch, and perfect for a nice footbath. The location is in a nice district, amongst the locals and about 15-20 minutes by foot to Djema-el fna. But en route there is so much to see, it didn't bother us at all. So sorry we had to leave after staying a whole week here. It was the best holiday so far.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

The accommodations were truly beautiful. Small and personalized to have our group of 8 friends feel so relaxed and cared for. The staff is remarkable and they all made sure that we had everything we needed and more. I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend them to anyone who likes a more intimate and cozy setting. I really hope I can go back again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FatimaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sestri Levante, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

I stayed with friends for 8 nights at Riad Al Massarah. The rooms are lovely and the riad is gorgeous. Both Michele and Michael were amazing hosts. Michel took us for personal shopping tours of the Souk. Michael helped arrange hot air balloon rides, belly dancing lessons, cooking lessons, camel rides, private guides, and a hike though the lower Atlas to see local Berber villages. He even helped us arrange a night in a Berber tent. Their staff took incredible care of our group. Amazing breakfasts and their chef was able to do some fabulous dinners for us. Nothing better than sipping a cocktail and sitting around the pool after a long day in the souk. The riad put on a carnival of a show for my birthday diner. 15 local performers including acrobats, musicians, dancers and fire eaters. Our stay was beyond fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellafira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

We absolutely loved staying here. Micheael and Michel are amazing hosts, and took such good care of us. Which is really appreciated in such a fabulous but chaotic city. M&M guided us every step of the way, and tought us how to navigate (and negotiate) the city. And the staff were amazing - we were totally pampered. Always ready with tea, water, snacks - every detail tended to. Laundry service was perfect and appreciated. And we LOVED the in-house hammam treatments. But most of all our hosts made us feel welcome and looked after, which really enabled us to get out and enjoy Marrakech. We were clearly in expert hands. I have stayed in many guest houses with simiar hosts, but Michael and Michel are the best. The outings arranged for us were also fantastic - the Atlas mountains, bivouac in the berber tents, the camel ride, balloon ride. And the entertainment - they threw a really wonderful party for us with entertainers. Over the top! Can't say enough how enjoyable it was.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScreenName126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

This place is elegant and, in some ways, a bit magical. The owners have taken a traditional structure and refashioned it in an elegant and comforting style. They are first rate hosts and offered help in a variety of ways which enhanced our trip to Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed for almost a week in late March (wife and two teens). Great time of year to go with perfect temperature. Staying in the old town vs the new part of town was the right decision; so much...cosier and more interesting. So much fun just walking around the Medina, which is very large. Coming from the U.S. there clearly is a bit of a culture shock when they drop you off at the mosque and you have to walk 5mins through narrow lanes, but once you settle in to the rythm of the place it's just fantastic. Other than in the main square we never felt hassled, and this riad is just enough off the main tourist track to feel more authentic. The riad is beautiful, with superbly friendly and gracious service - we loved every minute of it. The hosts were always available with plenty of advice - do take your time talking to them. Dinner here is to recommend, and be sure to order mint tea every time you return to the riad. The only issue we had was that the rooms were a bit noisy (in particular ? - Jasmin which was next to the stairs leading up, over the alley, and under moving chairs of the terrace). Not excessively noisy, but enough for the adults to wear earplugs (kids didnt notice). In summary, we loved every day of our stay here!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jannep123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#4 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#31 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#139 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Marrakech
L’Hotel Marrakech
#295 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar al Assad
Dar al Assad
#358 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Tchaikana
Dar Tchaikana
#92 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Property: Riad Al Massarah
Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing