We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Riad Merstane: An oasis of calm and tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Merstane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Merstane
Save
You added Riad Merstane to your Saves list
Ranked #411 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Riad Merstane: An oasis of calm and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had the most wonderful time in this beautiful Riad and cannot praise enough the care and attention we were given by all the staff and the standard of the food was superb - 10 out of 10 to Rachida and Suzina for their cooking - and I have now added extra dishes to my regular Moroccan menu here at home, the cauliflower in egg was amazing!! Indeed we so much enjoyed the dinner on the first evening we ate in all three evenings and then relaxed in the sitting room planning our excursions for the following day. Omar the driver was so accommodating and welcoming, Rachid and Karim, again both so welcoming and such great sense of humour!! We so enjoyed listening to some of the music that I have ordered some on Amazon since we got back so that we can replay those evocative sounds. Mustafa, the guide arranged for us, was fantastic and took into account our interests and we had a most informative and illuminating tour of the Medina and Souks, with the added bonus of not being taken to places and 'encouraged' to buy carpets and other artefacts that we did not want!! I have already praised and posted many photographs of our visit on my Facebook and Twitter accounts encouraging others to book the riad - an oasis of calm after running the gauntlet of the souks and mopeds:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petedapug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My family and I took a chance on this riad on our very first stay in Marrakech, based solely on ecstatic views on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed! We arrived to the riad rather late in the evening and were slightly disoriented from having traveled a long distance to get there. Rachid, the riad's most excellent manager, immediately set us at ease. He gave us a tour of the riad's amenities, had us settled in our rooms, arranged to have some mint tea made to warm us up and then set himself to the task of arranging dinner for us (which at that time of night meant some seriously delicious sandwiches). That was our introduction to Riad Merstane, and the rest of our stay reflected the same, warm hospitality. The riad itself is absolutely gorgeous. Decorated in a traditional Moroccan style, it has a lush courtyard and beautifully appointed rooms and common areas. The rooms are each equipped with air conditioning or portable radiators such that they were always warm and comfortable, even though the courtyard can get pretty chilly on December nights. The riad is located a little further away from the square, but is only a short (2 minute) walk from the nearest medina entrance and access to taxis. Rachid was at all times helpful, which meant drawing up maps to help us navigate the medina and even offering to accompany us to help us get oriented. The rest of the riad staff are also extremely helpful and courteous, and did an excellent job of arranging delicious breakfasts and providing laundry service for us. On our last night we arranged to have dinner in the riad which turned out to be one of the best meals of our trip. We cannot recommend this riad enough, and plan to stay here on our next trip to Marrakech!

Room Tip: Sandalwood room has best wifi reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muniq_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised at how spacious and airy the hotel is, given that the entrance is a low doorway from an alley in the medina! Beautiful courtyard and comfy rooms. We booked dinner one night and they lit the courtyard with candles - it was so romantic (and the food was very good too!). Excellent service and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trangmard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you are looking for traditional holiday away from large chain hotels this is the place for you. The rooms are all lovely and the courtyard with its palms and flowers is an oasis of calm. Set in a quiet un touristy part of the medina it is a wonderful base for a stay in Marrakech. The staff are efficient and extremly helpful and can help with any requests at all - including providing a map for the best route to Jemaa el-Fna. Breakfast is perfect and if you book an evening meal you will be delighted. It is a 20 to 25 minute walk to the main square but this in itself is a bonus as you pass many areas that are not packed with tourists - this is working Marrakech! The aiport pick-up and departures worked perfectly so no need to worry about arranging this yourself. I thoroughly recommend this Riad and i will be returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice and face in to the courtyard as you would expect. However this Riad is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ancienttraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I spent a thoroughly enjoyable week in Riad Merstane's Jasmine Room. As mentioned by other reviewers, all the staff are courteous and helpful, the breakfasts are great and if you order an evening meal, you won't have better. Airport pick-up and drop-off was efficient and reasonably priced. There are hundreds of Riads to choose from but we can't speak highly enough of this place, do yourself a favour and book it!

Room Tip: Jasmine was the best in our opinion, first floor, overlooking courtyard, two chairs outside, light a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBRigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Enjoed a fabulous short break in Marrakech, made special by this wonderful Riad.
Exuding pure Moroccan style, Riad Merstene is furnished in a traditional syle with tasteful and elegent touches throughout. The building is apparently some 200 years old and has been restored in keeping with its original design.
Our room was comfortable and led out onto a seating and balcony area overlooking the courtyard, which is lush with palms and trees. Many a relaxing hour was spent sitting in a quiet, cool, shady spot reading a book and listening to the birds sing. The courtyard really was an oasis of tranquility within the hussle and bustle of the Medina.
Servcie was absolutely first class. We enjoyed lazy breakfasts and our room was made up daily by the most friendly local staff and nothing was too much truble. Calm was soon restored after returning to the Riad from a day in 45 degrees heat to find no beer left in the fridge; a quick phone call ensured a fresh delivery of chilled cans within a half hour!
I can most certainly recommend this b&b to anyone wanting to experience the real Marrakech, especially as it was such good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Just spent four wonderful days at this peaceful Riad. Set in the heart of the Medina, amid the winding alleyways, you are part of the real Marrakech. The Riad is small and friendly. Our ensuite room was compact, but very comfortable with efficient air conditioning and overlooked the interior courtyard, which was beautiful. The staff were absolutely lovely, and the house manager was very helpful - drawing a map to direct us to the central square, and even walking us there the first afternoon. A traditional Moroccan reakfast was served in the courtyard each mornging and we lingered there for a long time enjoying refills of tea/coffee and chatting to other guests. The courtyard was also a welcome relief from the heat in the afternoon - a perfect to read your book and enhoy a glass of wine from the fridge! Very good value and would highly recommend this Riad to anyone who wants to enjoy a slice of the real Marrackech.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
3.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.9 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#105 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#136 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,396 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,576 reviews
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#51 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Merstane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Merstane

Property: Riad Merstane
Address: 13 Derb El Merstane | Riad Merstane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #411 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has 5 double bedrooms all ensuite and individually decorated with traditional finishes and furniture set around a tranquil plant filled courtyard garden. There is a large roof terrace with High Atlas Mt views, sunbeds and seating and a comfortable sitting room with an open olive wood fire in winter. There is also a separate cosy dining room. The riad is fully staffed with friendly and helpful staff and an excellent cook - cookery sessions available on request. All bedding is smooth Egyptian cotton and towels and hairdryers are provided. The riad is in a historic and authentic area of the medina a short walk from the souks and through them to the square of Jemna el F'na also near several museums and sights as well as having good access through the walls to the new town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing