We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Malak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Malak
Ranked #352 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

We had a lovely stay over four nights in the gorgeous Orient Suite at Dar Malak. The staff were fabulous and Eric was extremely helpful and informative in providing recommendations, bookings and advice. We opted to visit the local hammam with two members of Erics staff (segregated) and it was an amazing experience which I would thoroughly recommend.
Location is perfect - it's about 5 mins walk from the souks, 3 mins walk from the nearest taxi spot, 10 mins walk to the main square and it felt very safe.

The best thing about Dar Malak was the peace and tranquility. It was a little oasis and a cool beer in the evening after a day in the heat was just lovely. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Get the airport transfer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz0000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    13
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
33
53
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

A really peaceful place and a delightful and knowledgeable owner. Splendid rooms, meals, staff, advice, trips and terrace. And thank you Eric for organising the cake and 'happy birthday' after a meal in one of the cities most classy restaurants - most enjoyable once my wife stopped cringing with embarrassment. I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jedburgh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Eric the manager was the perfect host, keen to ensure that everyone was happy and providing help with getting around. The riad was really beautiful, traditional Morrocan style and very peaceful and quiet. I slept very well in my comfortable room off the central courtyard and enjoyed my breakfast on the roof terrrace. It was perfectly located in the heart of the old town. Difficult to find the first time without a guide as it is located at the end of a winding alleyway off one of the streets of the old town. Felt quite safe though as well lit and lined with flats for ordinary families.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivienS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

We have been very pleased with this riad. It was our first time in Marrakech and we really enjoyed it. Eric gave us some really good tips of places to visit and restaurants to go to. He even booked for us restaurants and spa treatment (the real morrocan hamman/scrub/massage experience). The staff is very friendly and helpful also.
The location is very good and really central (plus the map Eric gave us on our arrival was really detailed and perfect to avoid getting lost - we had some friends staying in another riad and the map they were given in their riad, was definitely not as good as ours!!): a 10/15 minute walk from the Jemaa el fna place, 5min walk from the souk and 20min from the Majorelle garden. The food is excellent at the riad (we had diner there one evening- some very tasty tajine), breakfast is served until noon ( at least) so you don't have to worry about waking up on time for it, and mint tea with morrocan sweets is offered daily after 5, which is also really great! two things also to be noted: free wifi is available at the riad and they have a great roof terrace to enjoy the sun during breakfast!
Overall, a fantastic stay in Dar Malak, which we would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florevanpoperinghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

We recently stayed at Dar Marlak for a weeks holiday at the end of October. Eric met us on our arrival from the airport and after a very short walk into the Medina we entered Dar Malak and was very plesantly surprised! A beautiful court yard surrounded with rooms. We stayed in the Occient Suite. A very nice touch with the rose petals! All the staff at Dar Malak were extremely nice and very attentive and we couldn't have asked any more from them. Dar Malak is very well situated in the Medina, being only a 15 minute walk from the Square, and with Eric's very good directions we managed to not get lost!
We all had a wonderfull stay at Dar Malark and would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamWhite1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Dar Malak is a beautful riad in a great location. The rooms were comfy, clean and peaceful afer the crazyness of the souks! Breakfasts are delicious. What really made the stay special though was the owner Eric. On our first night I accidently ate something with peanuts in (which I am allergic to) and I ended up needing to go to hospital. Eric was AMAZING and spent all of his Saturday night with us making sure we were ok. I can't imagine what would have happened if he hadn't been so kind. Thank you Eric!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hennie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Eric and his staff provided a warm welcome to the Riad Dar Malak and throughout our 2 night stay, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room was very clean and equipped with air conditioning. The location of the Riad is very handy - around 15 minutes walk to the main square through the bustle of the Souks - and around 5 minutes from a taxi rank. The breakfast was continental style. All in all we had a great stay at Dar Malak and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennakay_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#120 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#36 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#18 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#29 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#58 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Malak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Malak

Property: Dar Malak
Address: 20 derb Assabane | Riad Laarouss, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Malak 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Malak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing