We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“You have to stay here, it is great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #15 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You have to stay here, it is great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend away with the girls and I have to say the place is excellent. High standard of accommodation and top class staff who are so helpful that it makes your stay outstanding. There is nothing they won't do to ensure you have a wonderful time. I think the people are what makes this place number one, make sure you go!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    48
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
176
628
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We traveled as a group of friends (women, 20s), and loved our experience at Dar Charkia. The staff are completely on top of things - when we arrived, Sami walked us through a map of the city and gave us a rundown of all sorts of "things to know" (everything from how much to pay for orange juice to some of her recommended hammams in the city). Throughout our stay, any questions we had Sami or the other staff went above and beyond to make sure that we had a great time in Marrakech. Best thing about this riad? Hands down, the people.

In terms of physical environs, it's decorated in a more modern style than other riads we saw, which was a cool change of pace. Most importantly, Dar Charkia is calm, lovely, and often has delightful background music playing: a real retreat after long hot days wandering around and exploring the medina. The location is great - short ten minute walk to Jmaa al Fna. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My friend and I have just got back from a 4 night stay at Dar Charkia where we were treated like family. The attention to detail in the riad is second to none, with beautiful decoration, lovely cool spacious rooms and a beautiful little courtyard to sit and enjoy a moment of calm after returning from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The staff could not have been friendlier and were always helpful with any needs we had. Lisa and Michael know a great deal about the city and happily imparted their wisdom onto us to ensure we didn't miss anything! Overall, a fabulous four days in a beautiful riad; one that we certainly will be returning to. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I loved every minute of Dar Charkia. The Riad is beautiful and very close to the main road. The room we had was amazing. The best part about Dar Charkia was the people. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Lisa but Michael was amazing. We were fortunate to have dinner with Michael both nights we were in Marrakesh. He is an amazing person who helped us every step of the way to navigate Marrakesh. I can't say enough about Said, the night manager. What a great person! Big Samira and Zahira were amazing as well. The breakfast was amazing and the henna that Big Samira did on my hands was beautiful. Abdullah was also an amazing driver and tour guide. Danny and I appreciate everything you all did. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

If you are currently researching the numerous Riads in Marrakech, then please look no further, this is the place to stay!! I spent many hours looking into places to stay to cater for a group of 6 friends to celebrate a special birthday, I was not disappointed. In fact this place exceeded all my expectations, with wonderful owners Lisa and Michael and all their fantastic staff. They helped me to take care of the restaurant bookings prior to our arrival (of which there recommendations were spot on). The rooms and breakfast are as all other reviews and pictures show, which are both fantastic, but the thought and little personal details were the highlight for me. They had put some lovely birthday bunting in our room, a slice of cake with a candle for breakfast and freshly made mint tea when arriving back from a busy day out. The annotated map and chat from Lisa is invaluable. The Dar Chakria made my special birthday even more special and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I could not be more pleased and impressed with our experience at Dar Charkia. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights this July, and it was the perfect place to unwind after a hectic day in the city. However, the location also makes it a perfect place to call your home base as you venture out into the Medina. It is beautiful, with so many fabulous little details, and the service we received from Michael, Samira, and Siaid was exceptionally attentive, warm, and friendly. Also, they set out a luscious breakfast each day--unparalleled at any similar hotel/bed and breakfast. I would not hesitate to recommend the riad to anyone!

Room Tip: We stayed in Khmissa and loved it, but I think you'd have good luck with any choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KHBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights for a friends birthday, there was a party of 6 of us. The Riad is a stunning surrounding in which to stay! There is plenty of attention to detail every where you look. The three rooms we stayed in were all lovely with vibrant colours and an exclusive feel. The staff could not have been be more accommodating and catered to our every need, without being pushy. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Breakfast every day was lovely and on our last day we requested it up on the terrace which felt amazing!
Lisa helped make our break. She is so knowledgeable and gave us lots of recommendations for places to go, both in the day and at night as well as arranging taxi’s etc for us throughout out trip. None of her recommendations disappointed. Lisa's gives a great welcome talk on your first morning with plenty of information to help you out during your stay, a must if you are only staying for a few days and her map is a god send!
I would not hesitate at booking back at Dar Charkia.

Jayne A

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing