We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hen party to remember”
Review of Riad El Mansour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad El Mansour
Ranked #103 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hen party to remember”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

When I tasked my bridesmaids with the job of finding somewhere stylish, hot, exclusive and fun to take 14 girls for my hen party, never in my wildest dreams did I think they would find a place that had this in abundance.

However after arriving in Marrakech and being met at the airport by the staff from Riad El Mansour, I knew immediately that we were going to have a great time.

For the first time ever, the Riad allowed exclusive hire of the entire property for us to enjoy for 3 nights and the staff could not have been more welcoming and accommodating.

From the small touches in the rooms such as fresh fruit, bottled water, slippers, dressing gowns and twice daily room service, to the gorgeous food, fun atmosphere and helpfulness as we looked to explore Marrakech - it was brilliant.

I know that there was numerous communication in the lead up to the trip between the staff and my bridesmaids - asking for help and recommendations and the guys: Abdess, Wadi, Nadia and all the other staff, were absolutely amazing.

They helped to arrange a traditional Moroccan band, belly dancers and transport for every step of our trip.

On our first night we were also treated to a Moroccan banquet - the menu was what they usually serve on New Years Eve - and it was amazing!

I'm not sure when or even if the staff ever went to sleep as throughout our whole stay they were there for us at whatever hour, providing food, drinks, moving furniture to accommodate us all etc - they literally couldn't have done any more.

Riad El Mansour was the perfect place to celebrate my hen weekend and I hope to be able to return either with the girls or on a romantic break as it offers the best of both worlds.

And if you're looking for a great location, good weather, knowledgable and pleasant staff, and some Moroccan fun for your own hen weekend then I can't recommend the Riad enough - it was perfect: stylish and fun!

Thank you to all the staff...we'll be back soon!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Suite whilst I was there but I have to say that all of the rooms are beautiful in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa198130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    67
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
102
499
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We looked into a number of places to stay in Marrakech for a four night stay and after feeling slightly overwhelmed by all that choice we finally settled on this Riad. From the moment we walked in we were given a royal welcome and throughout our stay the service was excellent. The rooms are lovely - authentic and relaxed with a touch of luxury. The staff (Abdess, Wadi, Nadia and Lahifa) are amazing. Every request is met with a friendly smile and they are keen to make sure that you see the best of the city. They'll provide local maps, give clear directions and arrange a good, local guide too (excellent value for money as it allowed us to see and learn about parts of the city and sights that don't feature in the guidebooks). We also took a taxi up to the Atlas mountains, again arranged through the Riad, which was excellent.
Overall El Mansour is an amazing place to stay and we would highly recommend.
Tip: we booked through a tour operator but would book directly with the Riad next time as it saves money and they'll provide airport transfers anyway.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 which is lovely with Air Con and a great shower - much needed after a day spent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Spent a few days recently. We booked this riad on a friend’s past recommendation.. The riad staff met us at the airport which was in this case was very nice as our plane was unexpectedly three hours late arriving after midnight. We had pre ordered dinner for this night, but obviously arriving so late we did not want it so the staff kindly told us that it would not be a problem. They will make us something fresh the next night (no additional charge). I would guess that some lucky staff ended up with our dinner. I do not know if the following night dinner was delicious because of the actual cook or because of our anticipation of it. I would like to think it was the former, but nevertheless it was very good. Thankfully by sleeping in, we by dint had a late breakfast and no lunch. Dinner, as delicious as it was, was far too much to have eaten had we also had lunch. Advice, if dinning at the riad, eat sparingly during the day because portions are enormous. Our room was small and complete with chandeliers. Extra large bathroom, they should have made the bathroom smaller and have a larger room, but tally ho, it is what it is. The riad was immaculately clean. The staff bent over backwards to help and were all very friendly with ever present smiles. A recommendation pasted on to you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2011

A riad is a traditional Moroccan house with an interior garden or courtyard. Riad El Mansour is a wonderful example of this.
The other reviews were spot on. We had a wonderful 3 night stay in the suite.
What's good about it?
1. Excellent staff - just the right level of attentiveness
2. Great rooms,authentically furnished
3. Good location - far enough from the centre not to be disturbed by the 4.00am call to prayer.
4. They pick you up from the airport - if you've not been to Marrakech before this is essential. You'll never find the place on your own
You can't imagine such a lovely exists behind the big black door in the wall which you reach after walking through increasingly narrow dusty alleyways.
It's a manageable 20 min walk to the square or the souks following the route Abdess's will mark on the map provided. Look out for traffic. There is no gap too small for a moped or scooter to squeeze through and pedestrians have to be on their guard.
Don't miss La Maison de Photographie. Only around 100 photos are on display but the roof terrace is superb,one of the highest in the city,and affords 360º views. They serve an excellent set menu lunch as you laze around on the cushions. Lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeh1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

While in Morocco, we opted to stay at a large 5 star hotel so that we would be in our comfort zone while travelling to a country that was both foreign and alien to us. We stayed at a chin hotel on more than one occasion and we were content, but this time while in Marrakech, we broke the trip up into two, visiting Marrakech for a few days then going on the desert for a few days before going stopping off in Marrakech for the last two days before heading home to the States.
While on this desert tour, we met up with some very nice people who convinced us to stay at a riad which they were staying at the same time as we will be back in Marrakech. We cancelled the 5 star hotel and booked a room at Riad El Mansour.
We were not quite sure what we were getting ourselves into but the experience was overwhelmingly great. A member of staff met our mini bus at a designated spot in Marrakech and escorted us to the riad. We traversed some dirt roads, local residents, etc, before coming to a big black door. To our relief and it was a relief, the door opened up into a beautiful, boutique style hotel.
Service was to die for as no request went unanswered. They arranged for a horse drawn carriage ride and a massage and manicure as well as transportation to the airport which was surprisingly free of charge.
As we were in Marrakech before, we choose to eat dinner one night at the riad with our new friends and it was divine. Far too much to eat, but excellent.
Our room was smaller than we are used to, but it had more amenities than the previous large hotel we stayed at.
With excellent service, food, spotlessly clean rooms we left Marrakech on a high note. Although this was a first time experience for us in such a small hote, Riad El Mansour taught us that it will not be the last. This excellent experience opened our eyes to greater possibilities and experiences.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My friend and I booked this after reading Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed, it was all that was described and more. After catching the plane from Paris to be met at the airport by smiling Mustapha was a bonus instead of trying to negotiating a taxi or asking directions on how to find the Riad in busy bustling Marrakesh..A quick airconditioned ride to the welcoming Wadi and stepping into a paradise that time forgot. The staff were incredibly helpful and more than happy to answer any questions, arrange for a government accredited guide, tour or provide maps if you want to do you own thing.. Whatever you need they will find it for you and always with a smile on their faces. We were often told "Treat this as your home" which we did making our own coffee/tea in the kitchen when the staff where not there early in the mornings . We were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite which was a great luxury which we thoroughly enjoyed. The rooms are cleaned twice a day and come equipt with all mod conds.and free bottled water and wi-fi. Each day was a new adventure and a pleasure to come back to this haven after negotiating the noisy streets of Marrakesh.. The location is excellent and far enough away that you are not woken at 4:00am prayer call, about 20minutes away from the Souk.

I would highly recommend this Riad rating it 5 star and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOSAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This was our first time in Marrakech, my husband and I were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary and I´m just so pleased we chose Riad El Mansour. All you read in the reviews is true, the service is fantastic, always ready to help with anything you need with a smile, the food superb, the rooms beautiful (we stayed in Room 2 and although from the photographs of the place it wasn´t my favourite one - I like bright colours and this one looked quite plain - I ended up not wanting to leave the place). There´s a complimentary big bottle of water ready for you every day, with fresh and dried fruit and Moroccan sweets. Also, they clean the room TWICE a day, something that made me feel so spoilt at the beginning as to make me feel guilty, but I did enjoy coming back to a tidy room after our afternoon/evening stroll. As an added bonus, we met one of the owners, Robert, and after 5 minutes it felt like we were old friends and I hope he keeps his promise to come and visit us in Valencia soon. All in all, a 10 in everything, and definitively this is where we´ll be staying next time we go to Marrakech. Last but not least, a big thank you to all the staff for taking such good care of us... until next time! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlaValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Morgane
Riad Morgane
#331 of 499 in Marrakech
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Marrakech
L’Hotel Marrakech
#263 of 499 in Marrakech
19 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#35 of 499 in Marrakech
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#389 of 499 in Marrakech
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#9 of 499 in Marrakech
1,333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Mansour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Mansour

Property: Riad El Mansour
Address: 227 Derb Jdid | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#57 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#76 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Mansour 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
6 bedroom hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad El Mansour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Mansour Marrakech
Riad El Mansour Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing