We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“the Marrakech experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Malak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Malak
Ranked #318 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the Marrakech experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My friends and I couldn't have chosen a better place for our Marrakech experience. Dar Malak is a beautiful and peaceful riad located in the heart of the Medina, just a couple of steps from the chaos of the souks and Jaama El Fna square. The courtyard and rooftop terrace offer absolute tranquillity and sunshine, ideal location for relaxing sipping mint tea and tasting Moroccan pastries.
What made our Marrakech experience even more enjoyable was the lovely staff and great host - Eric, who look after their guests with great attention.
We took a tour guided personally by Eric to the Atlas mountains, during which we visited an authentic Berber village and market.
If like us you want to stay away from the big international hotels with their swimming pools and golf courses, Dar Malak guesthouse is the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    13
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
33
50
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in Dar Malak for two nights just by chance. We booked a room in Riad Hannah and they have no rooms anymore, so they sent us to this amazing Riad, that was just down the alley.

The place is beautiful, in the heart of Marrakesh old city. We paied just 54 euros per two nights and the room was so big and beautifull! we never saw something like this for 27 euros per night! There was a big and clean bathroom, with scented towels, AirCo. Very nice Terrace.

We didn't taste the cusine or the breakfast because for this last we had to go to Riad Hannah.

The owner and the attendant are very nice and helpful

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We could not have enjoyed our stay more. Dar Malak is situated in the Labyrinth that is the Medina, so we strongly advise a transfer organized by Eric, who is the perfect host. This is the REAL thing, with only 4 guest rooms the service is very personal indeed. The rooftop terrace is a tranquil antidote to the madness that is the souks and the main square, all within easy strolling distance. Eric organized an accompanied trip to the Mountains for us, Saturday is the best day to visit Asni (en-route) for the Market.

You could stay in one of the huge international 'all-inclusive' hotels in the New Town, the sort you can find in any city in any country.... Or you could experience the authenticity of staying in a beautifully restored riad in the heart of the Medina which hasn't changed much in centuries.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank figsteruk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed several days at Dar Malak and I enjoyed my trip. It's a nice place, calm and well located. The owner was helpful and gave me good advices. I liked his french touch! I know where I'm going to spend my next holidays!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmeliefromTianjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at Dar Malak for a week in October and would definitely stay there again. Eric is a perfect host and nothing is too much trouble for him or his staff. Our room off the courtyard was comfy and peaceful. The riad is perfectly situated and is a wonderful retreat following the hustle and bustle of the city. Eric took us on a trip to the Atlas Mountains which was wonderful and a real insight into the life of the berber people. Thanks Eric.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Dar Malak is really a highlight of our trip to Morocco,at first when we arrived there we are a bit worry because we have to walk through a small alley,but once arrived there and meet Eric and his staff which is super friendly to us we forgot our worries.
Dar Malak located right in a heart of Marrakech old medina,short walk about 10 minutes to Jemaa El Fna
We stay in second floor room and its abig room and a very suitable ambience for taking a rest and enjoy life...
Dar Malak is really a recommended place to stay at Marrakech,where you can really enjoy life
dont forget to book return transfer when you book,its alot easier and also not expensive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Dar Malak was the nicest riad we stayed at during our Morocco trip. It's a beautifully decorated riad with a very peaceful patio. Already the welcome tea ceremony was so special - couldn't find any better peanut sweets than the ones we enjoyed here!
The riad has only four very spacious rooms. Breakfast was very nice and fresh and was served whenever we wanted - between 7 and 11 am :) The French owner Eric was always helpful and had some great restaurant recommendations for us.
Also, location is great - still in the Medina and only 10 min walk from the Jamaa el Fna, but not as busy as in that area...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLin1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.5 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#105 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#136 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#77 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,571 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#51 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Malak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Malak

Property: Dar Malak
Address: 20 derb Assabane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Malak 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dar Malak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing