We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Magical Riad with exceptional service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Massarah

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Al Massarah
Save
You added Riad Al Massarah to your Saves list
Ranked #72 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical Riad with exceptional service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My partner and I have just returned from a four day trip to Marrakech and it was our stay at the Riad Al Massarah which made our trip truly special!

The Riad has been beautifully renovated by the owners Michel and Michael, who have put their heart and soul into creating a tranquil, luxurious and welcoming oasis in a fascinating corner of the old town. The Riad has just 6 beautifully designed and well proportioned rooms, and there are plenty of spaces to relax;, whether on the roof terrace ( wondeful to hear the call to prayer from up here), the peaceful courtyard, the balcony's, the hamman (I had a very relaxing massage here by Maria) or the very cool and shaded lounge. There is a vast selection of books in the lounge exploring everything from Moroccan culture, religion, architecture, art and politics as well as some great classics. I would strongly recommend sampling the food in the Riad, the chef Abdel-Waheed is really fantastic; our favourite meal in Marrakech was here.

Michel and Michael, are passionate about looking after their guests (and their great team.) Fatima, Hatice, Abdel and the others acheived the delicate balance of being attentive yet non-intrusive and their level of English was great. We felt incredibly looked after from the moment we recieved the email from Michael confirming our booking and arranging the details of our stay and this level of service was maintained throughout the visit.

The area, although a short walk (15 minutes) to the main square, and attractions is steeped in history and authentic culture. It was refreshing to step away from some of the more touristy areas of the Medina and to experience the hussle and bustle of this interesting corner of the city!

We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bemo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
243
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was our first visit to Marrakech and we weren't disappointed. The whole riad was spotless, tastefully designed and Michel was the perfect host. It was an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling Medina.
The staff were attentive, but not intrusive and most spoke very good English. Breakfast on the sun terrace good, but it is definitely worth staying in for an evening meal. This was Moroccan in style and five star standard in taste, presentation and service.
This is not a faceless hotel; Michael and Michel have put their life and soul into this riad and are passionate about the service and experience they provide.
I would recommend it and we would certainly consider staying again.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally beautiful and you get a very good feeling for which one would suit you fron th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The reviews on trip advisor helped us decide to stay at Riad al Massareh, and were pleasantly surprised that the reviews (as good as they were) didn't give the riad, owners, and staff enough justice. From the moment we booked, to payment, to hotel transfers, to check-in, to arranging excursions. Micheal, Michel, and Dave had it completely covered and ensured all was setup perfectly. The one thing I feel really needs mentioning is you MUST at least one night ( if not more) eat dinner at the riad. The on-site chef is absolutely amazing. You need to tell them the night before that you want to have dinner. The food was delicious every time we had it. And the chef definitely takes pride in what he cooks.

We plan on returning for a girl's weekend and wouldn't think about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Beautiful, clean riad with lovely roof top sun terrace. Very close to the main souk. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The immediate area is fascinating, so much so that we hardly ventured outside the city wall into the western area. The relaxed atmosphere at the riad was just what was required after a long walk.

Room Tip: Contact the owners Michel and Michael
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete-at-Sunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelMK, Owner at Riad Al Massarah, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and time with us. We are very close to our own local souk, or shopping area. Although quite a few tourists come here to see a local souk, most head for the more touristy main souks which are about 10 (interesting) minutes walk from us. I wouldn't want the headline to your review to mislead people. Some consider Jeema el Fna the centre of the medina, we are 15-20minutes walk away. Others consider the Ben Youssef mosque and medersa the centre, we are 10 (difficult) minutes walk from there. The centre of the new part of the medina (medina just means town in Arabic) is 10 minutes walk away.

Like you we find the local area fascinating, though it is good to see the new town and realise that Marrakech is a bustling western style city too.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

No point spending long on this; all the other reviews sum up Riad al Massarah perfectly.

The riad itself was stunning; beautifully decorated and pristine. Our room (upgraded, many thanks again!) was extremely comfortable, with a fantastic bathroom. The roof terrace was bliss in the morning, with its vista of the Atlas mountains in the distance. Breakfast was wonderful (the eggs were perfect every time!). The ground floor was equally as enchanting with the alluring pool and loungers. All very Conde Nast Traveller!

David looked after us incredibly well (the owners were unfortunately away during our visit) and in fact all of the staff were attentive, but not intrusive which was perfectly balanced. We were extremely impressed with the service.
We ate in the riad on our first evening which was very tasty and good value for money. Generous portions too! The riad also booked us into Al Fassia one night which we loved and would definitely recommend.

All in all, a perfect stay, we hope to visit again and urge anyone thinking about booking to go for it!

(We would also recommend Les Bains De Marrakech for a Hammam/Spa - we had the most wonderful time there and would definitely urge those thinking of going, to book).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

These folk have it figured out. A gorgeous space, friendly, efficient staff, amazing food, and a seamless ability to coordinate everything and anything you may wish to do or see in Marrakech or further afield.
Marrakech is a bit of a seeming chaotic mess, and Riad Al Massarah is the perfect haven to retreat to. Once through the door the hum of the city seems miles away. The analogy my brain kept returning to is of ziplining: you start off at a safe place, then launch yourself over the abyss which is at once terrifying and exhilarating, speeding your way across, then suddenly you find yourself back on your own two feet on solid ground. Al Massarah was definitely that safe platform (especially for the first day or so), and Marrakech is that adrenaline-inducing thrill ride.
The food was consistently amazing, and we're so glad we arranged to do the cooking course with Chef Adbelwahed. The meals we had were some of the best we had anywhere in Morocco. Foodies take note!
I noticed some other reviews docked points for location, but for us it was ideal. Positioned at equal distance to both the heart of the medina, as well as to the Nouvelle Ville.
Without a doubt in my mind we will be returning to both Marrakech, and more specifically to Al Massarah!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belyod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Our thanks to Michael, Michel & staff for creating the perfect atmosphere for a relaxing haven from the chaos of Marrakech. Service was low key, unobtrusive but attentive and Michael & Michel welcoming and helpful.

One word of warning, when the guys offer transfers from airport or train station, accept without hesitation.
It is not possible to find this riad without their assistance, however much a experienced traveller you may be. Locals don't know of it's existence and touts will attempt to extort ridiculous amounts of money for leading you to the door of this well hidden riad, there are no signs to lead the way.
We found hotels to be quite disappointing in Morocco, a well run raid is a far more inviting and Al Massarah was the best raid we experienced in our two weeks traveling the country.

Room Tip: The Ambre room is perfect for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonkersdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riyad Al Moussika
Riyad Al Moussika
#225 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Akka
Riad Akka
#152 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Tchaikana
Dar Tchaikana
#108 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar al Assad
Dar al Assad
#349 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maison Mnabha
Maison Mnabha
#527 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar Housnia
Dar Housnia
#227 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Massarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Massarah

Property: Riad Al Massarah
Address: 26 Derb Djedid | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Responsibly run Riad with La Clef Verte accreditation and Travel Life Gold Award for sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Al Massarah Marrakech
Riad Al Massarah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing