We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #21 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

The riad is charming. Spotlessly clean and stylishly decorated. Lisa, Michael and their staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The location is great for exploring the city and Lisa is a font of info on all things retail! Lisa organised and booked for us a fantastic birthday dinner and a spa day, both of which were top class and extremely reasonably priced. We hope to go back and see some more of marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connolly_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    53
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
178
633
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have just spent two nights at Dar Charkia. What a beautiful Riad. Truly, we could not have asked for more. Michael was a fantastic host - informative, so knowledgeable and friendly. That applies to all of the staff - wonderful service - polite, charming and so helpful. Sayid deserves a special mention! The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet, and the Riad is perfectly located - we walked everywhere! The old town, the medina, is vibrant, colourful, busy and bustling which we loved. So to be able to come back to the peaceful tranquillity of Dar Charkia was perfect. We would recommend this Riad without question, and would love to go back. A memorable stay, thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Thank you for make our stay in Marrakech such a suksess. Your hospitality and your Riads charm are great. Our first night in the Riad with dinner and our new kraftas will we never forget. Next time in Marrakech we will choose Dar Charkia! 5 Norwegian couples

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemor08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

When staying at Dar Charkia its pretty much like you have found a long lost relative and they have invited you to stay at their house. Lisa and Michael are great hosts. Behind the doors that lead to the mayhem that makes up Marrakech you have the tranquillity of Dar Charkia. The in-house food was wonderful, lamb and almond tagine was scrum! Breakfast was perfect in the courtyard, with the birds chirping away. All the staff are very helpful and cannot do enough for you. Love the fact that at anytime you can request tea, coffee, mint tea, all served with nice local biscuits, very refreshing and welcome after battling the souks. Lisa sat down with us first morning and gave us an overview, told us where to go, where to avoid and by and large all was spot on.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

The excellent customer service starts even before you arrive at this wonderful Riad in the support and advice provided by Lisa and Michael in their correspondence with you around the booking and subsequent recommendations on trips, food, restaurants, night life etc etc. (they even advise which exchange gives the best rate at the airport!)

We stayed for four days and nights and just wish it could have been longer.

All the staff and the recommended drivers, guides etc. provided excellent service and couldn't do enough for you.

The location itself, as stated in numerous reviews, is a wonderful place and you feel as if you have been invited in to share someone's stylish large home in the middle of the hectic location that is Marrakech.

We will be recommending this holiday destination to our friends and family, which I hope demonstrates how confident we are in people having an excellent time.

Don't delay, book now, you WILL love it.

Room Tip: We had the room on the ground floor by the plunge pool which was excellent, with the added benefit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy9999London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four days during the October half term. The Riad is beautiful, quiet and charming. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful (I'll also add a mention for Sahid the night porter - lovely guy, studying English Lit and great fun to talk to).

Lisa and Michael, our hosts, made us feel very welcome and Lisa's annotated map proved to be worth its weight in gold.

The location is perfect - it's a 10 minute walk to the main square and about the same to get up to the New Town. We ate out every night at a selection of restaurants and really enjoyed ourselves. As has been said before - this place is booked solid - but really worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KieronEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

There's really no reason to look to stay anywhere other than Dar Charkia in Marrekech! While there are many choices for nice lodging in town, I still can't imagine a better place to be - especially when i found myself in a jam! What started out as a very troubling situation for me in Morocco (a lost passport and visa) that forced me (a woman, now left alone by trip-mates) to be stuck in Marrakech for an extra week turned out to be a blessing in disguise. I have to credit Dar Charkia for this - my trip got even better! Amazing owners Lisa and Michael and their incredible staff went the extra mile for me on all fronts! Calls were made to embassies on my behalf, excellent transportation was arranged, and as always, all advice is delivered with great warmth, a smile, and even a few jokes to lighten any dark mood. I thoroughly enjoyed my extra days. The place itself, decorated by Lisa, is absolutely beautiful and inviting. It's super clean with gorgeous appointments everywhere the eye can see. The location is superb, right in the Medina, very close to the great shopping at Mustafa Blaoui and very easy walking distance to all the wonderful craziness of the souks, Jmaa el Fna and other great neighborhoods that border. And let's not forget the FOOD! No joke, the home cooked dinners prepared by Zahira for the riad were far better than my fancy dining experiences at El Fassia and La Mamounia! Every single member of the staff is exceptional! Perfect English, French, Arabic, German, Hebrew and probably more are spoken and their attentiveness and guidance can not be underestimated. I've never felt more cared for, safe, and comfortable - I didn't want to leave, and for sure will be back!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fpreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#16 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#1 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#9 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#20 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Property: Dar Charkia
Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing