We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN OASIS IN MARRAKECH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
Ranked #35 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AN OASIS IN MARRAKECH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I spent 5 memorable days at this Riad. After a hot and busy sightseeing day, Riad Mansour is a tranquil, tastefully decorated, oasis of calm. Without exception, all of the staff are polite and friendly, willing to respond to your individual needs and requests.They are led by Abdess and Wadi but all work together as one team to create a very memorable experience. The service levels are that of a 5 star hotel, but much more personable. The breakfasts were sumptuous, a great vaiety of options from continental style to hot omlettes and is served in your chosen location in the Riad. We ate dinner twice in the Riad and the food was traditional Morrocan style, beautifully presented and very tasty. The local wines were good quality too!
I stayed in the Jasmine Suite which was decorated and adorned with Moroccan artifacts. A very powerful shower with constant hot water and very comfortable bed and quiet A/C. The rooms are regularly serviced throughout the day with complimentary drinking water, nuts and fruits.
Lots of nice touches, i.e the turn down service at night.
All of the tour buses and guides suggested by the Riad were very interesting and informative, great value for money and the style of the guide matched the style of the Riad...nothing was too much trouble and the day was controlled by yourself.
The Riad is a level, 15 minute walk, to the Souk and main Square area but this is welcomed after such hearty food portions. Great to see the local culture too.
On reflection, I can highly recommend Riad Mansour for a city break with outstanding personal service and high levels of Moroccan charm and beauty. The owners should be truly proud of their Riad and their amazing staff.

Room Tip: This Riad is very tranquil and I looked at all the rooms. They are all slightly different and some l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    63
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
99
488
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This Riad is a bit off the beaten path but that provides for very quiet evenings. It is very small but lovely and the staff are truly exceptional. The breakfasts were the best (that's what my kids said) and the staff went out of there way for us...including going to the pharmacy to buy the medication I had forgotten. We had the Saphire suite which is good for families, but was small for ours and it is dark!! That was the ONLY issue…. It was clean and had every amenity!! 3 fits best in the room, but they added an extra bed for our son. We had a lot of luggage so felt a bit cramped, but again we were very comfortable and enjoyed the peace and quiet this Riad provided. This might be best for couples…or perhaps get 2 rooms if you have older children like ours. We are AMerican and have been expats for 14 years so our expecations are a bit high as we have done so much traveling. However, I would recommend this without hesitation!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBFExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAINES UPON THAMES UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have just returned from Riad El Mansour, having just spent 4 wonderful days there to celebrate
my 60th birthday with 8 friends, and we booked all 6 rooms.
All the previous review of El Mansour are so accurate, which is why I came to book this special place.
Wadi and Abdess lead their team with professionalism, to deliver very high levels of customer service.
Everyone is so polite,courteous and helpful, and nothing is too much trouble for any of the team.
All you need to do is ask, and every request is fulfilled.
I have travelled the world extensively for the past 42 years, and I would go as far as to say that the service in Riad El Mansour actually surpasses most high class hotels.
Everything from breakfast to dinner was delivered in very personalised style.
We ate dinner twice in the Riad, and the food was sumptuous, plentiful and beautifully presented-Moroccan cuisine at its best, and all freshly prepared by Latifa the in house cook.
All personal requests were actioned immediately, and all the staff without exception, constantly checked that they were meeting your individual needs and expectations.
All tourist/tour info was given honestly with lots of recommendations and maps, and all guides and drivers met the same high standard as delivered in the riad.
We did a tour to The Ourika valley and also visited a Berber house which was extremely interesting.
Our driver Hicham was very informative, and made the day very enjoyable with his fun humour.
The riad will book any tour for you, and Wadi or Abdess will also recommend and book any restaurant for you.
Marrakech is a superb place to visit, and it is mayhem in the medina and souks, and you have to be careful to dodge the numerous bikes/motorcycles in the narrow alleys, but as soon as you return to Riad El Mansour, it is an oasis of calm and very tranquil.
All rooms are decorated in classical Moroccan style, and all areas are well fitted and accessorised with lots of extras, i.e fresh fruit, nuts, pastries, flowers, drinking water and toiletries.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and regularly serviced.
We drank the local wines which are available from the riad, and they were very palatable.
All in all, this was an extremely memorable birthday and vacation which I can highly recommend.
Riad El Mansour is definitely high on my list for a return visit.
Thanks again-Wadi, Abdess, Mustapha, Latifa, Nadia, Sana, and Mourad-you are the best.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perryoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

THE GOOD
It has been said before many times about the service which is like all the other positive reviews, True.
The hotel is a relaxed haven and the staff go the extra mile to ensure you are enjoying you stay.
An extra thank you to Nadia who was so nice to us, there is something very special about having breakfast where and when we wanted, and to be greeted every morning by her smiling face.

One lasting memory will be at dusk when we sat on the terrace with a drink and listened to the call to prayer, a very mesmerising and perhaps even a humbling experience.

As for our room, Abdess, the owner really has thought of everything, in our room on the day of arrival was a personalised welcome card, a map and a small bottle of Argan oil to try. (I purchased a large bottle to bring back home) twice daily maid service, shoe shine, replenished mineral water, fruit and flowers daily. It does put many 5 star hotels to shame.

THE BAD
Having to leave, we really came back so relaxed after hammams, massages and being truly looked after.

THE UGLY
None!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philomema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic find if you want a stay within Marrakech's walled city within 10 to 15 minute walk from the centre in a 6 bedroomed Riad with friendly, helpful staff and tasty home cooking. All 6 rooms have a different Morrocan theme with fresh fruit, nuts and dates and fresh pastries daily. Don't be put off by the walk down the unattractive alley-like street on entering the Riad. If you book direct with the Riad El Mansour you will be met at the airport by the Riad driver and escorted to the door. This really is an oasis within the busy streets of Marrakech. The staff pride themselves on service and you are made to feel at home. We ate dinner twice in the Riad and the food and wine were traditional and tasty in huge portions. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace under shade. We were never rushed and were told we could have our breakfast whenever we wanted, wherever we wanted. Wadi, Abdess and Mustapha were friendly hosts and Abdess spent time on our first morning explaining how to navigate Marrakech's streets on the map. We spent one day visiting the Atlas Mountains with Mustapha as our driver and guide, stopping off at various shops wherever we wanted. We then climbed up to view a waterfall. The whole day was lovely up in the cooler mountains of 24 degrees whilst the temperature was reaching 38 degrees down in Marrakech, a heat wave for April. We stayed in the Verbena room. It was a lovely shade of green with gold curtains and a TV and DVD player. The attention to detail in each room like fresh roses and silver accessories in the bathroom with big, thick soft towels and complimentary shampoo and scented toilet paper (!) gave us a comfortable Morrocan stay and we will definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 38Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Brilliant place. Don't be put off by the location. All part of the experience. Fantastic service. Nothing was too much trouble. Perfect haven from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Can't speak too highly of the staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is our third visit to Marrakech and always stayed in a western style hotel on the outskirts of the city. The Riad El Mansour is a first experience of Moroccan accommodation and hospitality and the realisation of what we've been missing.
We arrived very late in the evening after being taken to the wrong address by the taxi company. Nothing to do with El Mansour who would have provided a taxi service had we not already booked in advance. Not a good start but once we entered the Riad into "another world" all was forgotten. The staff members couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay and special thanks go to Wadi, Abdess and Mustafa. Abdess gave us ideas of where and what to do in Marrakech with marked up map. It's about 15 minute walk to the Jma Fnaa Square if you take the route through the Souks which is much more interesting but watch out for crazy motor cycle riders. We met Mustafa (who else?) an official government guide in Foucault Square who believe it or not gave us a free tour of the old town's alley ways and hidden gems. We did end up at a carpet shop but no commitment was expected and no hassle given.
A word of warning - be aware of the height of Riad doors. I will have the head scars for some time to come.

Room Tip: Jasmine room is a good choice and as is custom rooms face inward
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#18 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#24 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#31 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#56 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Property: Riad El Mansour
Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing