We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Charming Riad, delightful staff and excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
Ranked #33 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Suffolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming Riad, delightful staff and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Would agree with all previous comments about this Riad. It is a delightful place to stay. The staff are wonderful and do eat in at least once, the food is the best we had in Marrakech, cooked fresh to order. The location down the ubiquitous alleys is daunting at first, but you soon realise that it is as safe as they say it is. It provided what for me was the essence of Marrakech ie. the contrast between the sensory overload within the Medina and the peace and tranquility once you step off the streets and go behind those big wooden doors. A day trip with 'Smail' to the Atlas mountains was expensive but well worth it...I wouldn't have missed it. He epitomised the gentle courteousness of the majority of the people we met. Have a Hammam....you have to experience it to describe it!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pensi0ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    63
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
488
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

This is a great riad with a really attentive staff near Bab Boulud, approximately a 15-20 minute walk from Djemma el Fna and the souks. The best feature of the riad is the staff: they go out of their way to help you do things, even suggesting some local shops where I could buy things for less money (and with less hassle) than I could in the souks. I'd recommend this place to anyone coming to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mxl277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

Just back from a four night stay booked on the recommendation of others on Tripadvisor. Frankly its hard to add anything that hasn't already been said. Abdess, Waadi and the Team are the epitome of customer service and could not do enough for us. I am sure that some people would be put off by the location of the Riad particularly on first arrival ...but they musn't be. People are kind and friendly and at no time did we feel remotely unsafe before or after dark. Abdess is happy to arrange taxis and ,if you are at all concerned ,you can be walked to the door. Day trip arranged to the Atlas Mountains was a particular highlight but be warned that the "walk" to the waterfall is more like a rock climb and strong footwear and nerves are highly recommended! If you want to stay in the centre of the action and get a proper sense of the real Marrakech it is hard to imagine finding a better palce to stay than the Riad El Mansour. Superb!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

We booked this riad based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, and were not at all disappointed, and even having read such great things about it, we were still very impressed. The outside of the riad gives no warning of how gorgeous the place is once the door is opened. The decor is beautiful and feels really intimate because it is so small. This is a place for people fed up with the impersonal style of huge, generic hotels. We had the suite, which had the biggest, most beautiful carved wooden four poster bed. We loved having breakfast each day on the terrace in the sun. The menu is not very extensive but the french bread and freshly squeezed orange juice was the perfect way to start the day.

As has been said many times before, the staff absolutely make the holiday, particularly Abdess. We were treated like treasured guests from the very beginning, but it never felt suffocating, they were very unobtrusive, we loved the twice daily maid service! It was my birthday on the second day, every member of staff wished me a happy birthday during the day, and I was given a candle holder and bottle of wine. We felt extremely pampered.

We both had the hamman and massage package, which was lovely and relaxing and we would definitely recommend it, although space restricts them from doing both people at the same time so the second person does have a bit of a wait.

People have mentioned in previous reviews that the location is not the best. The riad is at the end of a few small alleyways which can be confusing on the first day and dark at night, but we very quickly learnt our way, and we actually loved being in the thick of the old town. Most of the big hotels are out in the new town, and you could be anywhere. When you come away you'll appreciate having seen life in the medina. Contrary to what we'd read about Marrakech, we were never hassled around the riad, as it's not a touristy area, and we also felt safe, even at night.

In short, worth every penny, you must go here!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayfair82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfries
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

Having recently returned from a first visit to Marrakech I was lucky enough to experience the superb hospitality offered by Abdess and his staff at this delightful Riad.
For those who have not been to Marrakech before it can be quite a daunting place. The old walled city, where the Riad is situated, is a chaotic, noisy place where, if not careful it is extremely easy to get disorientated and then completely lost.
However Riad El Mansour is the perfect antidote. Centered on a tranquil courtyard this 200 year old building is nearer to a small palace. Each room has been carefully and sympathetically restored offering a great blend of modern facilities whilst retaining the integrity of the building.
However the real highlight of this hotel is the staff, led by Abdess. From the moment of arrival they never tire of serving any request. So much so that after a day they will anticipate your need`s.
I would urge any visitor to take their advice on touring and recommendations on restaurants. For the unwary it is very easy, almost mandatory, to be overcharged. Rely on these staff from the moment you arrive and you will get the best from Marrakech
A superb, relaxing hotel with excellent staff.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comlongon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uzes, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

I'm not going to waste your time reading what has been said before a couple of dozen times. However I will just reinforce why you should use El Mansour. We are hotelliers and own and run a small , quite similar, place in South of France and you can believe what we say.

It's all true , this place is wonderful. High point without any doubt is the quite exceptional service provided by Abdess and the staff. Nothing, absolutely nothing is missed by them - they sort problems and anticipate your needs without fuss and make you feel that helping you is a very great pleasure to them. Food is great, public spaces are great - bed rooms and most public rooms are no smoking which is essential these days but difficult to find . Rooms are immaculate and beutifully decorated - They are rather dark as the windows are half glazed but that will be a benefit in summer and is absolutely original. They are also long and thin. Why - because you cant use a palm trunk as a beam over 2.5m long or it will bend and there were no other big trees useable for construction in the 18th and 19th century..

There are fancier places, there are cheaper places but I bet nowhere has the level of personal service provided here. I would give Abdess a job tomorrow - he is a star!

Dont waste your time searching any further.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimothyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Just got back from a 4 night stay in the Riad El Mansour and I have nothing but positive things to say about it. The Rooms are well decorated, and the Riad is full of charming communal areas in which one can relax and meet other guests. However, what made our stay so special, were the people working at the Riad. Right from our arrival we were made to feel most welcome and were treated less like visitors and more like part of the family. Oh and if you get the chance, have a Hamann in the Riad, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markrhLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#24 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#31 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#54 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Property: Riad El Mansour
Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing