We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Outstanding Riad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac
Ranked #103 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you're visiting Marrakech, you've got to stay in the Medina--and I can't imagine there are many better places to stay than the Riad El Mansour. You're within easy walking distance of the main attractions but you're also in the heart of a residential district where you'll have the opportunity to experience life in the Medina at first hand. The Riad itself is beautiful and the staff are all lovely. Don't hesitate to order dinner--the food is delicious, the portions are huge, and the wine is reasonably priced. It doesn't feel like eating in a restaurant--more like a special treat laid on by friends. Abness and Wadi are incredibly helpful--they'll take care of restaurant reservations, ordering cabs, etc. It's worth using the car service to and from the airport--it may be slightly more expensive than a cab but it's money well spent and the driver (whose name I can't remember) is charming.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 831 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We've just returned from our four night stay in Marrakech and highly recommend Riad El Mansour as a great place to experience the city from. It's so peaceful and relaxing inside which was welcome after our days out exploring the busy medina. Our room, Jasmine, was beautifully decorated, very clean and comfortable and the complimentary bottled water and fruit each day was a nice touch. The staff here are fantastic - so helpful and friendly, booking taxis and restaurants for us and walking us to and from the main street on our first day so we didn't get lost in the winding alleys! Mustafa was great - he met us off the plane with a huge smile and warm handshake, kindly waited whilst we changed our money at the airport, and showed us around the riad when we arrived. We also really appreciated Mustafa and Abdess showing us the routes into town on the map, giving us tips on what to do and pointing out the "must-sees". The food at the riad was also excellent - we ate dinner there twice and couldn't finish the huge portions! Highly recommend trying the fish pastilla which was my favourite dish. Back in chilly London, I'm definitely missing the generous breakfasts on the sunny roof terrace! Also have to mention the great service from Wadi and the young girl whose name we didn't catch. The only thing I can think of that might be a possible down side for some people is that it is located near the edge of the medina - but this meant it was quiet and we enjoyed walking (only about 20 minutes) to the centre each day, taking in the sights, sounds and smells along the way, so really it was a plus point for us. The only thing I regret is not getting around to trying out the hammam! Thank you to the staff at Riad El Mansour for making our stay in Marrakech so special.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roonana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Not a great hotel a FAB hotel.
It surely has to the best hotel we have ever visited, it certainly ranks amongst the friendliest and intimate we have ever been.
The staff are genuinely there to make your stay special, they care about you and always smile, it seems they are happy to be part of such a good team.
Our room the Amber Suite was beautiful, with a wonderful wooden ceiling. The riad has wonderful original features and a lovely sunny peaceful terrace.
There was a welcome card and map and complimentary Argan Oil in the room.
There are bathrobes and slippers and the room is made up twice a day.
There is a small gymnasium upstairs wit a running machine and weights along with a hammam and massage room
Food was great and large portions, we ate there for lunch and dinner, and of course breakfast.
You will leave Riad El Mansour happy and dreaming to go back for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheldon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went two weeks ago for a 3 day long weekend. The riad is gorgeous inside. We stayed in the Amber Suite which was equally enchanting.

About the riad - Abness and Wabi on the front desk were incredibly helpful from before we arrived and even emailed us when we got home. They made sure we had everything we needed, gave us maps and told us where to go and avoid, helped us by booking restaurants and ordering taxis. We tried the traditional hammam treatment - quite an experience! We ate dinner there one night as we were tired but I would probably spend the money and venture out instead. Breakfast on the rooftop was lovely every morning in the sun.

About Marrakesh - we dressed modestly outside the riad, it's also quite dusty so carry water around, you walk A LOT so comfy shoes are more important that stylish for day time, at night in the tourist places you can dress up, best to eat in tourist places.

Things to see/do - the souk is nicer than I imagined and the sellers weren't too aggressive, go to Cafe France for great views of the sunset, stick to the tourist routes in the Medina. In the new city - lots of walking and parks, the Yves St Laurent garden and more modern places to eat. Everything is closed in the new city on a Sunday.

Overall I would highly recommend Riad El Mansour for a fantastic way to experience Marrakesh.

Room Tip: The Amber Suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place is nothing but the best experience I ever had. Very friendly staff – all of them. Talk about going extra miles! After seeing me struggling, she volunteered and stitched couple buttons of my shirt which fell off. Again, at the middle of the night I went to the rooftop for a smoke, Wadi came up 3 floors, set up chairs, water, ashtray, flicked on the lights, and even willing to keep me company. Abdeh always made sure I am well taken care of. I met the owner, a perfect English Gentleman. I was travelling alone, and he said, if I’m in trouble anywhere in the city, just give him a call, and he has the ability to take care of it. Breakfast was excellent, and more than what I could eat. There was fresh fruit platter every morning in the room and bottled water. Yes, there is no compromise with the money part, which I don’t expect. It’s a business after all, and livelihood of the staff depends on it.
Only problem is to find your way back to the Riad. I had to ask local help to bring me back pretty much every evening. It the guide would cost you 10 Dhm. Taxi doesn’t go up to the entrance, so a bit of walking is involved. The Medina is very safe, no matter how late you return. Enjoy you stay at El Mansour, you won’t regret it.

Room Tip: Stairs are narrow, so if you have a lot of luggage, try the lower floor. All the rooms are equally g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaustuv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Riad el Mansour was everything and more it promised to be from our research on Trip Advisor: a haven of peace set in the heart of bustling, ancient Marrakech. Our room combined charm with scrupulous cleanliness and attention to deail (slippers, gowns, powerful shower unit, fresh fruit and flowers). Back in Blighty I am missing breakfast on the sunny terrace. But it is the people who rfeally provide the warmth, so thank you Wadi, Abdess and Mustafa, and all the staff who made our sojourn at Mansour so memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Such a lovely review, and thank you for leaving it for us.
We do like to provide our guests with those little extras such as slippers and quality bathroom products and bathrobes, along with fresh flowers, complimentary water in the room, and fruits and pastries, It is we feel, what makes us stand out from the crowd.
Marrakech is still hot and sunny, and breakfast is always a memory that our guests enjoy.. a peaceful start tot he day being waited on whilst eating in the sun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were two female mature but intrepid travellers who chose this riad for our four night stay in Marrakesh because of the glowing trip advisor comments we had read - and we were so glad we did.We can only endorse what everyone else has said about this beautiful place which is made extra special by the fantastic staff. Wadi and Abdess always had our welfare at heart and this personal touch is the jewel in this riad's crown. We must also give our taxi driver Mustapha top rating too...what a delightful character.
We would not hesitate to recommend this riad for the warmth of the staff, the cleanliness, the beauty of the building which is tastefully furnished ......plus the delicious breakfasts.
Our first night in the area was a culture shock but by the last evening we were so comfortable we even promised to return and have mint tea with the local butcher!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jonquil room on the first floor which was small but tastefully decorated. The stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for the positive review, it is very much appreciated that you took your time to do it.
We are aware there are many choices out there to stay in Marrakech and pleased you chose Riad El Mansour from the mass that are in Marrakech.
We do feel we do stand out from the crowd with our excellent staff, we have been running for almost 7 years now, and think we have it right now!
You have to come back for that mint tea from the Butcher now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#39 of 500 in Marrakech
1,324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#132 of 500 in Marrakech
321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac

Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $143 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac is the best Desert Sahara Hotel in Marrakech Morocco . Where you will have an unforgettable Desert experience . We offer Single Tents , Double , Triple and group Tents . benefits an unique situation to the world: precisely facing the mythical village of the Agafay Desert Situated about thirty kilometers from the ocher city, this little-known gem stretches over several hundred hectares on the first heights of the High-Atlas massif. Its arid landscapes made of stones and rocks offer an immense panorama rhythmic by white dunes whose shape and color evoke those of the Saharan dunes of Erg Chebbi. Thereis an extraordinary Saharian traditional experience sleeping in Tents under the stars . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghwirate Taalab Bivouac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing