We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A peaceful and elegant Riad inside the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
Ranked #32 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A peaceful and elegant Riad inside the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights at the end of April 2012.

Location: the hotel is located in the north part of Medina. You can reach the souk in 10 minutes and El Fnaa square in 15-20 minutes walking. The hotel is in a quite and safe location, but as it is at the end of a blind loop, I'd recommend to ask the riad to arrange the pick up from airport on your first day.

Staff: Very kind and collaborative. There's always a man attending the hall 24 hours a day who speaks English. You can ask him to book the dinner or an excursion or a taxi or simply a suggestion for a city sightseen.

Room: The riad have only 6 rooms. We stayed at first floor in Verbena room. The room is not very big but embellished with a lot of Moroccan details and equipped with all the items you may need. On the right hand side there's a comfortable queen size bed, on the left hand side a sofa and an ancient wardrobe followed by the bathroom (bigger than one would expect from the room size). A fireplace is in front of the door and create a sort of separation between bed and sofa. The hotel provides fresh and dry fruit and a bottle of water every day. You'll also find slippers, bathrobes and local shampoo and body oils. There's also a phon (and seems-I haven't experienced it- a serious one, not the small one for travellers).

Breakfast: you may have it where you prefer: on the upper terrace, on your room or at ground floor. It's good and homemade. You can choose between: local or English tea, coffee, fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, jam and two kind of pastries.

Meals: you can have dinner in the riad but you have to reserve and choose your meal in advance as ingredients are buyed daily on a need base. We had the first dinner there and
everything was really good. Portions are very generous. Even the wine was good (not easy in a place where local people don't drink alchool) and the service was impeccable or, in any case, better in respect of other high level restaurants we experienced in Marrakech.

Pool/hammam/massage room: there is a little pool with Jacuzzi with four places to sit in the central patio, a small hammam and a small massage room. We haven't tried the pool neither the hammam but everything seemed really painstaking in all the details. If you'd like to use the hammam, you should communicate it 3 hours in advance to properly heat it up.

Excursion: we made one day tour to Ourika valley organized by the hotel (aprox. 80€). The experience was very positive. We had a driver that firstly accompanied us to a local weekly market (we also saw bargaining of animals - mules, donkeys and sheep); then we visited some cooperatives of local handicraftsman and finally we climbed up to the falls. To visit the falls we had another guide (additional 20€) that guided us through the trails. Visiting the falls requires 45 minutes walking each way. You need sports shoes as you will climb some wetted rocks. Finally we visited the village next to the beginning of the falls trail. The driver has been always kind and ready to deviate the street upon our requests; he never insisted on handcraft purchasing or local shops to be visited but offered diferent intersting options. We could easily speak English both with the driver and with the local guide.

In conclusion, if you want a full Moroccan experience sleeping inside the Medina but you don't want to renounce to quite and luxury, I strongly reccomand this hotel. You'll turn into typical crowded and narrow street of medina and at the end of one blinded loop, you'll find a main door: inside you'll find a beautiful ancient palace with six quite room faced on an internal patio and a staff ready to attend you. Warning: if you don't like small spaces or simply you can't do high and uncomfortable steps, this is not the correct place in fact it is on a walking street inside an old building. Not sue you can find something better inside the Medina.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    64
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
100
492
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you visit Marrakech, you must stay in a riad. This will make your experience much more unique and memorable, and also the service is very attentive. We were here for 4 nights in April and were upgraded after the first night. Abdess was tremendously helpful with all his map notations, suggestions for things to do/see, and even took the time to help us scan/email a bunch of paperwork multiple times. Service here is fantastic.

The riad itself is beautiful and old but kept very clean. The bed is very comfortable (note: not 2 beds pushed together!) and the room was a perfect sleeping temperature. Breakfast is served on the rooftop patio. I recommend the strawberry yogurt, it's light and refreshing. Fresh orange juice and mint tea are great too. Also you must dine in the riad at night at least once. The food is delicious and, though a bit pricey, it will last you 2 meals. I recommend the pastilla and also the Berber and local Marrakech tagines.

As far as location, the riad is about 15 minute walk from the main square. From the airport, I definitely recommend taking their driver especially if you're a first time visitor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I think the term boutique hotel is used a lot these days but this place truly is one , its such a relaxing place right in the bustle of Marrakech so you have the best of both worlds,the excitement of the city right outside your door , but inside a beautiful place to relax, the authentic decor and the relaxed vibe of the Riad is perfect, it has so much genuine atmosphere in the rooms and the courtyard where you can easily while away the hours in serenity.
All the owner and staff are so helpful and friendly theres not a bad thing i can say , they definitely made the whole stay an unforgettable experience and would happily stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kierUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We booked for a three day weekend with a first day going to the coast to Essaouira. Mr. Abdess helped set up transportation to the coast. We arrived, were delayed terribly because of lost luggage but they were there. Luggage arrived the next day upon our return. All connections odne with grace and speed - no stress. The walk form the taxi through the alleys which cold be daunting for first time visitors was quick, easy and guided ;-) The three days we spent at the Riad were very peaceful and totally calm. Hamman was a great experience, shisha in the smoking room sublime, massage, pedicure etc. But mostly, we found that that Mr. Abdess and his staff just wanted to be sure we were comfortable and happy. I know this sounds trite but it's true. From the hand annotated maps of the city to fresh juice and coffee at 4:45 on the day we left, the people in the Riad made this trip special.

Room Tip: Actually, because of the layout of any Riad, it is easy to be disturbed by other guests in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripdog88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed only one night at Riad El Mansour but it was an exquisite experience. The decor is gorgeous and gives a mysterious and romantic vibe. Our room had reddish-orange walls, ornate woodwork, a chandelier over the bed, and a carved four-poster bed. There was a separate sitting area with dried and fresh fruits for snacks. The courtyard was gorgeous with intricate tilework, a wonderfully gnarled candelabra, and a modern wood scupture. The riad was particularly beautiful and magical at night. There was a wonderfully decorated indoor sitting area with a remarkable table in the with an eye motif and a beautiful hand sculpture.

The hospitality is warm, helpful and gracious, with tea and sweets on arrival, everything arranged in a timely and efficient fashion, and questions easily answered. My request to have breakfast early in the morning before a flight was honored. Walking to the central square is an easy stroll. Overall this is a truly beautiful Riad and I had a lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at Riad El Mansour for 4 nights during April. We originally booked this Riad as we had read all the great reviews on trip advisor. We were certainly not disappointed. We arranged for a transfer from the airport and we were greeted by a very smiley Mustafa! The route into the Riad is certainly an eye-opener, you definitely need a transfer from the airport as there is absolutely no way you would find the Riad on your own. It was always a pleasure to come back to the peaceful surroundings of the Riad from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The staff at the Riad can not do enough for you and we felt like we were the only ones staying there. We were upgraded to the suite on our second night, free of charge, which was a lovely surprise!

All in all, a fantastic Riad! Thanks to Abdess, Wadi and Mustafa who made our stay brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisNBexManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My wife and I spent three excellent nights at the Riad El Mansour during the first week of April while traveling on our honeymoon. Our stay was pleasant and peaceful within the riad, compared to the frenetic pace of Marrakech. The two hosts in the Riad El Mansour, Abdess & Wadi, were both extremely helpful and courteous throughout our stay. They served us breakfast, explained a detailed map of Marrakech with specific recommendations for culinary & cultural delights, and responded to all our inquiries warmly. Aside from this, we both enjoyed hammam services available within the riad for a very reasonable price and with excellent service. The riad is located within the medina and is very close to one of the main roads that take you into the heart of the souks and down close to the Jemaa al Fna square. Overall, great experience in a great riad with courteous staff for a reasonable price. Can't beat it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#23 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#25 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#40 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#31 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#38 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#30 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Property: Riad El Mansour
Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad El Mansour is a six bedroom, award winning Riad. This boutique hotel is situated a short stroll from Place Jemaa el-Fna. We offer the highest levels of service and hospitality with a Jacuzzi, Spa, Hammam and GymWe have a full time resident cook and can arrange airport transfers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing