We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good”
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
Ranked #97 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

had a 3 night stay here and really enjoyed it. Abdess was very helpful in making reservations, arranging transportation to our next city, etc. The Hammam was also quite nice. I could've used a couple of more! Great location, overall, would stay here again without thinking twice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Manager at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review.

The hammam is a must for most of our guests, the skin is scrubbed hard and you do feel clean!
For a couple more, you will have to return to Riad El Mansour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    67
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
102
499
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay at this riad.
It was our first time in Marrakech and we did not know what to expect other than from what previous guests have written on TripAdvisor.
The reviewers are correct in their over all assessment as the riad lives up to their deserving reputation. Riad El Mansour is a great place to not only stay but to unwind as well.
Abdess and all his staff have treated us amazingly well.
The riad is spotlessly clean and staff go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and happy.
One of the owners, Robert was there and he was very informative on many insights of living in Marrakech.
We had dinner there on the night of our arrival, which was fantastic and ever so filling. I especially went on about the zucchini salad so much so that I found a copy of the recipe printed out and put under my bedroom door the following day.
This is one example I meant by caring for their guests.
We opted for the least expensive room (Jonquil) and what we got was a small but spotlesslylean room.
As we are out most of the time, it did not matter, but if you are the type to spend time in your room, I would spend a bit more and get a larger room.
The distance to the main square as about 15 minute walk,.
The riad is situated in a local neighborhood so you get to see how the locals really live. I enjoyed this aspect and the location was not that much trouble. It is convenient for Majorelle Gardens that was very peaceful even with hoards of people there.

Riad El Mansour was a joy to stay in and I feel that you cannot go wrong when booking this place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Manager at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a very good review.

We are very proud of our in-house cook Latifa and I am very happy you enjoyed and hope that you have now tried some of the recipes that we gave you now you are home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Riad El Mansour for four nights from 26th-30th August 2012 and I have to say that the other positive reviews I have read were right on the money! I've actually been looking forward to writing this review and I make no apologies for its length as I believe I should share every little thing with you all so here goes. We were dropped off by taxi (arranged with the Riad by email prior to arriving) straight in the middle of manic Marrakech. People selling meat, bike parts and bread were all around and there stood smiling to meet us was Wadi. He took our bags and lead us down some alleys and 2 minutes later were welcomed to the Riad. Wadi showed us to our room (Azure) and allowed us some time to chill out and sort out our belongings. He explained that he would be waiting down stairs when ever we were ready to take us through some do's and dont's in Marrakech. When we went down stairs, Wadi took us to a small lounge area where a refreshing mint tea was waiting for us. He went through a map that is provided, ringing all the places that are worth a visit. He explained the quickest way to get to the square and the souks, marking all routes on the map. We bombarded Wadi with questions but he answered them all with a smile. After we were finished asking questions, Wadi told us that he would like to upgrade us to a different room (Amethyst) which was a lovely surprise. We quickly agreed and moved our stuff from the first floor room to the new ground floor room. Our original room was lovely but the Amethyst room was bigger and decorated beautifully in a traditional Moroccan style. The rooms are cleaned twice daily with fresh water placed in the rooms both morning and evening. The maid places small towels with slippers on at the foot of the bed in the evenings which is a lovely touch. The rooms also have a bowl of fruit which is kept topped up and a bowl of nuts with fruit in which is also nice to snack on.
Breakfast is served pretty much when ever and where ever you want it, freshly prepared by the female chef. The sun terrace is a lovely place but ges very hot. The freshly squeezed orange juice is a beautiful start to the day. The chef also prepares gorgeous meals for lunch and dinner but dinner must be ordered in advance as all ingredients are bought fresh that morning. On our first night I had the chicken tagine which was lovely. They literally gave me a whole chicken! The wife had the lamb tagine which was equally tasty and equally as generous. Menus can be found on the Riad's website.
Prior to coming to Marrakech, I had been emailing Abdess who arranged a hot air balloon ride for us on our second day. The balloon ride is definitely worth doing as you get amazing views of Morocco as the sun rises. A massive breakfast is also laid on as is a camel ride but we didn't do the camel ride as did one recently in Egypt. When we arrived at the Riad we decided to book a guide to take us around the souks for half a day. Again, this is definitely worth doing as he showed us places I think we would have missed otherwise. He took us to buildings which enclosed beautiful classic Moroccan architecture. We took so many photos in these buildings and also in the souks with their amazing displays amazing us at every turn.
After a hot day walking around Marrakech, nothing was more welcoming than the plunge pool at the Riad. It also doubles up as a jacuzzi which is lovely to relax in when the afternoon sun gets too much. The Riad also offers treatments in the spa. The wife and I both had the one hour Abyhanga massage which is lovely, concentrating on the muscles leaving you feeling energised after.
The bathroom is fully stocked with a hair drier, shampoo, shower gel, soap, ear buds, cotton wall balls, towels and dressing gowns. There's even a basket you can leave your shoes in outside your room door at night and the next day they'll be polished.
It's safe to say that this Riad has thought of everything to ensure guests have a wonderful time and simply don't want to leave. We were no exception. If your going to visit Marrakech then you should definitely spend a few days at this Riad and see why everyone is raving about it!

Room Tip: The Amethyst room is great as two steps from the plunge pool. All rooms are quiet due to the locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frosty00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the time you took to place us a such a positive review!
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased you were sorry to leave too!
We do try very hard to please all of our guests, and it seems you enjoyed all of our facilities and little extras we give to all of our clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The warm and kind hospitality of Abdess, Lafita and the rest of the team at Riad El Mansour. Inside the riad walls, the interior is beautiful and extremely comfortable. The rooms are well appointed, lots of nice touches such as traditional Moroccan toiletries, sheet turn down, fresh towels everyday, fruit and a very handy map of the city already marked out with points of interest upon arrival.

Before arrival, Abdess answered all email communications quickly, arranged airport collection and met us at the drop off point in the Medina before taking us to the riad and quickly arranging complimentary drinks. We stayed in the Emerald Room – spacious bathroom, air conditioning, clean and very comfortable.

We ate at the riad on the first night, huge portions of Moroccan starters, pastilla, cous cous and fish tagine. Unfortunately, we decided to eat out on the next night at La Marrakchi at the edge of the Jemaa El Fna square – AVOID AT ALL COSTS! My partner had a dodgy fish tagine and suffered violent food poisoning. It was really disappointing however Abdess quickly arranged for staff to collect medication from the pharmacy and a local doctor to come to the riad when my partner’s condition did not improve. Thank you for helping us, it was really worrying and I really appreciate all of your help.

Whilst my other half was in bed, I took the opportunity to cook with Lafita – the resident cook. Armed with my pigeon French vocabulary and phrase book, Lafita showed me how to make some Morrocan starters, a vegetable and a fish tagine. It was nearing the end of Ramadan, extremely hot weather so it was difficult conditions for all Muslim Moroccans but Lafita was very friendly and I really appreciated her letting me into her kitchen and having a bash at cooking.

I then tried out the hamman – wow! Scrubbed from head to foot then massaged with a trained masseuse. What a wonderful experience and I was thoroughly relaxed afterwards. It’s a pity my partner didn’t get to experience this.

The only disappointing thing is the location of the riad, you need to be prepared to walk to get to all of the sights. However, this meant that you got to walk through and see typical Moroccan life plus it keeps you fit with all these large Moroccan portions!

I would recommend the riad to anyone wishing to stay in Marrakech for a few days. You’ve got everything you need here, very good value for money, decent breakfasts and excellent dinners.

PS The swimming pool is more of a plunge pool, very pretty though!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissGolightley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for leaving us such a positive review and we are so pleased you had a good time with us!

We do pride ourselves on our 'customer care' and our fast replies to any correspondence other by email, telephone or face to face.

Pleased you enjoyed our cookery class too, Latifa our cook was fasting at that point for Ramadam but I guess teaching yourself to cook assisted her in forgetting about eating!

Regards the location, most of our guests love it as it away from the tourist hot spots and down a peaceful cul de sac, and with the local market very close by, it is a good area to buy local produce at non touristy prices.

It is indeed a plunge pool we have, and we have never pretended it was a swimming pool! In the ancient medina it is virtually unheard of any Riad to obtain permission for a swimming pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this Riad. It truly deserves the excellent reviews. The riad is beautiful, colorful, clean and confortable. The food quality is excellent. Great breakfast and fantastic dinner (HUGE portions!). But mostly the staff is amazing! So warm and helpful, they really made us feel welcome and part of the family, and the manager Abdess is a lovely person. We really enjoyed our time with them and other riads that we visited were not even comparable to this one. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy_Del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for the time to do a review for us on tripadvisor.

I know we give large portions for dinner, and pleased it was fantastic for you! As you know all of our food is freshly prepared the same day and the produce is purchased from the local market.

We try to ensure that all of our guests make Riad El Mansour their home, the only difference is theres no cleaning or cooking for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We chose Riad El Mansour because it had great reviews and the reviews did not let us down as this is a beautiful riad, restored with real integrity with a truly authentic feel to it. The team at this Riad were amazing - each and every one of them. Abdess was so helpful as he sat us down on our first day, gave us a fool proof map and reliable and trusty list of do's and don'ts of Marrakesh which proved invaluable on our 4 day stay. The fabulous ladies in the kitchen cooked us a meal of a lifetime as we tried all of the morrocan dishes from tagines, pastillas, morrocan salads and pastries - outstanding! You need to work up a big appetite though if you're eating in the riad as the food keeps coming, they're incredibly generous with the portions. The breakfasts saw us through the day to our evening meal. They were also so lovely that they upgraded our room and made us a birthday cake and gave us wine to celebrate a birthday. If you choose this riad then definitely arrange for Mustafa to pick you up from the airport as the medina is very difficult to navigate if your not used to it plus there's the bonus that he's a really lovely, friendly guy.

There's lots of riads to choose from but if you're looking for the riad that ticks all the boxes then this is the ONE.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous, oozing morrocan character, you cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to write us a review, it is very much appreciated.

Good to hear you enjoyed your food whilst you were here with us.
We cook everything fresh, and bought from the local market.

The pastries you ate were prepared by Latifa, our resident cook.

We do like to give our guests value for money and also make them feel special, and if there is a special occasion and we are made aware of this, we always have a small surprise for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent a wonderful time in the Riad El Mansour.
It is a typical Moroccan Riad, beautifully decorated and traditional.
The team manged by Abdess is particularly efficient and trustful.
We highly recommend this Riad and hope to be back with friends

Room Tip: we were upgraded to the amber room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank i-Mobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrsteve27, Owner at Riad El Mansour, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.
We are aware that many guests find our Riad on triipadvisor.

All of our team here, including Abdess (Our day Manager, Wadi (our night manager) Mustapha (our driver) Latifa (our cook) and other staff hope you will return with your friends !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#43 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#68 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#38 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#116 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#26 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Property: Riad El Mansour
Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 bedroom hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing