We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Save
You added Riad Al Massarah to your Saves list
Ranked #81 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We are old hands in Marrakech, but decided to try somewhere new this trip. We were delighted that we did. Al Massarah is a great place to stay. We like Bab Doukkala, and the riad is not just calm comfortable and very tastefully decorated, but Michael, Michel and David go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and trouble free. They are a mine of information even if you have been before. All the staff go the extra mile, the rooms are spacious, the bedding and beds of high quality and the breakfasts copious. What more is there to say. We will return.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a sitting area outside where you can have breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloydChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
243
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just arrived back from a wonderful stay with hosts Michael & Michel with assistance from their lovely staff.
It really is a place of tranquility amongst a bustling, exciting city. Once the doors are closed peace & calm is restored.
I loved everything about it. The decor - wonderful, location - perfect, staff - friendly, food - our special order for dinner was exactly what we asked for, attention to detail, personal touches ( I got to go on the back of a moped through the souks in search of that little something for back home I couldn't find!) I could go on but suggest you take a look for yourselves, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Me and my partner spent an amazing few nights in this beautiful riad this April. Everything is brilliantly styled and the staff wee amazingly obliging. Michael and Michel were away but David provided us with great tips on how to explore the city. There are no real drawbacks to this beautiful riad though it is a little difficult to find.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Four wonderful unforgettable nights in this strategically located Riad. The structure is beautiful, the rooms are great and full of local flavor. But the service is the real "best in class": a perfect fusion between the European organization and the typical Moroccan hospitality. Breakfast on the balcony right outside your room is priceless. Michael is always ready to give you good in-depth briefing on what to do in Marrakech. The service is impeccable, like in a luxury structure. I strongly recommend to try the "full massage" in the hammam: it's a real memorable experience. I definitely will go back!!! PS: from the moment you book they make you feel "pampered" providing very good pieces of information via mail. BRAVO!

Room Tip: They are all different yet all just great !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Osvaldo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic time staying in this well located, beautifully designed riad. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Michael, 1 of the owners, provided an excellent indepth briefing on the places to visit and the restaurants to eat at in Marrakech. We were never disappointed by his recommendations. The room was 1 of the nicest we have stayed in before. We also really liked their focus on environmental sustainability.
We'd also recommend dinner in the riad.
After hours of touring around the bustle of Marrakech, Riad al Massarah was an amazing oasis of calm to retreat to in the afternoon heat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jade room, with which we were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymngton
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have just spent 3 days here and cannot speak too highly of our stay. Michael and David were unfailingly attentive (we did not meet Michel) and their attention to detail is impressive; the staff also were nothing other than keen to please at all times. This is special place

Room Tip: We stayed in Jade room which is upon the terrace and more spacious than the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandavLymngton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackawton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Thank you to Michael and Michel for their information about Marrakech, attention to detail and the beautiful Riad itself. It was our first trip to Morocco and I will definitely be going back! We were 40 (somethings) travelling with our 70 (somethings) mothers and both generations were agreed that the food, accommodation and advice were all excellent. A fantastic haven after the excesses of the souks.
I don't think I could have asked for more from a boutique hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnamarieUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riyad Al Moussika
Riyad Al Moussika
#231 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.7 mi away
AnaYela
AnaYela
#178 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#41 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar al Assad
Dar al Assad
#336 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Tchaikana
Dar Tchaikana
#106 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar Housnia
Dar Housnia
#247 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Property: Riad Al Massarah
Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing