We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb place”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #32 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

this was my 2nd time staying at this great place, and it was just as beautiful as i remember from last year. the service was as excellent and although we didn't have an evening meal, we did have breakfast, which was as superb. the rooms here are amazing, along with the decor of the whole Riad. nothing was to much trouble for the staff and of course Michael and Lisa were as friendly as ever. i'm so pleased that Dar Charkia have made it to number 12 in the top hotels in the trip advisor list. thanks again for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shebe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
There are newer reviews for Dar Charkia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Dar Charkia provided a great venue for an 8 person girls weekend. The rooms were beautiful and the service was excellent. Michael was incredibly helpful when we arrived, as was Lisa on email before our visit. We had a lovely meal on the Friday night when we arrived and breakfast each day was superb, especially the yoghurt & strawberry compote on Sunday! Overall a wonderful weekend in luscious, relaxing surroundings.

Room Tip: I stayed in Dourira which is the larger suite and it was spacious, beautifully decorated and very co...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VJones2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were a group of eight women who took over the whole Riad for the weekend and we could not have chosen better. Michael and his staff could not do enough for us (from suggesting cookery schools, restaurants and shops to providing directions to off-the-beaten track bars). The food on the first night was exceptional and the breakfasts were delicious. The rooms were large and full of beautiful items (in fact Michael showed us to the shop where they bought the soap dishes so we could buy our own they were so beautiful). All in all a sublime weekend!

Room Tip: All are different but the ones at the front seem to be less exposed to the early morning prayer call...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I was so glad to be staying at Dar Charkia again. I keep returning because it is matchless!
Lisa and Michael, the owners are so helpful and informative and give good advice on good places to eat and excellent places to shop in the souks. They can also arrange airport transfers and exciting day trips for you!
The raid is situated in the medina, and is a few minutes walk from the big square Jemaa el Fna, is close to banks and ATM's and also to taxis when required.
Staff also are amazing, speak good English and are very helpful.
Nothing is too much trouble here! I love it!
And I especially love the breakfasts! Our room was lovely, beautifully decorated, clean and tidy and fabulous grey taddelakt (type of plaster) bathroom.
I will be returning as soon as I can.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely! Choose any one and you will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeagullHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My partner and I, along with our parents, stayed at Dar Charkia for four nights. Our experience was so special thanks to all the staff. Lisa kindly booked all the day trips and restaurants we wanted and also airport transfers and was so quick to get back to me with any queries I had. It was no hassle and everything ran so smoothly while we were in Marrakech. We even decided to cancel one trip to spend more time in the city and it was done with no stress or hassle.

Breakfast each day was plentiful and you could enjoy it where and when you wanted in the Riad (the roof is an amazing place to eat your breakfast). We were served fresh tea and coffee whenever we wanted and spent some lazy afternoons having beer and wine in the beautiful Riad. It is SO relaxing.

The rooms are excellent and cleaned every day. The bed is firm but that suited us. There were rose petals in the shower, lovely bath robes and the toiletries supplied smelt like heaven. There are also full sized hair dryers supplied.

We have no complaints of our stay whatsoever. All the staff were excellent with amazing english language skills and they all had a great sense of humour. Lisa sat down with us at the beginning of our stay and gave us a run down of the ins and outs of the medina and recommended lots of shops and cafes and restaurants which was fabulous. We would definitely recommend Dar Charkia to anyone visiting Marrakech as Lisa and Michael and all of the staff are wonderful hosts and the Riad is absolutely 5 stars.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tickletime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. It is a nice riad in a very good location in the old Medina. There is a taxistand closeby, and the tourist attractions, incl soukhs, and the square are a 5-10 minute walk. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. Siaid was attentive and spoke perfect english. The owners, Lisa & Michael, gave us great advice on what to see and where to buy souvenirs. We stayed in the largest room in the Riad. It was spacious and clean.

We were very happy to have stayed in such a wonderful place.

- Millie & Jack

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Having just got back to London from an amazing 5 day stay at dar Charkia. I have never been more excited to write a review on Trip Advisor! My fiancee and I are well traveled and have stayed at many types of accommodation and we can both say this is one of the best places we have ever stayed! Lisa and Michael are the most delightful hosts- so helpful and willing to make sure your stay in Marrakech is the enjoyable. Upon arrival we were greeted by Lisa who sat us down in the BEAUTIFUL courtyard area and gave us a very thorough insight into the the city. Lisa gave us several tips of good places and see, varying from great places to eat, visit and shop. The room we stayed in was immpecible- extremely clean and had a unique personal touch with the most amazing decor. Prior to traveling to Marrkech, Lisa was in touch on a regular basis assisting us to make the most of our stay- she helped us book restaurants, day trips and best of all the most amazing cooking school- Faim d'epeices! Any questions we had about Marrakech as well Lisa was very quick to respond. The staff at the Riad were also delightful. Sammy and Siaed were the most delightful and hospitable people and were always keen to hear how our day was and again give us advice on ensuring we enjoyed our time in Marrakech. What makes dar Charkia so amazing is the service and unique touches to the Riad and each of its room. The ezquisite decor has been clearly so thought after and represented Marrakech in style. I cannot recommend this Riad highly enough to anyone who would like to enjoy luxury accommodation so typical of Marrakech as well the most outstanding hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 456Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#37 of 502 in Marrakech
825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 502 in Marrakech
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#27 of 502 in Marrakech
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $106 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing