We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When I go back to Marrakech, I will definitely stay here again. A+++”
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Ranked #96 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2010

A great hotel experience. Michael and Michel were both top class hosts and the riad is such a peaceful haven in the mayhem of Marrakech (mayhem in a good way). When we were leaving for the desert, our guide was very late. Michael came and waited with us for nearly an hour on the corner to make sure we got off ok. We had a lovely dinner at the riad and breakfast on the terrace was a real treat every morning. I gave it 4 stars on location because it takes about 10 minutes to get to the main square (Place Jemaa El Afna). For us, that was not a big deal but it's worth mentioning in a review. We will definitely stay here again when we go back to Marrakech, so that tells you the location was good enough.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davekoz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Riad Al Massarah
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 435 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2010

Riad Al Massarah is located not far from the centre of the Medina and close to the new city which makes its location perfect. The rooms are stylish and clean and have little extras like slippers, bathrobes, very comfy pillows and beautiful incense. The Riad is quiet and tranquil but also comfortable enough so that you are not tip-toeing around the place. The owners and staff were amazing - they were more than happy to help with any request made despite being run off their feet with the crisis caused by the volcano eruption. The food at the Riad is amazing and you should have at least one dinner there. I looked forward to breakfast on the roof-top terrace every day. I was really sad to leave because the Riad had become like a home for me. If I am ever back in Marrakech, I will definitely stay at Riad Al Massarah.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Good location, hidden among the narrow streets. Roof top breakfasts (great food and proper coffee), rooms perfect and relaxed atmosphere. Hosts extremely helpful. HIghly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammock4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Wonderful ! Stayed there with my girlfriend for five nights in February and had a great time. Michael, Michel and the staff did at most to make this an unforgettable visit in Marrakech. We really enjoyed the (shopping) and cooking course with Abdel and the exclusive spa treatment at the Riad's own Hammam. Hope to get there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebi_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed at Riad Al Massah for 3 nights in February and fell in love with the place and the people.
Michel was a fantastic host and Abdel made our stay there an absolute pleasure. Nothing was too much trouble, from being greeted with cold beers from the moment we arrived, to breakfast on the terrace in the sun, an amazing hamman (moroccan massage), to a fantastic moroccan cooking class we were looked after in every sense!
As per other reviews, the Riad is an absolute oasis! Stepping from the crazy pedestrian streets of Marrakech into the peaceful surrounds of this beautiful place (that Michel himself decorated), let us experience two extremely different views of the city.
We listened to Michels advice and booked into dinner at Le Foundouk, Abdel escorted us all the way for the 20 minute walk which shows you the ''above and beyond service'' that they provide.
On the day we were leaving we realised we didnt have time to go an buy a tajine to take home, Michel organised for one of his staff to go and buy one for us, we got two for 3.5 pounds!
We couldnt fault anything with this Riad, it is a truly amazing place and it helped us fall in love with Marrakech!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IlovetotravelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

We recently stayed three nights here. As with all the reviews the hosts, Michael & Michel provide outstanding service, giving advice on what to see, where to eat, etc. The location is very good and within walking distance to the market, shopping. We never used a taxi. Our only criticism is that in our room the bathroom is not enclosed and is not "soundproof", if you get my meaning. Otherwise it is very quiet sleeping. We ate dinner one night at the Riad and it was very good. As there are only 5 rooms it feels like you are staying at home. Breakfast was very good but good be boring if you are staying for a long time though we did not take advantage or asked if we wanted a cooked breakfast. My wife took the hammas/massage package and enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardportnoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Recently come back from Riad Al Massarah and we couldn't fault it, event the waeter was unexpectedly glorious.
We arrived late and Michel from the Riad gave us a quick run down of the activities, places to eat and what to do in Marrakesh. He recommended somewhere for evening meal where we went and it was excellent and very reasonable (le maision l'arab)
The Riad is in the heart of the local community and for us this made the stay much better as we could see the culture and day to day life of the city from a local perspective. At no point did we feel unsafe even though we were shoved and nearly run into several times by scooters - but for us this was all part of the experience.
Michel gave us some great tips that we followed and I would recommend that anyone staying there should do this too. Although we didn't eat at the Riad the breakfast was fantastic and different evefy day.
Michel soon found out what we liked quite quickly and and because of this was able to recommend things for us to do and places for us to go that were 'our type'. We did go to Kosybar and Keshmara for really relaxing drinks but also got into the thick of it and ate at the night market which again was fine and we had no repercussions with our digestion as some people has previously reported. I guess it depends what you're used to
If we went back to Marrakesh we would stay in the Riad Al Massarah again as it ideally placed for the best of both worlds and the hospitality was second to none

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#143 of 502 in Marrakech
821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Morgane
Riad Morgane
#332 of 502 in Marrakech
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Marrakech
L’Hotel Marrakech
#267 of 502 in Marrakech
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
1.2 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#31 of 502 in Marrakech
829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#6 of 502 in Marrakech
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $108 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing