We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #34 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and everything about this oasis of a riad was mesmerising. From the courteous and friendly, efficient staff, to the peaceful atmosphere, spotlessly clean rooms and thoughtful attention to detail, I would say this was the most perfect place in which I have had the privilege to holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

We needed a few days away somewhere where we could relax easily,feel at home immediately and still be occupied! We came across Dar Charkia's website and after reading countless fantastic complementary reviews decided the owners couldn't submit that many about themselves! Not a lot more to say that hasn't already been said....... the reviews are all spot on....have no hesitation or disbelief, if you do you will have missed out on an opportunity to experience a first class holiday. Thank you to Lisa, Michael, Samira, Siaid and the lovely ladies in the kitchen!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank chimpy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just back from a wonderful week with my boyfriend in Marrakech, thanks in no small part to Lisa and Michael and the team at Dar Charkia. The riad is well located in the medina (we only took a taxi once), beautifully decorated and offers a peaceful refuge after a day out exploring the frantic city. Breakfast was fresh and tasty and we enjoyed eating it on the roof terrace when the weather allowed. We also had dinner at the riad on our first night, which was absolutely delicious, and we enjoyed working our way through the Moroccan wines on the drinks list! It's a shame we didn't have time to have another meal at the riad. There is a plunge pool in the courtyard, which we didn't use but it looks lovely. We stayed in the Sahara room, which was roomy and comfortable. The toiletries provided in the bathroom are divine - I fell in love with the smell of the soap so much that I bought some at the airport on the way home! The staff are super friendly and helpful. They make you feel at home and that nothing is too much trouble. And there is free wifi, which is always appreciated!
But the star of the riad is without doubt the owner Lisa. From the start of the booking process she was invaluable - always prompt in responding to emails and providing recommendations for and offering to book in advance restaurants, daytrips, etc. Then on our first day she sat we us for over an hour with an intricately detailed map imparting her endless knowledge of Marrakech (from where to find a clean loo to which traders would give us the best deal in the souks) and answering all of our questions. That map became our bible and thanks to her recommendations we ate at fabulous restaurants and just generally had an amazing experience in the city. We took daytrips to Kasbah Angour (a luxury hotel in the Atlas mountains where we relaxed by the pool and had lunch) and the Ouzoud waterfalls (stunning), took a Moroccan cookery class at the Faim d'Epices cookery school (highly recommended) and spent our final day at El Miria Palais, a luxury riad where we had our first experience of a traditional Moroccan hamman and massage (unforgettable!). And we ate like royalty at Pepe Nero, Cafe Arabe, Lotus Privilege and Les Jardins de Bala.
Look no further than Dar Charkia for your home from home in Marrakech. You quickly feel like a friend there rather than a guest. Lisa and Michael clearly care about you having a fantastic time on your holiday, inside and outside of the riad. I'm keen to return to Marrakech at some point to try out the rest of Lisa's restaurant and trip recommendations that we didn't get time for and we wouldn't hesistate to book Dar Charkia again for our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stopped at Dar Charkia again good location close to the action, and as always the welcome was great and the evening meal was brill just what we wanted. Lisa & Michael made our friends welcome and went through the map what to see and where to go.
Would we go again hope so.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My partner and I had the opportunity of rooming with Dar Charkia in February 2014, during our first time in Morocco. The space itself is open yet cozy and comfortable, with many seating areas and amenities (pillows, games, wifi, etc). The rooms are charming and well-decorated with many thoughtful nuances: chocolates, guest soap, etc. The bed linens were also very plush and warm.
The owners, Lisa and Michael, are wonderfully friendly. Lisa was boundlessly knowledgeable about things to do and restaurants to try, and was very sure to prepare us thoroughly for any occurances (such as exactly how much we should pay a taxi driver for a certain destination), which we were extremely thankful for. He memory is astounding! It also helps that their hotel is in a very convenient and easy-to-find location within the city, right near the entrance to the souks.
The food was also filling and delicious, and they offer a great selection of wine. Lastly, the staff was always present and very helpful.
In summation, Dar Charkia made our stay as comfortable and informed as possible (as well as very special). It is obvious that Lisa and Michael truly care for their business, and have a great love for and understanding of Marrakech. I highly, positively suggest them as your hotel destination in Marrakech; you will not be dissapointed! They will be our go-to every time we return to the red city! Thank you, Lisa and Michael!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed four nights at Dar Charkia and we really loved it. Beautifully decorated and one of the loveliest places to stay. Lisa, Michael and their amazing staff are very helpful and truly lovely, make you feel completely at home, they are happy to oblige with everything. The rooms are amazing, and the location is ideal to be in the Medina. Fantastic and helpful tips and hints before we came out gave us a really good feeling and then extremely helpful tips and recommendations when we arrived was also very helpful.Are already planning to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzieliz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was the 2nd visit to Dar Charkia, based upon a great experience from 2010.
Our Choice of riad in the Medina this time was easy,: Hospitality, friendliness from owners and staff at dar Charkia is highly appreciated,-- and above what you could expect. Same valid for hints and tips,-- booking restaurants, transportation etc.
Food and atmosphere was excellent. If / when returning to Marrakech, Our Choice of accommodation will be easy !

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Einar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#24 of 502 in Marrakech
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 502 in Marrakech
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 502 in Marrakech
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#61 of 502 in Marrakech
522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 502 in Marrakech
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $99 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing