We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A week in riad Assouel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assouel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Assouel
Ranked #134 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A week in riad Assouel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a lovely week at riad Assouel. The staff were so kind and helpful. There was a very hospitable welcoming feel to the riad. The trips organised were possibly slightly overpriced. There a few bits in the room that didn't work (bedside lamps etc). The decor was beautiful and the atmosphere created was peaceful and relaxing, despite being in the heart of the medina. Excellent location. We walked everywhere we wanted to visit in the city

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarkedv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    29
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
74
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice and private, good location (near jemaa el fna square) but a bit hidden in the smalls streets of the medina. Luxurious, big and comfortable rooms but a bit dark. Good people, the staff was extremely helpful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank efi_12_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This riad was chosen based on reviews and price for 4 persons in one room (£128). This riad is lovely and all other reviews are spot on when they say its a hidden gem! Walking up to the riad is definitely an experience with motorbikes zooming by but this is just a taste of marrakech and definitely wast you should expect! Once in the riad you'll be delighted with the cool peaceful ambience. We went in August and it was boiling hot! 49c one day at 4pm, but the riad remained a cool escape especially for a young family. Would I recommend, yes but maybe when it's cooler so you can walk around at ease...will return one day. Please note we are used to Dubai standard hotels....& have no complaints. As for any war zone style reviews that might put you off, then don't be just go for it and enjoy Marrakech! Nuhdeen, Mounir & Fatiwah were all lovely too!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Good rooms, lovely pool. Location is about 800m north of the Souks. This is the only Riad I stayed at, so can't really compare - but it felt a little bit on the expensive side for what it is. 20% cheaper and you'd be feeling - great place. Really enjoyed our stay though, and having a pool to cool off in is a godsend. Staff were helpful, after we checked in they ran through the various options of what we might want (guided tours, hamman etc) which didn't come across as 'selling', just very helpful when they know you're in town for two days and want to get the most out of it. If it's your first time in marrakech, I would recommend getting a guide to walk you around for the first half day (400 DH or 40 Euros), as the alleys of the Medina are pretty confusing (on my own on day 2, I went round and round in circles trying to find an ATM)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have to tell you I was a bit nervous booking inside the Medina and not a big hotel chain. This was my first trip to Marrakech but, I am certain it will not be my last. I booked this off the internet just from surfing around. When I arrived in Marrakech I was totally overwhelmed by the city. The Riad was very accomadating and came out and met us in the parking lot and brought us through the winding streets to this oasis. The minute you walk through the doors the sound of the city quiets. Also, I realized you can never know too many Muhammads. I mean that sincerely. Muhammad 1 checked us in and walked us around the entire Riad and up to the rooftop lounge area. Muhammad 2 walked us through the Medina to Jemaa el-Fnaa square. When we went out to a late dinner, the staff walked us to the restaurant and offered to walk us back as well. I also ate dinner at the Riad and the food was excellent. I needed a guide 1 day because I was left on my own and Muhammad 1 had one there in an hour for me. Very affordable and a great aura in this Riad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil'D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Me and my four friends visited Marrakech three weeks ago and had a splendid time. Riad Assouel really is an oasis of peace in the heart of the old town. Once you enter the building all city noises vanish, only the sounds of birds singing remain. Inside the riad there is a small pool, a palmtree and a relaxing-area with some couches where you can sit or grab a beer. The roof terrace is great for sunbathing and provides great views over the old town. The whole building is beautifully renovated in old style with mosaics and oriental lamps. The owners (a French couple) and the staff were very friendly and did everything to help (recommending restaurants, booking a camel ride) and make us feel comfortable. Rooms were generous and the beds fine. Breakfast was nice with fresh orange juice, pancakes and toast. Only small point of criticism: the shower didn't function completely according to plan, I had to hold it with my hand and it was hard to get the right temperature. Since I got the spaciest bedroom I feel I can't really complain about it. Especially while it was sunny and warm outside and I didn't need warm water anyway :-) My verdict: great Riad, great staff, fair price. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my friends in June 2013 and had a fantastic time!

A driver picked us up from the airport which was great and took us to the hotel. We didn't have to stress about where we were going and queuing to get currency at the airport but could just soak up the surroundings!

All the staff were soooo helpful and really looked after us at all times!

Mohammad the hotel manager was excellent and showed us places to go and how to get there plus all the available excursions but was not pushy in any way. If we wanted to approach them to do them great if not no problem! He also went out of his way to find out bus times and get us tickets to save us time while there which was really kind!

Our room was beautiful! We stayed in the Ourika Suite which was spacious and suited us perfectly!

We also did another excursion and got a driver from the hotel and we tailored it to suit us and again we could relax and soak up the culture. I would definitely recommend doing this as Marrakech is such a busy city and easy to get lost in but when you have a driver it takes away that stress and is really reasonably priced.

If you have a chance to stay here do it!,

Relaxing, tranquil, beautiful and really nice people that work there!

You may even learn some magic :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
#103 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#116 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#135 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Alfarah
Riad Dar Alfarah
#275 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Laila
Riad Laila
#127 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Ghali
Riad Ghali
#90 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assouel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assouel

Property: Riad Assouel
Address: 51 Derb Lalla Bent Lamri, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Assouel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Assouel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assouel Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing