We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of warmth, hospitality, and beauty in the middle of the old medina.”
Review of Dar Malak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Malak
Ranked #384 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Dar Malak is an oasis of peace and tranquility in the middle of the old medina of Marrakech. Situated at the end of a quiet backstreet, the warm staff and extra large rooms made me feel immediately at home. Breakfast was served either in my room or on the rooftop terrace. Fresh mint tea and Moroccan treats were served day at the end of the day, and was a great way to relax after the heat and chaos of the medina. Further, Eric, the owner of this Riad was extremely helpful with organizing trips, recommending restaurants and sights, and in general just making me feel welcome!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewtje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 165 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

We had a lovely stay over four nights in the gorgeous Orient Suite at Dar Malak. The staff were fabulous and Eric was extremely helpful and informative in providing recommendations, bookings and advice. We opted to visit the local hammam with two members of Erics staff (segregated) and it was an amazing experience which I would thoroughly recommend.
Location is perfect - it's about 5 mins walk from the souks, 3 mins walk from the nearest taxi spot, 10 mins walk to the main square and it felt very safe.

The best thing about Dar Malak was the peace and tranquility. It was a little oasis and a cool beer in the evening after a day in the heat was just lovely. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get the airport transfer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz0000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

A really peaceful place and a delightful and knowledgeable owner. Splendid rooms, meals, staff, advice, trips and terrace. And thank you Eric for organising the cake and 'happy birthday' after a meal in one of the cities most classy restaurants - most enjoyable once my wife stopped cringing with embarrassment. I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedburgh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Eric the manager was the perfect host, keen to ensure that everyone was happy and providing help with getting around. The riad was really beautiful, traditional Morrocan style and very peaceful and quiet. I slept very well in my comfortable room off the central courtyard and enjoyed my breakfast on the roof terrrace. It was perfectly located in the heart of the old town. Difficult to find the first time without a guide as it is located at the end of a winding alleyway off one of the streets of the old town. Felt quite safe though as well lit and lined with flats for ordinary families.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivienS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We have been very pleased with this riad. It was our first time in Marrakech and we really enjoyed it. Eric gave us some really good tips of places to visit and restaurants to go to. He even booked for us restaurants and spa treatment (the real morrocan hamman/scrub/massage experience). The staff is very friendly and helpful also.
The location is very good and really central (plus the map Eric gave us on our arrival was really detailed and perfect to avoid getting lost - we had some friends staying in another riad and the map they were given in their riad, was definitely not as good as ours!!): a 10/15 minute walk from the Jemaa el fna place, 5min walk from the souk and 20min from the Majorelle garden. The food is excellent at the riad (we had diner there one evening- some very tasty tajine), breakfast is served until noon ( at least) so you don't have to worry about waking up on time for it, and mint tea with morrocan sweets is offered daily after 5, which is also really great! two things also to be noted: free wifi is available at the riad and they have a great roof terrace to enjoy the sun during breakfast!
Overall, a fantastic stay in Dar Malak, which we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florevanpoperinghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We recently stayed at Dar Marlak for a weeks holiday at the end of October. Eric met us on our arrival from the airport and after a very short walk into the Medina we entered Dar Malak and was very plesantly surprised! A beautiful court yard surrounded with rooms. We stayed in the Occient Suite. A very nice touch with the rose petals! All the staff at Dar Malak were extremely nice and very attentive and we couldn't have asked any more from them. Dar Malak is very well situated in the Medina, being only a 15 minute walk from the Square, and with Eric's very good directions we managed to not get lost!
We all had a wonderfull stay at Dar Malark and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamWhite1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Dar Malak is a beautful riad in a great location. The rooms were comfy, clean and peaceful afer the crazyness of the souks! Breakfasts are delicious. What really made the stay special though was the owner Eric. On our first night I accidently ate something with peanuts in (which I am allergic to) and I ended up needing to go to hospital. Eric was AMAZING and spent all of his Saturday night with us making sure we were ok. I can't imagine what would have happened if he hadn't been so kind. Thank you Eric!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hennie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#75 of 499 in Marrakech
2,134 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 499 in Marrakech
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#271 of 499 in Marrakech
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#59 of 499 in Marrakech
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Malak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Malak

Address: 20 derb Assabane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $58 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Malak 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Malak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing