We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A quiet spot in the Medina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Assouel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Assouel
Ranked #121 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A quiet spot in the Medina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The door opens on a scented, beautifully tiled corridor - and a smile. It was lovely to have such a restful place to return to after the souks and the main square. This is a great place to stay for a weekend look around Marrakech. The staff are absolutely great and endlessly helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
80
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Situated in the middle of the Medina and about 15 minutes walk from the main square, Jemaa El Fna, the Riad Assouel is absolutely to be recommended. One could never imagine the haven that greets the guests when entering the riad from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. The owners, Coralie & Stephan and the rest of the staff were unbelievable, they did everything to make us feel at home and make our stay something to remember.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagoa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Not good! The room we had was very small and damp! The whole place had a damp problem during our visit. The wiring in our room was dangerous and needed looking at urgently.
The furniture in the Riads public areas is old and in very poor condition! All in all not a good stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algarvesaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
one day closer to the tropics
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stay Here!!! you wont be disappointed. Beautiful Riad . Located in the center of the Medina very close to the souks and main square. Excellent customer service. I didnt happen to stay at this Riad but felt compelled to write the review after the owner came to my aid when I showed up on her doorstep after becoming lost in the medina . Graciously lending me her phone and allowing me to wait while my friends who had a much better sense of direction than my own came to fetch me.
Thanks Again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer2995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Very warm welcome and all best support in Marrakech.(whats important!).Nice and traditional/stylish interior-staff was very attentive and friendly!
We felt us so well in this house and will of course recommend the Assouel and the friendly managers Coralie and Stephan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Green L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Amazing place to visit. From the minute I booked the Riad Assouel and the trip to Morocco I was looking forwrad to it. Coralie and Stepan were wonderul. I was contacted by e-mail to see if I would like an arrival pick-up - most definitely recommend this as the Riad is hidden away amongst the alleways of the Medina. I was also asked if I'd like some food on arrival - the dinner was amazing. Moroccan food with rice and fruit - perfect after lots of travelling. Help was offered as and when we needed it and as it was my daughters 21st birthday we were surprised with a gorgeous chocolate cake and singing from the fabulous staff. Coralie recommended some great places to eat hidden away near the Riad and the Medina with amazing shopping about 5 minutes away. Would totally 100% recommend staying here. Just beautiful!

Room Tip: As I was travelling with my daughter - I booked suite which has lots of space and a separte bed for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LIZM2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights early October 2012 travelling as two couples.
Easyjet took us from Gatwick to Marrakesh airport, only just over 3 hours landing late afternoon walking from the airplane in hot sun having left the cold and rain behind.
For anyone who’s visited Turkey or Egypt, its fairly similar in respect to people wanting to help, but more polite, just say no if you’re OK.
Immigration was slow, two planes in, most booths having 1 person carrying out the checks for each of the 9 or so queues – just make sure you have completed your landing cards in full, it took 50 minutes for us
We pre-booked transfers with the Riad, and after baggage collection our driver was waiting with our names on a board, we walked a short distance to the car park and then started our journey to the city – it took 30-40 minutes to leave the car park with our driver negotiating our way out along with the other cars.
Inside the Riad there was no noise, sweet spicy aromas, a really peaceful and calm atmosphere. We checked in whilst drinking tea and Mohammed simply told us to make ourselves at home and go/sit wherever we wanted to. The various photos you see do justice, its very clean, very comfortable and plenty of nooks to hide away in.
Mohammed, and his helpers can advise and guide you around any point of direction or information.
We had no Dirham’s only a mix of Stirling and Euros – Mohammed changed our currency, (too time consuming to get to a bank), any meals/drinks/snacks could be paid in cash the night before we left, the rooms by card, all very easy.
We had booked a meal for that night in the Riad, the first of many Tagines, it’s a good idea to do this on your first as outside its fairly easy to get lost, and you wont just stumble across a restaurant.
Mohammed had asked us if we wanted to book any trips and had a comprehensive list with photos, there was no rush to choose or book, we had an idea what we wanted to do with our 2 full days so we just chose 2.
Day 1 - A half day city walk with a guide cost 30 Euros (300 Dirham) for 4 people from 09:00 – 14:00
We ate that night at Café Arabe, 10 minutes walk towards the square, good range of drinks and food, later on back to the square which by evening was full of musicians, storytellers, spice and orange juice stalls, fast eateries.
Word of warning, obvious, Marrakesh is safe, but keep your valuables close as there’s lots of activity (OK my Iphone went!).
Day 2 – A visit to a Berber market, waterfalls in the Atlas mountains 09:00 – 16:00 cost 120 Euros for 4 people.
The market is not a tourist one, very busy, but fascinating, the waterfall could pose a problem if you’re not up to scrambling over boulders, there’s no true path, the car driver will advise that a guide will accompany you for 5 Euros each, so ask if there are others with easier access when you book with Mohammed. Our guide was great, showing how to climb and where to put which foot! Lunch was by a cooling river, Berber Tagine this time.
With any trip these days, there is an underlining agreement that at some point you will arrive at a premises where products are demonstrated – and there a host of assistants to help you, its your choice, we declined one and sampled another, Moroccans vendors are not aggressive like Egyptian ones.
Marrakesh ticked all of the boxes for us, a place always on the list, it’s a place you can immerse yourself in.
We were very happy with Riad Assouel, the roof top terrace has casual seating a view of the roof tops and you can see over 6 Mosques, I say see, but the call to prayers in the early evening starts with one and moves across the rest a truly superb wave of calling, the location and the help offered were great too.
There are some large hotel complexes dotted around outside the city, they looked really nice, very comfortable – but your not in the Medina, being in make you part of it, its not scary.
A final recommendation for anyone travelling back to the airport from any Riad – give yourself plenty of time, we arrived at check in 20 minutes before it closed after a frantic push through morning traffic, immigration was incredibly slow, and don’t forget you need to complete an exit form.
Don’t worry as you cant obtain local currency outside Morocco, take Euros/Stirling, Visa/MasterCard fine in restaurants, some reports of American Amex cards not being accepted but best check for yourselves.

Room Tip: Each room is individual, has A/C etc - just look at the various photos and choose one - but be quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gossy-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#156 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Alfarah
Riad Dar Alfarah
#215 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Olema & Spa
Riad Olema & Spa
#116 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Chergui
Riad Chergui
#34 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Chi-Chi
Riad Chi-Chi
#147 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chafia
Riad Chafia
#43 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assouel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assouel

Property: Riad Assouel
Address: 51 Derb Lalla Bent Lamri, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Assouel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Assouel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assouel Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing