We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #38 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Myself and my wife booked Dar Charkia for a romantic break and we couldn't have picked a better place. From the moment we arrived we felt absolutely spoilt. It is totally stunning, the rooms are large and the bathrooms pristine. The staff are very friendly and knowledgable and nothing is too much trouble for them. Lisa, the owner, gave us a little talk on what to expect from Marrakech which was very helpful as this was our first visit. Her knowledge was invaluable and helped us no end.
It doesn't matter what time you rise in the morning, or afternoon, breakfast will be served when you're ready. And the breakfast is very tasty and plentiful and it sets you up for the day. We ate at Dar Charkia on our first night and it was the best meal we had whilst in Morocco. The lamb tagine was lovely and there was plenty of it.
Dar Charkia is excellently located and everything you need from the souks, the main square and all the restaurants are all within walking distance.
All in all it was a wonderful trip and we shall definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Khmissa suite and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenie_ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

We came back a couple of years after our original trip and loved it again! And recommended to friends who also loved it. Hopefully one day we will all come back as a group and take the place over with our families for a week or so. Truly great place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Existential_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

If you expect 5 star then this is not for you. But if you, like the Martin family, want a riad full of character and charm, supported by friendly hospitality of its staff, located in the inner ancient city with it's fascinating history and mystique, as well as within vey close walking distance to the Main Square and its Souks, at a very reasonable rate then do not hesitate but book now. The rooms are small but very clean surrounding a charming inner court yard with a small pool and there is a delightful roof top terrace. All the staff went out of their way to make us very welcome and helped plan our visits including a day trip to the mountains. They organised a delicious feast at our request for our party of 9 on our last night during which Abdul introduced us to Berber music and dancing with great passion. It was a perfect way to finish our 4 day stay. Overall it was excellent value and Well done to the Riad La Croix team for making our first visit to Morocco such fun and so memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yukurai n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were unlucky enough to be in Marrakesh during a rare period of wind and cold so we spent a lot of time at the Riad. The staff were all really helpful and made the trip much more enjoyable than it would have otherwise been.

Room Tip: From what I could see, all of the rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloydPinkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Booked up late but Lisa was very helpful and replied to all enquiries. She organised us a transfer on the night before and the guy who collected us we very helpful. The owners weren't there during our stay and the staff who looked after us really made us welcome and helped us with our stay. As others mention the Riads are havens in Marrakech and Dar Charkia is no exception. Breakfast are beautiful!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webstea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

this was my 2nd time staying at this great place, and it was just as beautiful as i remember from last year. the service was as excellent and although we didn't have an evening meal, we did have breakfast, which was as superb. the rooms here are amazing, along with the decor of the whole Riad. nothing was to much trouble for the staff and of course Michael and Lisa were as friendly as ever. i'm so pleased that Dar Charkia have made it to number 12 in the top hotels in the trip advisor list. thanks again for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shebe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Dar Charkia provided a great venue for an 8 person girls weekend. The rooms were beautiful and the service was excellent. Michael was incredibly helpful when we arrived, as was Lisa on email before our visit. We had a lovely meal on the Friday night when we arrived and breakfast each day was superb, especially the yoghurt & strawberry compote on Sunday! Overall a wonderful weekend in luscious, relaxing surroundings.

Room Tip: I stayed in Dourira which is the larger suite and it was spacious, beautifully decorated and very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJones2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#24 of 501 in Marrakech
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 501 in Marrakech
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 501 in Marrakech
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#62 of 501 in Marrakech
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 501 in Marrakech
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $98 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing