We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #21 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Dar Charkia raid is absolutely beautiful. The rooms and service are first class. We enjoyed our 3 night stay, relaxing in the tranquil surroundings after the hustle and bustle of the Marrakech souks. Michael, Said and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The riad is in a good location allowing us to walk to all the main attractions during our stay. If you are looking for beautiful accommodation with great food and staff, in a great location, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    53
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
178
633
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have just returned home after staying 3 wonderful days in this most beautiful riad.What a special treat ,the perfect place from which to visit Marrakech with great advice and information from Michael and Lisa The riad is so beautifully decorated and furnishedwith the bedrooms being just gorgeous.Michael and Lisa arranged our day in the Atlas mountains and recommended 2 fabulous restaurants.We really were very comfortable, lovely breakfasts,delicious dinner on arrival and such charming , gracious staff,and all in the beautifully aesthetic riad.We just could not have wanted or expected more.So a huge thank you to Dar Charkia.

Room Tip: all the rooms were comfortable with lovely bathrooms,great showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Booked this Riad after reading excellent reviews and having never been to Marrakech it sounded ideal. Michael provided us with a through talk about the area on our arrival that helped greatly and enabled us to get out exploring right away! The Riad is beautiful and excellently located with quality service provided by the friendly and helpful staff that made the stay a pleasure. We stayed in the Khmissa room, which was beautiful, spacious and quiet. Breakfast we found to be adequate and varied slightly each day.

After lots of recommendations provided by Lisa & Michael prior to our arrival we arranged to eat at Pepe Nero our first night and had an excellent meal in very nice surroundings. After we had got our bearings we arranged to eat at another two of their recommended restaurants, which were also excellent.

We had a a day trip arranged to Lalla Takarkouste Lake & Imlil valley with lunch at Kasbah Angor and a camel ride in the afternoon! This was a brilliant day out and we got to experience life outside the city and the spectacular scenery. We also arranged to have a hamman, massage & lunch at Palais el Miria, which was a great way to end our 6 night stay.

Thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Marrakech and Dar Charkia and its staff made our stay all the more special. A special thanks to Siaid the night watchman who was absolutely lovely and very interesting to talk to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

The riad is charming. Spotlessly clean and stylishly decorated. Lisa, Michael and their staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The location is great for exploring the city and Lisa is a font of info on all things retail! Lisa organised and booked for us a fantastic birthday dinner and a spa day, both of which were top class and extremely reasonably priced. We hope to go back and see some more of marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connolly_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have just spent two nights at Dar Charkia. What a beautiful Riad. Truly, we could not have asked for more. Michael was a fantastic host - informative, so knowledgeable and friendly. That applies to all of the staff - wonderful service - polite, charming and so helpful. Sayid deserves a special mention! The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet, and the Riad is perfectly located - we walked everywhere! The old town, the medina, is vibrant, colourful, busy and bustling which we loved. So to be able to come back to the peaceful tranquillity of Dar Charkia was perfect. We would recommend this Riad without question, and would love to go back. A memorable stay, thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Thank you for make our stay in Marrakech such a suksess. Your hospitality and your Riads charm are great. Our first night in the Riad with dinner and our new kraftas will we never forget. Next time in Marrakech we will choose Dar Charkia! 5 Norwegian couples

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemor08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

When staying at Dar Charkia its pretty much like you have found a long lost relative and they have invited you to stay at their house. Lisa and Michael are great hosts. Behind the doors that lead to the mayhem that makes up Marrakech you have the tranquillity of Dar Charkia. The in-house food was wonderful, lamb and almond tagine was scrum! Breakfast was perfect in the courtyard, with the birds chirping away. All the staff are very helpful and cannot do enough for you. Love the fact that at anytime you can request tea, coffee, mint tea, all served with nice local biscuits, very refreshing and welcome after battling the souks. Lisa sat down with us first morning and gave us an overview, told us where to go, where to avoid and by and large all was spot on.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#16 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#1 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#9 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#20 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing