We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“GREAT RIAD, GREAT LOCATION, GREAT STAFF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Alaka
Ranked #249 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT RIAD, GREAT LOCATION, GREAT STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We are a group of 4 friends who go away every year for a girly weekend. We found this fantastic Riad after looking at another one on Trip Advisor. I contacted the owner but it was full, she however said she owned another one, Riad Alaka. We arrived late atfernoon and Aziz the Riads' manager had arranged for someone to pick us up from the airport. We were dropped at a taxi rank where Aziz met us. We followed him through a maze of alleyways of red walls until we came to the Riad. Once inside we were amazed how lovely it was. We had booked the 2 suites but got a chance to look at the other rooms. The decor was traditional Moroccan colours with traditional furniture and accessories. The whole Riad was beautiful. There is a jacuzzi on the roof top along with sunbeds and chairs as well as a shaded lounge area where you could relax. We also had breakfast there each morning. Breakfast consisted of crepes, fresh bread, preserves,cake and natural yoghurt washed down with fresh orange juice and your choice of hot drink. The Riad is a 15 minute walk to Djemaa el Fna and you soon get used to the beep of the scooters and the madness of their driving. Once you reached the main square you cannot believe how big and chaotic it is, Full of snake charmers, henna tattooists, fresh orange juice (amazing and costs about 30p for a glass), Yes you do get hasselled by the stall holders, restaurant staff, taxi drivers, horse and carriage drivers, all wanting you to use there services or buy from them, but not in an aggressive way. They use phrases like 'we're cheaper than Primark'. We ate most nights for around £5 per head and had some nice meals. After a hard days bartering in the heat it was great to return to the calm and tranquil Riad and get into the plunge pool. You have to be brave but it is sooo refreshing. We didn't use the Hamman but those who did said it was very good. Aziz and the Riads other staff Soufian and Malika were always on hand to get you drinks or give you advice and were very friendly. At night we went into the Old City and the New City but it was lovely to return to the Riad and have a relaxing drink on the rooftop.

Room Tip: The Suites are only 10 euros per night extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
74
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

For the first time in our life, we tried a Riad. What a marvellous experience! The Riad is modern with a nice pool at the ground floor and a pleasant terrace on the top. The rooms are spacious and well arranged with all the commodities. The welcome is friendly and , last but not least, the cooking was excellent. Hamman, jacuzzi and massage are possible.
To be done again!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Perfect stay. I would recommend this Riad to anyone traveling to Marrakech. As the other reviewers said, the riad is beautiful,confortable, clean, and the food is great. Its 10 min walk to Djema el Fna, just far enough to avoid noise...Its also about 10 min walk to Jardin majorelle. A MUST. and you can easily get to medressa ben youssef and maison de la photographie from the riad too.
All and all was AMAZING but what really made this riad standing out is the staff. They are professional, helpful and will do everything to make your stay the best one possible. THANK YOU TO AZIZ AND SOUFIANE for your warm welcome and for making our stay so memorable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ps: we stayed in Essaouira Room. it was big enough. bathroom very clean. we were concerned about the size of the room before getting there but in the end it was, as I said. PERFECT. oh. and by the way. there is a jacuzzy and hammam on the roof top!!!
*************************
Merci a monsieur Aziz et a Soufiane pour l'accueil memorable que vous nous avez reserve. Nous avons passé d'agreables moments en votre compagnie. Vous avez fait toute la difference. Que Dieu vous comble.

Vanessa et Alix

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaLoveParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Really nice riad with very comfortable rooms at reasonable prices. Moroccan breakfast offered and evening meals available if requested.

The best thing about this riad was it's central location and ease to get to the main square. My last stay in Marrakesh I spent ages getting lost but this was not the case here.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Didn't use all of the facilities such as Hamam etc but would recommend if you have the time. Recommend you take up offer of airport transfer as it was easy, good value and convenient.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indigoStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

My Girlfriend and I stayed here over Valentines weekend and both had a great time. The Riad itself is lovely; it is beautifully decorated with an authentic Moroccan feel running through it. The rooms were great with comfy beds and peaceful surroundings and the terracotta shower was a real novelty.

Breakfast was also fantastic with a nice selection of things to eat. But above all, the thing that really stood out to us was the friendliness of the staff; they were amazing and couldn’t do enough for you. I would recommend this Riad to anyone; yes it is a 10 to 15 min walk from the main square. But the fact it’s away from the main tourist sites and set in its own neighbourhood kind of gives it some charm. My girlfriend and I didn’t find this short walk to the square a chore at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcossebre, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights- the rooms were very nicely done in the traditional Morrocan style- the bed was extremely comfortable- we had 2 dinners prepared there and they were both very tasty-
the wine was good as well- the mint tea kept coming whenever you asked for it-
the only food that compared to the riad´s was at the Mother Earth cafe that serves
anexcellent vege and vegan range- be prepared for the 4am call to prayers...it resoun ds around Marrakesh- Cliff

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cliff1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrmarkus
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

The riad is located at a traditional food market and 10 mins from the main square.
The service is very kind. The host Aziz even arranged a purchase for us.
The rooms are clean and nicely decorated.
The riad offers a peaceful place and is just what you need when travelling to Marrakesh.
Overall a very nice Riad.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#15 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad d'Airain Marrakech
Riad d'Airain Marrakech
#346 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Nour
Riad Al Nour
#57 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
#29 of 251 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Gallery 49
Riad Gallery 49
#53 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#50 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alaka

Property: Riad Alaka
Address: 35 Derb Alaka, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alaka 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alaka is ideally located in the heart of the medina. It lies right at the entrance of the souks and at a few minutes’ walk from the exhilarating Place Jemna El Fna.This is a splendid property, a real haven of peace, decorated in the traditional Moroccan style. Guests will be struck by its elegant and relaxing charm. The tastefully decorated interior oozes passion and respect for Moroccan tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Alaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing