We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic”
Review of Dar Charkia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Charkia
Ranked #32 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The riad is charming. Spotlessly clean and stylishly decorated. Lisa, Michael and their staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The location is great for exploring the city and Lisa is a font of info on all things retail! Lisa organised and booked for us a fantastic birthday dinner and a spa day, both of which were top class and extremely reasonably priced. We hope to go back and see some more of marrakech.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connolly_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
There are newer reviews for Dar Charkia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have just spent two nights at Dar Charkia. What a beautiful Riad. Truly, we could not have asked for more. Michael was a fantastic host - informative, so knowledgeable and friendly. That applies to all of the staff - wonderful service - polite, charming and so helpful. Sayid deserves a special mention! The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet, and the Riad is perfectly located - we walked everywhere! The old town, the medina, is vibrant, colourful, busy and bustling which we loved. So to be able to come back to the peaceful tranquillity of Dar Charkia was perfect. We would recommend this Riad without question, and would love to go back. A memorable stay, thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Thank you for make our stay in Marrakech such a suksess. Your hospitality and your Riads charm are great. Our first night in the Riad with dinner and our new kraftas will we never forget. Next time in Marrakech we will choose Dar Charkia! 5 Norwegian couples

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemor08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

When staying at Dar Charkia its pretty much like you have found a long lost relative and they have invited you to stay at their house. Lisa and Michael are great hosts. Behind the doors that lead to the mayhem that makes up Marrakech you have the tranquillity of Dar Charkia. The in-house food was wonderful, lamb and almond tagine was scrum! Breakfast was perfect in the courtyard, with the birds chirping away. All the staff are very helpful and cannot do enough for you. Love the fact that at anytime you can request tea, coffee, mint tea, all served with nice local biscuits, very refreshing and welcome after battling the souks. Lisa sat down with us first morning and gave us an overview, told us where to go, where to avoid and by and large all was spot on.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The excellent customer service starts even before you arrive at this wonderful Riad in the support and advice provided by Lisa and Michael in their correspondence with you around the booking and subsequent recommendations on trips, food, restaurants, night life etc etc. (they even advise which exchange gives the best rate at the airport!)

We stayed for four days and nights and just wish it could have been longer.

All the staff and the recommended drivers, guides etc. provided excellent service and couldn't do enough for you.

The location itself, as stated in numerous reviews, is a wonderful place and you feel as if you have been invited in to share someone's stylish large home in the middle of the hectic location that is Marrakech.

We will be recommending this holiday destination to our friends and family, which I hope demonstrates how confident we are in people having an excellent time.

Don't delay, book now, you WILL love it.

Room Tip: We had the room on the ground floor by the plunge pool which was excellent, with the added benefit o...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy9999London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed for four days during the October half term. The Riad is beautiful, quiet and charming. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful (I'll also add a mention for Sahid the night porter - lovely guy, studying English Lit and great fun to talk to).

Lisa and Michael, our hosts, made us feel very welcome and Lisa's annotated map proved to be worth its weight in gold.

The location is perfect - it's a 10 minute walk to the main square and about the same to get up to the New Town. We ate out every night at a selection of restaurants and really enjoyed ourselves. As has been said before - this place is booked solid - but really worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KieronEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

There's really no reason to look to stay anywhere other than Dar Charkia in Marrekech! While there are many choices for nice lodging in town, I still can't imagine a better place to be - especially when i found myself in a jam! What started out as a very troubling situation for me in Morocco (a lost passport and visa) that forced me (a woman, now left alone by trip-mates) to be stuck in Marrakech for an extra week turned out to be a blessing in disguise. I have to credit Dar Charkia for this - my trip got even better! Amazing owners Lisa and Michael and their incredible staff went the extra mile for me on all fronts! Calls were made to embassies on my behalf, excellent transportation was arranged, and as always, all advice is delivered with great warmth, a smile, and even a few jokes to lighten any dark mood. I thoroughly enjoyed my extra days. The place itself, decorated by Lisa, is absolutely beautiful and inviting. It's super clean with gorgeous appointments everywhere the eye can see. The location is superb, right in the Medina, very close to the great shopping at Mustafa Blaoui and very easy walking distance to all the wonderful craziness of the souks, Jmaa el Fna and other great neighborhoods that border. And let's not forget the FOOD! No joke, the home cooked dinners prepared by Zahira for the riad were far better than my fancy dining experiences at El Fassia and La Mamounia! Every single member of the staff is exceptional! Perfect English, French, Arabic, German, Hebrew and probably more are spoken and their attentiveness and guidance can not be underestimated. I've never felt more cared for, safe, and comfortable - I didn't want to leave, and for sure will be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fpreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#37 of 502 in Marrakech
825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 502 in Marrakech
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#27 of 502 in Marrakech
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Charkia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Charkia

Address: 50 Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $106 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Charkia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six-bedroom, exquisite boutique oasis of tranquility managed hands-on by the owners and located in the safe vicinity of the Dar El Bacha royal palace. Rooms are stylishly individually decorated, 3 with working fire places and all with en-suite bathrooms. Superb eclectic cuisine combining Moroccan and international dishes. Comprehensive free concierge service and 24h front desk presence. Free wi-fi. Fantastic roof terrace with view on Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Dar Charkia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Charkia Marrakech
Dar Charkia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing