We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service, ideal location, beautiful Riad.”
Review of Riad Alaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Alaka
Ranked #281 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star service, ideal location, beautiful Riad.”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This Riad was absolutely lovely. I stayed here for 8 days with my sister for a relaxing/semi-exploring holiday. It couldn't have been better. The service was faultless. The staff there really bent over backwards to accommodate our every wish and need, and the service was so personal. Some examples: it was my sister's birthday while we were there, Aziz bought her a personalised cake, blew up balloons and surprised her with a birthday celebration! We needed some various items which we didn't know where to go to buy, when we asked him, he went out himself to buy them for us (AND wouldn't accept payment!). On one occasion we were having a lazy day by the pool and he cooked us a wonderful lunch without us even having asked and with no charge. We had pretty much free reign of the Riad and he ended up giving us a key so that we didn't have to worry about waking anyone up when we returned home late (one evening we got back at 4am!) For the majority of our stay we were the only guests in the Riad and they just treated us so well. We could literally have breakfast whenever we liked - there was no deadline! And some days we wouldn't have it until after lunchtime - they didn't mind a bit. Halfway through our stay Aziz offered us a change of room - and he upgraded us to a much bigger one, although we were literally given the choice of them all! On the day we were leaving too, our flight wasn't until the evening but that didn't matter in terms of checkout - we checked out at 5pm! The quality of the food was excellent, the breakfasts were delicious. The rooms were really, really lovely and extremely clean and comfortable. The plunge pool was amazing - and much needed in the 40 degree heat! The roof terrace was brilliant - we spent several days on there lazing around and topping our tans up, and it was really private. We found it a lovely escape from the bustling city, which of course was great but we did find we needed a break from it on the odd day. The Jacuzzi on the roof terrace was also great - especially at night when we got in from an evening out. The location of the Riad we found absolutely perfect as everything was within 10-15 minutes walk (main square, souqs, Sardian tombs, the new town, Majorelle gardens), and also we were 30 seconds from the best fresh fruit market in Marrakech. There are also many little local restaurants around the immediate local area which serve delicious amazing food for next-to-nothing prices. Plus, do not miss the Hammam and massage - an amazing experience! All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Riad and if I went back to Marrakech I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
79
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We all experienced the true meaning of hospitality in Riad Alaka, where no effort is too big for the Staff (Aziz, Soufian, Malika) to make you feel at home. In the busy city of Marrakech this is an oasis of luxury and rest. From the moment you cross the doorstep you feel at home in the setting of this unique Riad, that has been completely restaured with authentic materials and traditional craftmanship. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, tidy and offer the necessary privacy. There is a beautiful roof-terrace with jacuzzi, bar and hammam. In the Riad you can enjoy breakfast and traditional moroccan cooking for dinner.This is the ideal way to discover authentic Morocco with your family our friends in a comfortable way and at a very reasonnable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Riad Alaka, it is a beautiful riad in old town of the city, the rooms are gorgeous. We stayed in the Quazazad and Essaouira rooms and both of them have a great designs. There is a very nice roof terrace with jacuzzi. The riad is based in busy old town but you can't hear anything in the riad, you can really relax. The hospitality is fantastic you can feel like at home. Aziz was fab. We very much recommend the place. good location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tincholika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almond, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I stayed overnight at Riad Alaka a couple of weeks ago. From the moment Aziz greeted us with tea and cookies in their beautiful sitting room, I knew my brother made an excellent choice of accommodations. It was perfectly clean, looked newly redecorated and felt so luxurious while still being cozy and comfortable. The breakfast on the rooftop was so scrumptious and pleasant, I didn't want to leave. If I'm ever in Marrakech again, there's not other place I would consider staying. Thanks to Aziz and staff for making us feel so pampered.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is a beautiful and very special place to stay in Marrakech. Conveniently located, very clean and luxurious at a great price. I would highly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My wife and I had an absolutely wonderful 3 night stay at Riad Alaka, December 13- 16. In my opinion the Riad Alaka is ideally located away from the heavily touristed areas, in a more “real” area. It is a short walk to the craziness of Jemaa el-Fna and the souks or into the new city for some cocktails, which are needed after a day at Jemaa el-Fna. The rooms were spotless; the beds were absolutely comfortable, quiet and dark. The bathroom was also spotless and had a great shower. Whatever you do, DON’T MISS the Hamam. I promise you the Hamam is worth twice what they charge! They also have a Jacuzzi and offer a massage for a very reasonable fee. The location and the amenities of the Riad are first class, but the real highlight and heart of the Riad are Aziz, Soufiane and Malika. They are genuine, caring and helpful people. I believe they would give you the shirt off their back if you asked them! I felt like we were staying with friends rather than Riad hosts. I simply can’t say enough good things about their hospitality and warmth. We didn’t take dinner at the Riad because we wanted to savor as much of the street food as possible, but the breakfast was perfect for me. All-in-all a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cehula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We just had a wonderful two-day stay in Riad Alaka. We actually liked the location being in a genuine not touristy neighborhood. We felt very welcome. The room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Very quiet. Breakfast was good. Aziz, Malika and Soufiane were exceptional. There is a great terrasse with a hamman and a jacuzzi. We highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.1 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#151 of 499 in Marrakech
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Amina
Riad Amina
#115 of 1,139 in Marrakech
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Elixir
Riad Elixir
#528 of 1,139 in Marrakech
123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#366 of 1,139 in Marrakech
173 reviews
11.2 mi away
Le Cazar
Le Cazar
#9 of 1,139 in Marrakech
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alaka

Property: Riad Alaka
Address: 35 Derb Alaka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alaka 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alaka is ideally located in the heart of the medina. It lies right at the entrance of the souks and at a few minutes’ walk from the exhilarating Place Jemna El Fna.This is a splendid property, a real haven of peace, decorated in the traditional Moroccan style. Guests will be struck by its elegant and relaxing charm. The tastefully decorated interior oozes passion and respect for Moroccan tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prestigia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Alaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing