We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis within the fantastic caos of the Medina”
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Ranked #88 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Ibarra, Ecuador
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Oasis within the fantastic caos of the Medina”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

An Oasis, that's the word to describe it. Peace , great and on the spot service , fantastic details, great advice for shops, tours and restaurants! My only complaint was the hot water, they are working on it, and I am sure MIchael will resolve it!! I will recommend it totally!

Fernando from Ecuador

Room Tip: All are great , but I will choose the one on the roof top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
254
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This Riad is located in a nice neighborhood, near a colorful gastronomic souq. Djemaa el-fna and all the main attractions are reachable with a pleasant walk. The property is decorated with taste. Once inside the first sensation is a breath of fresh air, expecially when you have spent the day in the chaos of the medina. The owners and the whole staff are very friendly and helpful. They will give you advise about what to see, where to eat and many other things. In the morning breakfast is served on the terrace. Food at the Riad is great: we had our first dinner there and it was delicious, the same talking about breakfast.
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelabovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights on our recent honeymoon and loved it. It is in a great location in the medina such that it is easy to find and to walk to/from, but it is off the main thoroughfare so it isn't too loud or crowded. When we arrived, Michael gave us a great orientation to the city and recommended a number of cafes and shops. The riad has even created their own proprietary tourist map (because the owners found other tourists maps to be incorrect or unclear) with tons of notable restaurants and shops marked in every price range. Our room was impeccably clean and the staff provide services that you would expect at hotels, like turn-down service. The room was decorated in beautiful white and orange, and the bathroom was huge and luxurious. The common areas include a great rooftop terrace, pool area, and balcony; and you can take your breakfast in any location. In typical Moroccan dar/riad style the breakfast was substantial and fresh. The building has a couple of idiosyncrasies: there are no locks on the doors, and the traditional Moroccan doors fit on the outside of the doorways rather than in them so they are far from soundproof. We never found either of these items to be a problem, the staff is always around and visible that gives an air of security. We had dinner at the riad one night, and it was one of the most memorable of the trip. It was familiar Moroccan fare but with a modern twist: our salad came in a cool geometric-shaped presentation, and the delicious chicken tajine was prepared with a salty white cheese. Travelers in Morocco often mention getting tired of tajine, but these little touches made theirs seem fresh and memorable. I can't recommend this place enough, we loved it there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berschweiler germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

If ever we are in Marrakesh again, this would be our choice of places to stay. From the beautiful décor, to the fabulous breakfasts, to the most wonderful hosts and excellent staff, it was fabulous. The shopping/restaurant tips from Michael, Michele and David were spot on and their willingness to share made our experience that much better. This riad is in a great location and within walking distance to most things. It is a hidden gem in the midst of the busy-ness of Marrakesh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Riad Al Massarah is almost too perfect. We didn’t want to leave and explore in the incredible city of Marrakech. Michael and Michel have created such a serene, oasis of tranquility that you could easily stay there and never leave. From the moment you wake up to the sound of your breakfast table being set-up right outside your room, to lounging on the roof top terrace, to visiting their own private Hammam, you could easily make a vacation at al Massarah.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expat_ord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a romantic long weekend away
Excellent staff, great riad and good advice from David and Michel on where to go and what to see
Ideally located. We had an amazing time
Ate an evening meal there that was delicious and the breakfast is super too

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Tucked away in the bustling medina this Riad is beautiful, serene and runs quietly like clockwork. It's situated in a local area that is, at the moment, largely untouched by tourism. What really made it great for us were the people ... Michael and Michel are the perfect hosts. David made our stay particularly special from the start by meeting us from our transfer and guiding us through the local souk to the Riad, which we would not have found on our own! The advice, above and beyond what you would get from any guide book, set us up for our exotic adventure and we really couldn't imagine the experience without this! What we Loved? The rose petals on the bathroom floor, the fact that you don't need to lock your room doors, the free wifi, fabulous breakfasts and the sound of the early morning call to prayer alarm clock x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#40 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.7 mi away
AnaYela
AnaYela
#141 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#86 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#91 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#92 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Property: Riad Al Massarah
Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing