We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“P, S, A and J” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Merstane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Merstane
Save
You added Riad Merstane to your Saves list
Ranked #411 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Totnes
1 review
“P, S, A and J”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our trip to Marrakesh was a wonderful experience, made all the more enjoyable by staying in the tranquillity of Riad Merstane. It is beautifully decorated in traditional Moorish style also most clean and comfortable and with delicious breakfasts. After the chill of the English spring it was heaven to sun ourselves on the roof garden. When we were in the riad we were almost always offered tea.
We liked the fact that it is outside the main tourist area but walking into the centre along tiny congested streets was not easy for me so we had to take taxis quite often.
Alan and Kate, the owners. were real friends, helping us in every possible way, with advice and tips, even guiding us in person on several occasions.

Room Tip: Our upstairs room was comfortable and nicely warm in the evening. Downstairs rooms, easily accessibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneG216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Findhorn, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our visit to Marrakech was an inspiring adventure, the highlight being the graceful beauty and charm of the people and place of Riad Merstane. We were well looked after, given clear directions to various destinations and tips on travel. Our room was beautifully appointed, breakfasts were delicious and the crowning event was when we went shopping for the ingredients, then learnt to cook and finally ate a traditional meal - an offer we would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This riad is located in a less tourist-trodden part of the old medina....perfect for escaping the throngs of travellers and chaos of the souks. It's unpretentious, welcoming and tastefully decorated. You feel at home the moment you set foot inside. Housing 5 or 6 rooms, it is small but brimming with character and the perfect place for a relaxing sojourn. The staff were friendly and attentive and made every effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We opted for the 3-course dinner following a day trip to the mountains and were very pleased with the quality (and quantity) of the dishes and willingness of the staff to accommodate our dietary needs. The terrace was lovely and the perfect place for tea mid-afternoon or a soak in the sun. All in all, Riad Merstane is the ideal spot for a quiet few days in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Peaceful and beautifully decorated riad which is a pleasure to stay and relax in. Arrangements beforehand were easy to make with the English owners, and they were particularly helpful when we had to cancel and then rearrange our trip at the last minute. (Which may have been why the taxi meeting us at the airport was late)

We had the Jasmine Room, which was beautifully decorated and has a graceful four poster bed and the best quality bed linens of any of the five places we stayed in Morocco. We had two evening meals, which were delicious, and breakfast was also good, though we would have appreciated fresh orange juice. On a couple of occasions when we were relaxing in the riad we were offered pastries, tea or coffee, which was a nice touch.

Perhaps the main thing to consider when booking this riad is its location. Rachid the manager provides a useful (and vital!) map which prevented us from getting hopelessly lost when on our way to the riad. (We did get hopelessly lost at other times!) It is a good 25 minutes from the main square at busy times of day, so if you like to return to your hotel between a day's sight seeing and an evening out you may consider it a bit too far from the centre. On the other hand you could do what we didn't do and use taxis. The fact that it's in a working and non-touristy area was mainly a plus for us, but we weren't there long enough to feel totally comfortable walking back to the riad late at night; not because we ever felt threatened but because it was just so different from what we are used to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALISON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

From the local, small streets of the Medina full of bursting life to the tranquility of this boutique riad the feelings were always of happiness. The colors of the rooms, breakfast in front of a fireplace, the terrace full of sun and the shadow inside the riad wall, all these gave us a few days of real Morocco life. The kindness and friendly House Director Rachid, always full of suggestions and always ready to help, the great cooking and big smiles of Rachida and Suzina, the English touch here and there of Allen and Katy made our stay at the Riad Merstane a holiday in the holiday. We will promote this beautiful place to friends and family members and we dream the time when we could be there once again.

Room Tip: I think the rooms at the first floor are maybe better located than the one on the ground floor; but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertoAliverti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had the most wonderful time in this beautiful Riad and cannot praise enough the care and attention we were given by all the staff and the standard of the food was superb - 10 out of 10 to Rachida and Suzina for their cooking - and I have now added extra dishes to my regular Moroccan menu here at home, the cauliflower in egg was amazing!! Indeed we so much enjoyed the dinner on the first evening we ate in all three evenings and then relaxed in the sitting room planning our excursions for the following day. Omar the driver was so accommodating and welcoming, Rachid and Karim, again both so welcoming and such great sense of humour!! We so enjoyed listening to some of the music that I have ordered some on Amazon since we got back so that we can replay those evocative sounds. Mustafa, the guide arranged for us, was fantastic and took into account our interests and we had a most informative and illuminating tour of the Medina and Souks, with the added bonus of not being taken to places and 'encouraged' to buy carpets and other artefacts that we did not want!! I have already praised and posted many photographs of our visit on my Facebook and Twitter accounts encouraging others to book the riad - an oasis of calm after running the gauntlet of the souks and mopeds:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petedapug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My family and I took a chance on this riad on our very first stay in Marrakech, based solely on ecstatic views on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed! We arrived to the riad rather late in the evening and were slightly disoriented from having traveled a long distance to get there. Rachid, the riad's most excellent manager, immediately set us at ease. He gave us a tour of the riad's amenities, had us settled in our rooms, arranged to have some mint tea made to warm us up and then set himself to the task of arranging dinner for us (which at that time of night meant some seriously delicious sandwiches). That was our introduction to Riad Merstane, and the rest of our stay reflected the same, warm hospitality. The riad itself is absolutely gorgeous. Decorated in a traditional Moroccan style, it has a lush courtyard and beautifully appointed rooms and common areas. The rooms are each equipped with air conditioning or portable radiators such that they were always warm and comfortable, even though the courtyard can get pretty chilly on December nights. The riad is located a little further away from the square, but is only a short (2 minute) walk from the nearest medina entrance and access to taxis. Rachid was at all times helpful, which meant drawing up maps to help us navigate the medina and even offering to accompany us to help us get oriented. The rest of the riad staff are also extremely helpful and courteous, and did an excellent job of arranging delicious breakfasts and providing laundry service for us. On our last night we arranged to have dinner in the riad which turned out to be one of the best meals of our trip. We cannot recommend this riad enough, and plan to stay here on our next trip to Marrakech!

Room Tip: Sandalwood room has best wifi reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muniq_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
3.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.9 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#105 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#136 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,396 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,575 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#51 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Merstane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Merstane

Property: Riad Merstane
Address: 13 Derb El Merstane | Riad Merstane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #411 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has 5 double bedrooms all ensuite and individually decorated with traditional finishes and furniture set around a tranquil plant filled courtyard garden. There is a large roof terrace with High Atlas Mt views, sunbeds and seating and a comfortable sitting room with an open olive wood fire in winter. There is also a separate cosy dining room. The riad is fully staffed with friendly and helpful staff and an excellent cook - cookery sessions available on request. All bedding is smooth Egyptian cotton and towels and hairdryers are provided. The riad is in a historic and authentic area of the medina a short walk from the souks and through them to the square of Jemna el F'na also near several museums and sights as well as having good access through the walls to the new town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing