We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful end to our hoenymoon”
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
Ranked #103 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
1 review
“Beautiful end to our hoenymoon”
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The Riad itself is lovely, and utterly spotless. We had the suite which was decorated beautifully and with great detail in the Morroccan style. We were there for 4 nights. This is a great place to get looked after - the staff are very attentive but not lingering, and anything you ask is no trouble. The food in the riad is authentic and of great quality - however, be warned, it comes in vast quantities and I defy two people to finish two main courses from the menu. The treatments available in the hammam are a great way to spend a bit of time too.

The location of the Riad is 20 minutes from the main square, and the walk takes you through everyday life in the medina which we enjoyed but is a bit manic.

We would return no doubt about it, and would recommend the Riad with no hesitation. Very smily, helpful staff, very clean and beautiful, good location and nice atmosphere. Made a fuss of us because it was our honeymoon. Good value for money in terms of accomodation, food, drinks and treatments.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaydeecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    67
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
102
499
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

To get to this wonderful Riad you are led down some alleyways by a member of staff who greet your taxi on the main street. The smells and sights that greet you are truly awsome, you do wonder though where you are being led. At the end of the last alley is a huge door, what lies behind it is amazing, an oasis of calm is the only way to describe it. The rooms are beautiful, with everything you could want or need, the staff are all so welcoming and friendly, nothing is too much bother.This Riad is in the middle of a busy area, where everything that you need to see is not too far away, walking is the best way to see Marrakech and the staff go out of their way to make you aware how safe the city is even late at night, and at no time did we feel unsafe. The food at the Riad was lovely too, they serve wonderful Morrocan dishes and they make you feel like royalty.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We spent a lovely weekend here in a riad wheich seemed very authentically refurbished. The location whilst about 20 mins from the Djemma is in a genuine Moroccan area and our wanders through gave insight to the local culture. The rooms are smallish but then that is the style of a riad. Attention to detail was perfect and Abdess and all the staff were unfailing helpful and genuinely welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EC1hopefultravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We spent 4 night at the riad with friends with whom we have often traveled for 18 years; 2 Americans & 2 Australians. Between us we have visited over 60 countries, many together. We have never been as warmly received nor better cared for as here. Wadi and Abdess manage the riad with incredible attention to detail and responsiveness to all requests. All the staff were superb.

We ate at the riad the first night and again the last. The latter we requested a special meal, not on the menu, of roast shoulder of lamb with various side dishes. It was incredible, equaling that we had at Dar Yacout but at a fraction of the price.

Everything others have written about the quietness, comfort and cleanliness of the rooms as well as the tranquility of the setting are true. Stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShadowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Enjoyed a stay in this delightful Riad. Staff very attentive to your needs. Wadi was especially helpful, making sure that we were well looked after and booking tickets and arranging transport for us. Nothing was too much trouble, met at airport, taken to Raid, and you certainly need this kind of support if you have never traveled to Morocco before. The rooms were well appointed, Hot shower, fruit and chocolates and a guide with lots of information to local attractions. We had a wonderful meal at the Riad. We ate out a lot but this meal was certainly one of the best in Marrakesh. You can either sit under the stars or in a wonderful decorated and charming room on the ground floor. Breakfast was also very good. Thanks to Wadi, who made our stay so lovely, we will be back.

Tips, only arrange taxis, local eating places through the Riad, Staff who have a wealth of experience and able to advise or best eating places. Also taxis are best arranged by them, or you could well end up lost and be ripped off from local taxi drivers.
One disappointment was that we hired a official guide to take us the first day around Marrakesh. Interesting to start with and gained lots of knowledge. However be warned, and the end of the morning we ended the day in local 'friends and relatives shops' with a high sell and was told this was for 'education purposes only'. This was not the case, it was clear that we were taken there to buy goods and this felt very uncomfortable and not a pleasant experience.

Also there are local well presented dressed men, who speak good English who will come up to you in the main square of Marrakesh making out they are staff from your Riad/hotel and offer to show your around. They appear very convincing, and friendly, and if feeling tired after a day of travel, it is easy to fall for this. , I heard many stories of the of people who have been caught out. They simply work on commission to take you to family shops and local eating places. Be very careful not to fall for this scam.

Best as previous stated, is to organize everything through the Riad, this proved to be our best move and certainly a least expensive one.

Thanks to all, for making our trip and very memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwendelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

This riad has a professional attitude towards the visitors, while at the same time they make sure you feel welcome and they will help you with whatever problem you might have.
They will take care of absolutely everything for you (restaurants, drivers,guides, trips,...)
we even got a nice welcoming gift!
Great riad.
A bit more expensive then compareble riads in the rest of Morocco, but it's in the middle of Marrakech!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We are already thinking about when we can visit this wonderful Riad and City again! From the moment we were met from the airport to the moment we left nothing was a problem - lovely, warm old fashioned service (UK hotels take note!) At first I thought the location was a little out of the way – about 20 min walk to Jamal el fna, but the walk was very easy and you didn’t have to negotiate the souk if you don’t want to. Wadi, Abdess, Mustafa and all the staff at Riad El Mansour were just charming - friendly and welcoming at all times. I would recommend this Riad and City to anyone, we loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickeroony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Morgane
Riad Morgane
#331 of 499 in Marrakech
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Marrakech
L’Hotel Marrakech
#263 of 499 in Marrakech
19 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#35 of 499 in Marrakech
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#389 of 499 in Marrakech
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#9 of 499 in Marrakech
1,333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Property: Riad El Mansour
Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#57 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 bedroom hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing