We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“In love with this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Alaka
Ranked #222 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In love with this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I can't rate this place more highly - what a wonderful introduction to our first visit to Morocco.

We arrived around 10am, via airport pickup which was organised by Riad Alaka just hours after we'd booked just a couple of months prior to our visit. The nice driver lead us through a small market, down a long alley dotted with doors and stray cats lazing in the sun, to a door I recognised from pictures seen on tripadvisor.

We were greeted by the very kind and approachable Aziz who brought us delicious mint tea and nibbles and gave us advice on places to go during our time in Marrakech. Sofiane was the other chap who looked after us from the evening until the morning, equally as wonderful and helpful. They would be there to answer any queries we had, even making the odd telephone call on our behalf, always with a friendly smile and manner. Aziz cooked us a delicious chicken tagine on our last night, the chicken had been cooking for hours and fell from the bone - YUM!

Riad Alaka itself was exactly what I was looking for - just beautiful. Located in the Medina, heavy old doors, colourful mosaic, amazing ironwork donning the windows, dreamlike white curtains billowing in the wind, AIR CONDITIONING!! So peaceful when returning from the hectic streets of Marrakech.

We were surprised to hear that we were the only two guests staying for the first couple nights. I thought the Riad's seven rooms would be fully booked at this time of the year. Secretly, the knowledge that this was all ours was fantastic, although, i'd love to go back with a group of friends.

The area around Riad Alaka at first, felt unnerving (I must travel more!), but after the first day I realised that this was a really lovely area with a fantastic community feel. About ten minutes walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa, we were away from the sometimes forceful, but fun atmosphere of the main square and souks surrounding, but our area was still busy with local people going about their day. One of my favourite things was seeing the young kids who lived in Riads down "our" alley, wearing their Barcelona football shirts kicking footballs between the narrow walls well into the early hours.

I would recommend Riad Alaka to anyone. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ant0nydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
74
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The riad lies in a quiet little alley in the medina. After the hectic pace and the noise of the city "coming home" to the peace and quiet of the riad and beeing greeted by Aziz, the soul of the place, felt sooo good. The dishes Aziz prepares with love and great skills are outstandingly delishes. As soon as the door closed itself behind us the day we had to leave we felt a very strong urge to come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This Riad is in the old medina, near an orienting landmark of a major mosque. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere peaceful and relaxing. We only wish we could have stayed longer in the Riad,Marrakech and Morocco.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BEIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Experienced relaxation from the minute we arrived at the Riad. Aziz welcomed us with fresh mint tea.....a drink to be had many times during our day...and was always equally tasty. We just loved the entire aura of the Riad. Great lounging areas around a centered open courtyard with a lovely pool.(I guess this is the central theme of a Riad) The rooms are decorated in typical Moroccan style with bright colors. Beds were extremely comfortable and bath rooms sufficient and clean. We tried out the hammam one afternoon as well as the massages. It was nice to not have to leave the Riad for these experiences. There was even a hot tub on the roof where you could enjoy your wine while soaking in the warmth. One evening, we took dinner at the Riad. What a fun evening! The owner actually had been visiting from Belgium as well. It is always a great experiencing sharing a table with travelers from all edges of the world. The food was delicious as well.....yummy homemade tangines and veggies. The staff was so accomodating. I had to wake up early one morning to prepare for the half-marathon and they made me basic breakfast earlier than the allocated time. It was so wonderful to retreat to the tranquility of the Riad after a hectic day of sightseeing in Marrakech. It really made our trip!! Would stay here again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doingstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This riad was beautiful and VERY clean. Aziz made us feel right at home. The riad was just a 15 minute walk away from Djemaa el fna. We stayed during the week of New Years Eve and Marrakech can get cold in the evenings in the December/January time frame...however, this riad had more than adequate heating. If I ever go back to Marrakech, I will definitely stay at this riad again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Aziz is a welcoming and charming host and this riad is very quiet and comfortable yet still very close to the centre of the old town. Lovely bathrooms with plentiful hot water and Aziz will always cook dinner as well as providing endless supplies of mint tea. Nothing is too much trouble. One tiny criticism - breakfast a little monotonous. Some eggs would be nice! But overall highly recommended and very reasonable prices

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Riad Alaka is a wonderful place to stay. It is beautifully restored and the rooms are luxurious. The terrace is a welcome respite from the craziness of Marrakech. Aziz is charming host.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#49 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Gallery 49
Riad Gallery 49
#51 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#147 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Misria
Riad Misria
#157 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Nour
Riad Al Nour
#66 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#38 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alaka

Property: Riad Alaka
Address: 35 Derb Alaka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alaka 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alaka is ideally located in the heart of the medina. It lies right at the entrance of the souks and at a few minutes’ walk from the exhilarating Place Jemna El Fna.This is a splendid property, a real haven of peace, decorated in the traditional Moroccan style. Guests will be struck by its elegant and relaxing charm. The tastefully decorated interior oozes passion and respect for Moroccan tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Alaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing